We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely finish to our Sri Lankan tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Water

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Blue Water to your Saves list
The Blue Water
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Wadduwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely finish to our Sri Lankan tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our 3 days of switch off time after our busy tour of Sri Lanka...beautiful setting and wonderful architectural design by the famous Geoffrey Bawa. The beach is great to swim off and the pool is bliss. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is kept to an excellent standard. Food was good, nice selection each evening, and usually with a theme. The only criticism we had was the fact that initially when we booked in we were given rooms at the far end of the hotel, bang next door to the newly being constructed wing, over looking the building site!!!! After a long day on the road, all you wanted to do was to get to your room, unpack, shower and go to the cocktail evening. It was not evident until we went on the balcony what we were next to, so I had to then spend an hour arranging 2 new rooms, missing the free cocktails and then having to rush to dinner as we were so late. Yes we were given upgrades and these rooms were lovely, but we had booked the trip back in January and the hotels booked through a very large, well established travel company in Colombo, so I would have thought better rooms should have been allocated, as we were not last minute bookings! So check to make sure all the building work is complete and you are not looking onto the building site.
Although you are not within walking distance to any towns there are tuktuks outside the hotel which will take you to where you want to go, and wait for you whilst you do your shopping (they are all very friendly and not pushy at all). There are a couple of shops just across from the hotel and we ended up buying quite a lot of things there, really good prices as well.. well worth a look in.
After the first hic up, it was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor, so you can walk out to the pool and have your sun bed outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing The-Blue-Water as one of your holiday destinations in Sri Lanka and for the time taken to write a review giving your feedback on TA.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality, food and the great architecture! Your compliments have been passed on to the entire team.
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you have had to face with the room allocation. It was not intentional and I am glad that we could upgrade you to superior deluxe rooms, and thank you for accepting our apology.
Most of the construction work in the new wing is now complete and only the interior work is remaining. We are hoping to open the new wing in July this year and it is going to be with 40 tastefully designed rooms by an architect, a student of legendary Geoffrey Bawa.
Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back to The-Blue-Water on your next holiday to Sri Lankan.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    334
    88
    38
    16
See reviews for
205
530
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After spending 2/3 weeks in Sri Lanka on business and for a wedding, on our penultimate day we were taken to the Blue Water resort just outside of Colombo.

There were 10 of us that went for the day- getting the lunch and use of the swimming pool package, as we didn't have enough time to stay over night. I think it was around £15 per person, which is fine for what you get.

The lunch was ok- nothing extremely exciting. I can't remember the majority of it, so nothing good and nothing bad either.

What set's this place apart is the pool and beach. The pool is enormous, and we loved spending our day in it. We probably spent approximately 5-6 hours swimming around.
The deck chairs were nice, and the design is splendid.

The beach is also beautiful, especially for the sunset.

My only sour note was in having an altercation with an individual over my swim wear. I decided to wear a swimming vest (as a male) in the pool, due to injuries and general dislike. I was made to take it off otherwise I'd be "removed from the hotel". That was unacceptable from a paying guest, and a way to really damage the integrity and future business that I could have brought to the hotel.

Fortunately, it didn't tarnish a wonderful day, and I hope to return soon.

Please note this review is in reference to a visit in August 2010.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing to spend the day at The-Blue-Water and for taking time to post a review on TA. We are very happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our large pool which was a design of the late legendary architect, Geoffrey Bawa.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had to face at the pool with regard to swimwear policy of the hotel. Swimming vest is quite acceptable but apparently the pool attendant has mistaken it for a regular vest. He has been briefed accordingly and assigned for further training on customer care.
Once again my apologies and thank you for bringing this to our notice and for your understanding. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka, perhaps for a longer stay at The-Blue-Water.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kegalle, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had memorable Function On our life in there. And we stayed one day in here simply i will tell you this is great. and good location. hmm that was our wedding. unforgettable wonderful experience. hope booking for our first anniversary of our life.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure and an honor for us to have hosted your wedding at The-Blue-Water! We are very happy to hear of your unforgettable experience and while wishing you both a lifelong wedded life filled with health, wealth and happiness, look forward to welcome you back on your 1st anniversary to The-Blue-Water.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was with my friends during last holiday season. A day out to Blue water was a great experience.From the door keeper to manager were very helpful. Very good service overall.
We spend the morning session in the pool and had a good lunch. Luch was full of sea food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Very happy to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable day spent at The-Blue-Water and thank you for choosing our property.
We look forward to welcome you back to spend a weekend or perhaps a longer stay in the near future!
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were here for our honeymoon in December and the hotel just amazed us. They were well informed about our honeymoon, the staff all over ensured that they treated us like honeymooners. We were even upgraded and had a lovely bottle of wine in our rooms along with chocolates kept. The room it self was out of this world with a jaccuzzi in it. The food was awsome and we however did eat from out as well. Lovely beach front and pool. If you stay here it will be one of the best decisions you have made. The spread at the buffet was breathtaking. We just ate and ate all the time. Had some nice drinks poured for our selves over the bar. Oh and how can we forget the 5 course candle lit dinner on the first night they arranged by the pool.......... fabulous.

Room Tip: Don't forget to use their spa. You will be blown off your mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your holiday (honeymoon) experience at The-Blue-Water on TA. All your lovely compliments to our staff, food and the hotel itself (location, rooms, etc.) are shared with the entire team!
While we wish you both a very happy wedded life filled with health, wealth and happiness we also look forward to welcome you back to The-Blue-Water in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spent a lovely weekend at this hotel....was really impressed with the food and service.

Check in was quick and easy and we were welcomed with a drink and cold towel. We were personally shown around the hotel and the various areas were explained to us (meal times etc) and then shown to our room.

The hotel has such a nice open setting, large pool / garden area and stepping right onto the beach (the beach is not the best, a bit stony and not too safe for swimming) but it seems a shame that the rooms could just do with a bit of a facelift to make this place really special.....The balconies and rooms look worn and tired. The hotel could do some simple (inexpensive) touches which would make a world of a difference.

The curtains are old, the decor is old fashioned, the controls for the AC/ lights etc are old fashioned, the hot water is tempramental, the balconies need a good scrub and a coat of paint. But the beds are comfortable and generally it is comfortable.

The food was really amazing. We stayed full board (and since I have stayed at many hotels in Sri Lanka it takes a lot for me to say that as I generally have a good idea of the standard to expect) But Blue Waters offers a great variety of starters, mains and deserts, something for everyone and good quality food too. The wine is not so great and is expensive as is the norm in Sri Lanka .

The spa is also fantastic, not cheap, but the service and quality of the massage is impeccable and worth the money.

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would recommend it since it is within one hours drive from Colombo City Centre

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The-Blue-Water as your holiday destination and for posting your review of the stay on TA.
Your compliments to our staff service and food are very much appreciated and have been shared with the entire team.
We have upgraded most of the deluxe rooms to a Superior deluxe category and the rest of the deluxe rooms are currently undergoing a face lift with new furniture, linen and amenities to be completed by summer this year.
Our new wing with 40 suit rooms will also be in operation by this coming summer along with the new restaurant adding to optional dining choices the hotel offer apart from the main restaurant and the coffee shop!
Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back to The-Blue-Water in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The blue water hotel review
Location: on the brach; between the beach and the pools area there is  small palm three park 
Rooms: sea view; fantastic sunsets could be cleaner
Breakfast:not great
I expected local fruits for breakfast but no mango avocado or durian; in other hotels in sri lanka you can always find.
They serve terrible coffe and no drinking water
Very poor traditional breakfast so you cannot take the local flavor
Prices: too high
Too many crows
The fish smell from the fisher-boats is sometime to strong

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janaka J, Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for holidaying at The-Blue-Water and posting your review on TA.
Sorry to hear that our breakfast spread did not meet your expectations! Tropical fruits you have mentioned are seasonal hence not available year round.
Drinking water served in the restaurant is purified water and specially bottled natural mineral water for The-Blue-Water is also available in bars for a reasonable charge and the same bottled water is also served complimentary in all guest rooms.
Fisherman goes out to sea in the night and come in the morning with their catch and then they all get-together to pull the net on to shore! Lot of tourist enjoys the catch of the day and fisherman and villages pulling the net a shore! Sorry if this inconvenienced you during your stay.
Once again thank you for your feedback which is taken very constructively as we know it helps us to identify areas for improvement.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future back to The-Blue-Water on your next holiday to Sri Lanka.
Yours Sincerely,
Janaka Jayasuriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blue Water 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.