We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kaliopa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kaliopa to your Saves list
Hotel Kaliopa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Albena
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
“Nice hotel at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Simple rooms, small swimming pool. However, next to the beach. For people who like to stay at the beach and enjoy the seaside. Breakfast and dinner in the near restaurant were very good and variable. Parasol and 2 chairs at the beach included in the price Towels and mattresses had to be paid additionally. The beach public library was in front of the hotel - convenient, although the book choice was limited.
The beach is clean and well maintained. There was enough space. The whole resort Albena is well managed and I hope It will keep its beauty and clean beach and hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is well positioned, near to beach. The room are simple but comfortable and cleans. There is no elevator and sometime is a bad small along the stairs. They have no towels for beach and you have to pay additional for it. The same is for mattresses. The food is quiet OK and enough. Good value for money especial for families. For young couple nothing to do in Albena which is especially tailored for family and senior vacation.

Room Tip: Take towels from home :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruse, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Very nice hotel direct on the beach in the central part of Albena. The room was excellent: seaview from the window, net against mosquitoes, big and clean bathroom. The buffet was in the nearby hotel Amelia. Breakfast good but somewhat banal, supper was excellent: big variety--soups, fish, chicken steaks, fruits and wonderful cakes.
A parasol on the beach with two deck-chairs were included in the price.
Organization--almost perfect. Beach was not overcrowded, clean, enough space for everybody, including parts without parasols.
Much greenery and open spaces in the whole resort, give it a relaxing outlook.
Some (small) drawbacks: the pool bar was playing an unpleasant, monotonous music all day long and continuing until 11 in the evening. After that--it was very quiet! So, I could not sleep in the afternoon as I am used to. Lots of children everywhere around the resort which is not surprising as Albena is promoted above all as a family destination. But screaming and playing in the hotel pool spoils somewhat the tranquility at daytime.
I must again repeat that 11 pm to 7-8 am it is absolutely quiet!
All in all a great resort and a very nice hotel!
I strongly recommend it especially to people on a budget!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I had a very bad experience in this hotel, because the room smelled very bad (like dampness). We had to open the window during the night, because the smell was unbearable. We tried to change the room, but the receptionist told us that no rooms were available (even if we saw very few people in the hotel in those days). Maybe other rooms smelled better, but the ours - located on the first floor - was horrible.
The room was not very clean either. The towels had stains, touching them makes you feel sick.
The old TV that was in the room didn't work at all.
The minibar was empty, dirty and it had a little dead cockroach inside.
The buffet breakfast was served at a restaurant, 100 meters from the hotel.
The personnel was very unprofessional and their English was very poor.
The room was big, and the price was OK, but we left this hotel after only one night, even if we had booked it for four nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

First of all sorry for my English, I'm from Romania.
I stayed in this hotel because was the only hotel with spare rooms, my friends stayed at another hotel Laguna Beach 4*. What can I say they all had complains about the food and the staff, on the other hand mine was excellent.
Different sorts of food every day drinks....lots of salads....deserts...stakes. Over all was much better than what i expected from a 3* hotel. The staff was very pleasant...they don't know too much English but they try. The only downside I can say is the the room was 2 feet from the pool.
If you're looking for a 3* hotel in Bulgaria, Albena check this out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kaliopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaliopa

Address: Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kaliopa 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaliopa Hotel is a 141 unit complex, perfectly located at the beach front in Albena. Buffet breakfast and dinner are served at Amelia Restaurant, closely located to the hotel. Kaliopa a la carte restaurant offers delicious Mediterranean meals and fresh fish specialties in cozy air-conditioned and al fresco seating. Guests can enjoy a variety of alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages at the lobby bar of the hotel or take a refreshing drink at the pool bar. A sunshade and 2 lounge chairs at the beach are available per room. Safety boxes can be rented at Reception at a surcharge. There is a parking area, playground, shop, internet hall and air conditioned lobby at the premises of the hotel. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kaliopa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kaliopa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.