We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location- be sure to book your trips out with Anthoney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranweli Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ranweli Holiday Village to your Saves list
Ranweli Holiday Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranweli Hotel Road, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location- be sure to book your trips out with Anthoney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed for two weeks at Ranweli for our honeymoon and were very pleased with it. We had a sea-facing bungalow which was unbeatable for views and tranquility, so would definitely recommend upgrading. Standard of accommodation was high, really good quality air conditioning and nice bathroom particular highlights (availability of Premier League football via cable channel Star Sports was a great bonus too!). All inclusive package is fine- buffet food gets a little repetitive but a la carte is relatively cheap if you fancy a change. You can get a lot of different drinks- bottles of lager, spirits (local brands but fine), cocktails, mocktails and more. Bar service was efficient and quick. No snacks included. Other things to note: the resort is dominated by German guests (very few other English travellers during our stay), this was not a problem for us but is worth being aware of. Most of staff speak reasonable English but I think are more regularly practiced in German and it sometimes took a few goes to make ourselves understood. Also, Ranweli should really look at installing air con (or at least fans) in the dinning room/main bar area which could get pretty stifling in the evenings. Wi-fi in the bar/lobby areas is a bit unreliable and generally quite slow at peak times. But these are all fairly minor points in what was an otherwise very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Our main tip would be to book any trips you would like to do around Sri Lanka through Anthoney, an independent local entrepreneur who will probably introduce himself to you on the beach. This might feel disconcerting at first but you can entirely trust Anthoney- we booked a package of trips with him (including to Sigiriya Rock, Kandy, Pinnewala elephant orphanage as well as a dolphin tour) and he provided an excellent level of service at far more reasonable rates than the resident tour operators at Ranweli offer. Transport is by air conditioned minibus and the guide for our trips was Lucas, an extremely jovial and knowledgeable local with good English and German. Anthoney also runs a shop and restaurant just outside the hotel which are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    155
    39
    17
    13
See reviews for
80
217
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in January with my sis and brother in law and really enjoyed being their.
I have a nut allergy that Kuoni neglected to mention to the management at the hotel.
The head chef and the staff couldn't do enough to rectify the situation and the food through out was very impressive. The rooms were very clean and spacious. I was at the far end of the beach so literally just opened the doors onto the beach.
Lovely surroundings, great staff who were very friendly.
The hotel was a bit to quiet at night with not a lot to do after dinner served.
The down side was it was very evident that it was a hotel more favoured to the German community and everything was charged in the euro so made everything a lot more expensive than it should have been. I would return to Sri Lanka again and would stay at Ranweli but only for a few days, more than that would be boring and to expensive.
On the whole a lovely hotel though

Julia welsh

Room Tip: The best location rooms were from 120 upwards, I was in 131 and it was just perfect for the view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at the Ranweli Holiday village on 2 separate nights at the start and end of a tour of Sri Lanka. Our only disappointment is that we could not have stayed longer as it certainly ticked all our boxes in respect of comfort, location, food, service and environmental ethics. It is in a nice location, on the beach, with a nice pool, restaurant and beach bar, the latter of which offers nice snacks as well as drinks. On the first night we had a standard room which was very comfortable and clean. On our last night we were upgraded to a beach villa which was absolutely brilliant, very comfortable indeed and very spacious. The food was very good and offered a good choice for both breakfast and evening meal. The staff were very good, polite and attentive, from the ferry man who took us across the canal to and from the hotel, to the restaurant staff, house attendants, gardeners and reception staff. We hope we are able to return here one day for a longer stay to enjoy the other things the hotel has to offer, from boat trips along the canal, to the boardwalk and bird watching tours, which all looked very interesting.

Room Tip: Go for a beach villa if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

a beautiful and peaceful location, views from the pool were stunning. made a wonderful first impression on arrival in sri lanka and the perfect relaxing start to the holiday. service was a little slow, but helpful and friendly, rooms spacious, clean and well appointed and the skylight above the shower made the bathroom luxurious. ayurvedic massages recommended, and the pina coladas! only suggested improvement would be wifi in the rooms/bungalows, but it was available in the lobby pool area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very positive things to say about the accommodation (but we did splash out on the most expensive deluxe bungalows). Short pontoon ride is lovely introduction to fabulous views and comfortable private bungalow. Wonderful bathroom with skylight above the shower makes for a fabulous early morning wake up.

Food pretty average for this sort of chain. I didn't miss anything but compared to other hotels similar to this (Heritance) there was less choice and less interesting Sri Lankan food, I missed my egg hoppers for breakfast! I had no problem with the quality of what was on offer, just wasn't very interesting, and yes; did feel slightly limited by the veggie choices.

Prices for drinks can be misleading (they don't show taxes) and the constant music could do with a rethink but just tune out and focus on fabulous views, heat, bobbing about in pool and lovely people. Service can be v. slow, it doesn't bother me on holiday but if it bothers you be conscious of factoring time in.

Sunloungers fine, not loads because many people in bungalows relax there. Pool a good size but arguably a little small compared to comparable hotels.

Really really pleased that the conservationist at the resort was honest about his opinion of the elephant orphanage. He didn't dissuade us from going but we already had concerns and the fact a professional was of the same opinion rather than trying to push the tourist dollar was welcome.

The village makes a lot of its Eco credentials but I don't know what that means practically speaking, other than a few recycling bins around. I would like to know more about their commitment to sustainability and what that really means particularly their approach to water use/plastic recycling/supporting local people.

Biggest (first world) problem for me was the rather intermittent and frustratingly slow wifi, only available in pool and lobby areas. So if you want to spend your whole holiday on Facebook (or trip-advisor!) this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: The deluxe bungalows are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Have just spent 10 days here. The holiday was nice,peaceful and relaxing. Resort is friendly and clean, however there are a couple of things that could be done to make it even better. The wine is pricey and the price you see is 25% lower than the actual price you pay, if youre not aware it could come as a shock when you come to settle your bill.
In your mini safe there is a bottle of wine that cannot be stored safely. On several occasions we had to prevent it from falling out, sadly on one occasion I missed the bottle and it smashed - and had to be paid for by ourselves (£25), I told them they should have provision to store it correctly.
It was our 25th wedding aniversary and ordered some flowers before hand, when the day came there were no flowers after enquiring at reception the said they knew nothing about them, they did arrive at 19:00. I have to say for the price they were stunning.
The louge area could do with fans or air con as at night it is stiffling, it is not helped by there being no separate smoking / non smoking areas. It is unpleasant to breath in smoke when you are a non smoker.
As I said these few issues detract from the good points in the resort.

Room Tip: I would recommend Room 113.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Ranweli Holiday Village, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and celebrated your 25th anniversary. Our Bungalow style rooms which are all sea facing do create a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere for our guests. Moreover we at Ranweli strive to achieve the best services to our guests; therefore your constructive comments and the ‘guests point of view’ would assist us in improving our customer service.

Our hotel menus show prices excluding the Government Tax and Service charge; however this is also mentioned in all our Menus in every page. I would also like to mention that we have not got any complaints or incidents with our Mini Bar in the same nature. Nevertheless, we are happy to arrange for a refund or to grant you a credit note for the above charge, which you may use at your next stay.

The lobby area is fully opened from all sides to give the guests a more outdoor atmosphere. Therefore, air conditioning is not an option for the hotel. We do appreciate your thoughts.

We have an allocated section of the lobby (near the piano area) for non smokers. We will have larger notices displayed on the tables in the future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you and your wife at Ranweli Holiday Village.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very luxurious hotel, with excellent food. Situated right on the beach, with great views over the ocean and fishing boats. The staff were friendly and service-minded, and the atmosphere at the hotel is relaxing. Worked well for our children, who are 3 and 5 years old, with a nice pool and good Beach for swimming. We would love to go back there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ranweli Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranweli Holiday Village

Address: Ranweli Hotel Road, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranweli Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranweli Holiday Village is an eco-friendly resort located on a 22-acre peninsula where mangrove forests and winding rivers converge to meet the sea. Located only 18 kms from Colombo's International Airport, Ranweli is the perfect base to explore the fascinating history, culture and nature of Sri Lanka. The hotel is on Waikkal Beach & provides bungalows & rooms with a private bathroom. The resort has an outdoor pool and its own restaurant & bar. Each bungalow / room is air-conditioned, has a safe, sitting area and telephone. The attached bathroom includes a hot/cold shower. Guests can enjoy a beach volleyball, billiards or table tennis at Ranweli. Water activities such as paddle boating, canoeing and kayaking are available. Ranweli is able to organize boat rides and bird watching tours. You can experience multi-cuisine dishes at the buffets of the resort's restaurant & a variety of liquor is served at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ranweli Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal
Ranweli Holiday Village Hotel Waikkal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranweli Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.