We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albena? Maybe! Mura? No way!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mura to your Saves list
Hotel Mura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albena Beach, Albena 9620, Bulgaria (Formerly Albena Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Albena
Sg Mures
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Albena? Maybe! Mura? No way!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have been in Albena from the 15th of July until the 22nd on July. Two families, 4 children between 7 month and 13 yo. I will try to make it as objective as I can taking into account that we didn't enjoy our staying there at all.
The place:
- families mostly, Romanians, Bulgarians, some French, German and a couple families of Hungarians.
- a great deal of things to do, for kids, but quite expensive
- quite secure, I have seen the police quite active
- interesting souvenirs, fair prices
- a big reservation nearby, good for walk, take care of the rules
- Balchik nearby, an interestin castle to visit. You also might visit a supermarket while in there, prices are way better
Arriving
- very difficult to get a parking place. The beach is used both by the guests and the locals so it is quite an adventure to get a parking place
- at the reception, be friendly with them, tip and they will take good care of you. But be careful of what they put on your bill. You might pay extra if you do not pay attention (they wanted me to pay the parking 2 times)
- WiFi not open, but afordable
Rooms
- fair, even large enough
- clean
- tip the maid and you will be very satisfied
- minibar to be payed (normally for a 3 stars)
- sleeping quite difficult as the walls are very thin and they do not respect any quite programm (6 am noise; 2 pm noise)
Restaurant
- food almost the same every day, but fair variety
- you MUST respect the timetable otherwise you will be invited out
- don't fill your bottels with water, it is FORBIDEN (and they do love to remind you)
- take care with the sweets (my daughter throw out 2 times)
- good cheese, good yoghourt
- good grill, but you must wait quite a lot to get some
Beach
- rented, not their own
- every room has 2 chairs and an umbrella; for extra you have to pay
- no mattres, they cost 3 leva each / day
- little plastic table cost 1 leva/ day
- it is FORBIDEN to reserve, but everyone does it
- do not occupy reserved umbrellas, it might finish with a fight
- no beach bar, you must take what you need from the bar near the pool (opened only at 10 o'clock). You are FORBIDEN to go to the restaurant from the beach unless you are proper dressed (tuxedo, I presume)
- lots of algae in the water, but they clean every evening. Sometimes water is green
Overall, a fair Resort, not at all the finest. The conditions Ok, but very poor service and a redneck personnel.

Room Tip: Give 5 to 10 leva at the reception. You'll have better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    7
    9
    9
See reviews for
46
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

I spend some time in this hotel and I can say that it was very good.
The food was very rich and there was something for everyone. If I compare the food in this hotel with the more expensive hotel I was in Bodrum, Turkey this year - it was better. The beach bar offer a lot of drinks and also pizza, BBG, french fries, ice cream and etc.
The rooms were fantastic - very large and comfortable.
The hotel is on the sand so it is very near to the see. It is close to the center of Albena.
I think this hotel is very nice for its price.
This year the prices were very low...we paid only 55 euro per night for double room in the high season.
I will go back next season.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I stayed in Mura part of Albena Beach and I'm very satisfied with my trip. Generally the hotel is good. Location is excellent to go to the beach, however it will take 20 min to walk to the center of Albena. The staff was trying to do their best to satisfy the guests. The food was excellent: 3 times a day we got watermelon, melon and sweet cherries. Every day pancakes and hot meals on breakfast. Special menue for kids with porridges. I believe that this year the food is on the higher level than before. The disadvantages of the restaurant: no tea spoons (just stiks for stiring), sometimes the dishes are cracked.
Plastic sun beds are included in All Inclusive base, however they are firm and if you want to get soft mattress you must pay 1.5 euro. Bring your own towels. Because there are no beach towels in the hotel, the guests must bring their own towels. Also there are no towels for legs in the rooms.
You may find massage everywhere for 10 euro 20 min. and very professtional people do it.
50% of the tourists are Romanians, 25% Bulgarians and 25% - others.
In Albena everywhere you may rent 4 weeks bicycles for 2-3-4-6 people with pedals and electrical for 4 euro/30 min.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yebass
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We found the albena beach club to be a clean well maintained hotel, right on the beach. The all inclusive meals were quite repetitive, so we started eating out in the evening. Although I did like the pizzas and ice creams provided at the snack bar during the day. I reccommend a trip to Varna and Bulchick (Балчик), as Albena does not really have enough going on to keep one entertained for an entire week, but was still an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

My boyfriend and myself headed to bulgaria for a nice, relaxing holiday and this is what we found. Location was amazing, most all inclusives that i have been to are out of the way and often require a taxi to the nearby resort. This was not the case and if you fancied a trip into albena you could just walk along the beach. It took about 20mins but was pleasant of an evening.
ROOM:
rooms were average, nothing spectacular. Had a tv but mainly broadcast german channels. Again, this is the norm for most european countries so wasn't disappointed
FOOD:
breakfast was the best meal of the day!! there was such a variety and if you timed it right the food would all be fresh. You could have pancakes, fresh fruit, cereal, hams and cheeses and there was full english availiable aswell. lunch was remarkably similar to dinner and as long as your not scared to try anything you'll be ok. There was fresh salad available and again fruits and cakes. Always something for everyone. Only problem with the food was that on my 2nd night i was extremely ill. After spending 12 hours by the toilet i wasn't going to let it ruin my holiday and went back out to sit by the pool. After talking to others staying, it seemed that the majority of women were ill that same evening, no men!! my only assumption was that there was something wrong with the salad!!!! this was the only evening i was ill and it didnt stop me eating anything the rest of the holiday.
POOL:
there are 2 pools at the hotel but if you walk up the road you can use the pool at the other hotel. we prefered the 2 smaller pools as it was quieter and more relaxed here. also found this was where most of the english stayed! beach was beautiful, and pool area/beach was always clean.
overall cleanliness was good, maids always were happy to help and bar staff were friendly.

  • Liked — location, pool/beach
  • Disliked — variety of food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Were upgraded to the Albeana beach hotel after arriving in Bulgaria, after a bumpy trip via coach to the resort we arrived in darkness (1am in morning) so waited until morning to check out the site................

We where very very pleased, hotel is right on the beach, fantastic views of the very very clean beach just great.

Food was really nice, cold meats, cheeses, local dishes etc no problems feeding the kids either (ages 6, 2, 1)

Good BBQ menu all day long as well with ice creams etc.

Staff where really really friendly no problems at all, i know lots of people have said staff were not nice but i can only say we had no problem and they just loved the kids.

Entertainment a bit tongue in cheek but still a good laugh, didnt stay on till too late either which was good for small children as no noise late at night (very good for little ones)

Room was great very big with great balcony lots and lots of room.

Only down side was they seem to put a lot or cleaning product in the pool and my 6 year old got a rash from this as well as some other children, so just be aware of this.

Bulgaria itself was very pretty and well recommeded - and very very cheep in price for everything, Great holiday would deff go back again. loved it.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

We have been going to Albena for the last 6 Years, last year we were upgraded to the Albena Beach Club, the hotel is in a superb spot right on the beach, so able to use either beach or pool, Pool at the Gergana is nicer if you have children though. The apartments were very spacious with two balconies with sea view or street view so couldn't ask for more, apartments were cleaned daily. Hotel food good a bit repative buts thats hotels for you. Plenty of drink available very friendly bar staff especially Ilian, he recommended a local shot of something for upset tummies, whatever it was did the trick. We have had some excellent portraits done of the kids I recommend the one outside the Albena Beach club works out about 20 pounds per head. Want a good night out go for a short stroll down into albena centre to the Banana bar at the Laguna Garden Hotel they have a duet playing every evening a great party atmosphere we have made great friends with George & his family who looks after the pool there and some Norwegians which again have been going there for the last 5 years, also very friendly staff. Plenty of stalls to mooch around on craft street. If you want to go shopping I recommend Dobrich, Meals & Drink even cheaper. kranvo is very cheap too a short walk up the beach to the right of the hotel. Going back again this year but unable to get the Albena Beach Club though. Have even got my parents hooked on Albena thoroughly reccomend it to anybody. Our Children absolutley love it there, and the Bulgarians are great with the kids.

Hardings Gloucestershire

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mura

Address: Albena Beach, Albena 9620, Bulgaria (Formerly Albena Beach Club)
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mura 3*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mura is situated directly at the beachfront, close to Balata Reserve, famous for its natural dense forests and rare species and 900 meters from the center of Albena. Like most hotels in the resort, hotel Mura has a specific terraced architecture. There are 186 air-conditioned comfortable rooms in the hotel including Junior suites with sea view and spacious apartments. Mura Hotel provides All-Inclusive formula with buffet-style meals, snacks and local beverages. The buffet style restaurant at the Mura organizes theme evenings with traditional Bulgarian and Mediterranean cuisine. All guests accommodated for minimum 7 nights benefit from the Dine Around throughout the entire summer season. There are 2 free beach chairs and a sun umbrella available on the beach in front of the hotel or at the swimming pool. Mura Hotel offers rich entertainment program for children and adults 6 days per week. Volleyball or basketball matches at the beach are organized for the guests. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albena Beach Hotel
Albena Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.