We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Break in Sri Lanka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Blue Water to your Saves list
The Blue Water
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Wadduwa B&B and Inns
Kildare
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Break in Sri Lanka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We are just coming home from a fabulous week in Waduwa, Sri Lanka at The Bluewater Hotel.

It was fabulous because of the friendliness of the locals and the sheer poetry of the hotel and its environs, fronting onto the beach. Other reviewers correctly point out its not really a 5 star hotel, and once you understand that, you will most likely have a lovely visit.

The design of the hotel blended in with the pool areas, and efficiently breathed in the sea breeze. The distant sound of the surf crashing on the beach was a constant accompaniment, as was the unfailing politeness of the staff.

We spent 4 days of peace and profound relaxation, and two days of excitement and thrills courtesy of Tara and Rucci Tours, located across the road from the hotel. The latter included a tailored guided tour in a somewhat aged, but well appointed and expertly driven minivan.

Tara (our Guide) was an exceptionally personable and articulate young man. The impression is that he is known to and welcomed by everyone in Sri Lanka; his acute sense of timing and organisation meant we made the most of every minute, and we frequently stopped off the beaten track as well as acquiring awesome memories on the (not yet too well) beaten track.

It was a pleasure to be expertly minded by two smashing and effective young men for two days, and in particular, the skill and concentration of our driver was also most impressive. "Two things you need driving in Sri Lanka,' he said at the outset, "Good Luck and Good Brakes !"

We traveled as a couple, our first holiday sans les enfants. Small children might require some extra planning; thoughtful adolescents would get a lot out of a visit to Sri Lanka, and in particular, the example set by local adolescents and young adults, effective and unfailingly polite and optimistic, has a lot to recommend it.

We went Superior Deluxe Rooms, B & B, which worked out very well; a packed breakfast was available on early check out morning and on excursions. We found the evening buffet lukewarm, the dining room was good, both in terms of eating and good value.

We will be back !

Room Tip: Superior Deluxe - very good option !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the blue water hotel as your holiday destination and for posting a review for the benefit of the future guest to the hotel.
We are very happy to know that you have appreciated architectural marvel created by Geoffrey Bawa one among the most influential Asian architects of his generation!
We look forward to welcome you back to the blue water in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    289
    81
    31
    16
See reviews for
179
471
27
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
suffolk england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for a week at the end of October into November. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this resort. From the moment we entered the grounds we were struck by the open design, superb open spaces and the charming and helpful staff. In fact we have already booked to visit for a week again in my February half term holiday. The pool area is without doubt the biggest pool we have ever encountered, and a large area is a very family friendly depth. We stayed on a fully inclusive basis and found this to be very good value for money. Food was of a good quality and we always found ourselves with a clear choice. The staff were without exception cheerful, polite and very intent on providing a good service for customers and we are looking forward to meeting them again soon. The room was exactly as described by Virgin and had a superb view over the grounds, pool and out to the Indian Ocean. There is a prevailing air of relaxation that made our week seem like a much longer holiday. In stark contrast to the chaos of traffic and hectic Sri Lankan life outside the resort this is an oasis of tranquillity. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for all the lovely compliments extended to our staff and Chefs food selections!
We look forward to welcome you back in February next year to the blue water hotel and wish to thank you in advance for repeat patronage.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Recently returned from blue water hotel hotel Sri Lanka journey from Colombo airport was very long but worth it when we got to hotel. Staff really friendly always polite all staff always had time for guests, room basic always kept clean.Food bit spicy some nights but could always find something to eat and chef would cook something if asked excellent soup compliments to chef candle lit dinner superb.Relaxing and peaceful surroundings waking up to view of sea & palm trees feel fully relaxed. Sunny days but saw some memorable storms. Ruchi tours safe drivers and cheaper than hol reps. Truly enjoyed holiday and would recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review of your recent holiday at the blue water hotel posted on TripAdvisor! Chef is especially delighted to read your comments on food and also thank you for the compliments offered to our service staff!
We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future on your next holiday to Sri Lanka!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Sri Lanka and chose the Blue Water Hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel was immaculate, the food was very good and the staff were extremely professional and polite. The whole experience was a pleasurable one which we will never forget.
We arranged to marry there and we were not disappointed. Kumari organised everything, leaving us to relax prior to the big day. Other staff that made our stay so memorable were Gayan, Ranga, Don, Dinesh, Kapila and Fernando. They were extremely polite to us and the children, and made us feel welcome.
We were sad to leave however plan to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday on TripAdvisor and delighted to have lived up to your expectations! Compliments offered are greatly appreciated and have been duly passed on to the respective staff, which you have mentioned in the review.
Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you all back to the blue water hotel in the near future.
The entire team joins me in wishing both of you a lifelong wedded life filled with health, wealth and happiness!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Blue waters is a favorite!! Truly love this place. Food and service is always been great. Will be back!! The newly built suites are also spacious and comfortable. Close to the dining area.

Big pool and clean. The buffets are always with good variety. They have high tea which comes with the dull board package I believe which is also great.

We will be visiting again!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor! We are very pleased to have lived up to your expectations each visit and greatly value your repeat patronage to the blue water hotel.
Eagerly look forward to your next visit!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The journey from Colombo airport to the hotel is very interesting, if a bit long. A new expressway has just opened, and an extension is underway, which will make the transfer quicker.
The hotel was very welcoming, with towels and a drink, and check-in was quick and easy. The room was very nice, but all the glass walls from bedroom to bathroom was unusual.
The room was clean and well looked after, but after being shown the new suites, we upgraded at a reasonable cost.
The food is served buffet style and was a little repetetive, but there was always something there to take your fancy. The deserts were excellent. I asked if they ever had Um Ali (a Middle Eastern desert) on the menu and five minutes later the chef came out and told me that he would cook it for me that night, he also did this whenever I asked for it. The waiting staff were friendly and helpful and always smiling.
The atmosphere is very relaxing and nothing is too much trouble for the staff, from management to the pool attendants.
We went on two days trips, and we used Ruchee Tours from the guys on the beach. Good guides, safe drivers and cheaper than the tour reps.

Room Tip: If you're asked whether you'd like to upgrade your room, have a look at the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of you recent holiday experiences on TripAdvisor for the benefit of the future guest.
Your compliments to food and service staff have been duly passed on and thank you!
Look forward to welcome you back again to the blue water hotel in the very near future on your next holiday to Wadduwa, Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have visited the BWs sometime back during the hype but the recent visit was a let down (maybe due to the fact that the previous experience had been good). The gap between the bed and the head board had many treasures - pair of sunglasses, empty packet of peanuts etc. The houskeeping team had obviously not done their job proper. The food was good and service also average. On top of it, the torrential down pour kept us indoors most of the time.

I wish the management improves the standard to what it was before.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Constructive feedback of your recent stay posted on TripAdvisor is most welcomed as it gives us the opportunity to correct ourselves where necessary in order to serve our future guest even better.
Executive housekeeper has been alerted of the obvious lack of supervision along with F&B manager on room to improve! Rest assured there won’t be room left for repetition of same in the future.
Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back to the blue water hotel in the near future on your next visit to Wadduwa!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blue Water 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.