We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Seaview bungalow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranweli Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ranweli Holiday Village to your Saves list
Ranweli Holiday Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranweli Hotel Road, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Seaview bungalow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I loved our deluxe seaview bungalow Room 114 specifically - which is the nearest bunglaow to the sea. It was clean and tidy and good size. beach was nice and sun beds are prepared for you in the morning. Massages are also fantastic.
Food wasn't bad - but it wasn't great either. I had better food in Sri Lanka.
It was a large resort - perhaps I was more hoping for a personable experience.
If you are under 35 - Don't go there it's full of silver heads (sorry).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    155
    39
    17
    13
See reviews for
80
217
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a great place to stop for a couple of nights before or after exploring Sri Lanka.
Beautiful scenery, great beds and it is away from the noise of Negombo. It is 30 minutes to the airport in the early morning, but make sure you back up your wake up call because we booked one and it was forgotten!

We found the food was a bit expensive compared to many other places in Sri Lanka, but the buffets have a nice variety. We treated ourselves with the ferry dinner on our last night and it was not only delicious, but very relaxing and romantic.
Service at the pool bar seemed a little slow and unorganized at times, but everything else was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

1st trip to sri lanka so i cant compare to other places here but we were very happy with this hotel. we stayed for 2 weeks, booked a standard room but upon arrival we were upgraded to a beach front bungalow compliments of the hotel, which was lovely. the rooms were spacious, good air conditioning and a ceiling fan. the room had a small fridge hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities and a huge kingsize bed which was extremely comfortable. we stayed in room 184 which was at the end of the complex, some may be off put by this but we liked the out of the way feel of it, no noise or passers by. there is a patio area outside each bungalow with lots of shady areas, which is a bit of a release when the sun is so hot. lots of chipmunks around and bird life. the pool is a reasonable size and not once were we ever unable to get a sunbed. the beach is also very good and clean and never crowded lucky to meet 3 or 4 people. the water can be quite choppy with big surf, but everyone seemed to enjoy the challenge of this. the sea was also very warm, water isnt a classical clear blue so no good for snorkeling. the pool boys were very attentive. the food quality was very good, the buffet had approx 6 or 7 main meal choices, plus salads and various local cuisine. different choices every night rotated again after 1 week. plenty of healthy options. we found all of the staff to be friendly and approachable and any query was dealt with quickly.
when booking trips we have always gone with our holiday rep, this time after reviewing this hotel on trip advisor we decided to book with anthoney who owns the local restaurant and shop outside the ranweli. I am so pleased we did, anthoney quoted us a price that was nearly half what the rep quoted us and the trips were of a high standard, and the tour guides were lovely. anthoney and his family are wonderful, if he doesnt have it he can get it and was a genuinely nice man. we had a lovely lobster and prawn dinner (see photo) which was huge and delicious. his drink prices are also less then half of what the hotel charges. who ever you do decide to book with the trips can take up to 3 hours to get there as the driving conditions are a lot different to europe. all in all the hotel is a little gem, not over commercialised, quite and relaxing, the evening entertainment was very sparse, to me that was a plus. the hotel never felt crowded and i didnt have to queue for anything, we would definately return here and will miss our daily trip to anthoneys who really made our holiday for us

Room Tip: if you are looking for peae and quite choose the rooms furthest from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent 10 night here in Jan/Feb after visiting in 2011. The standards were exceptionally high, and staff remembered us from previous visit. Food was brilliant, but would not do all inclusive again as it turns you into a barrel. There is only 2.5 hours am and 0.5 hours pm when food is not available. This is such a find, as you raft across the canal on arrival you leave traffic and the outside world behind. We previously had room 121 a standard chalet, we requested a similar location and were given 122. We had to move as a swarm of bees decided to live in our roof and moved to a very comfortable 136. The staff obviously have a good deal of training, and you will always be met with a smile. Friends we met there went on the safari to the park in the north and saw elephants and a leopard. We had spent time in the south so were happy to do nothing at all while we were there. Will visit again and again. Beetroot curry is to die for.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Was my first trip to Sri Lanka. Happy to have seen it but probably not coming back. Felt like a lion in a cage.... traffic is awful, took 3 hours to do 30 kms, attractions are overpriced. Bright side is people are warm, weather was very good, more relax than India.

now about the hotel. stayed there 5 nights. before visiting and staying in other hotels in the large island.

NATURE is everywhere. You ll see trees, you are closed from the traffic thanks to a Mangrove. you ll see birds, butterflies, geckos, chipmunks, salamenders. But also snakes and varans, they are harmless but some people might be scared. Beach is almost private. No peddlers, high security for your belongings.

STAFF is very smiling and professional. But they are not at international standards. Dont expect a great Mojito or Expresso. Stay basic, smile to them, take a table where they see you, tip a bit and is all cool. Otherwise, they tend to be slow. very slow. Bonus points to the boy doing cleaning and great flowers compositions on the bed and also to the lifeguardfor the volleyball on the beach.

FOOD was nothing to write home about. Good points for the pool restaurant. Rest was ok, nothing crazy. Evening -we decided to eat in a restaurant called Anthony just outside the hotel compound, lobster there was good. We went also inNegombo but i would not recommend it.

INCONSISTENCIES
Dont take the standard rooms, try to get a bungalow, you ll be close to the ocean, with great view and own sunbeds. Standard rooms are old and really not good. Need a bungalow here.
Wifi is per hour prepaid... and it does not work. My gf could not use her ipad and was highly frustrated. I had bought a 3G card at airport and it was ok for websurfing and emails.
They claim to be eco, but honestly in my mind they are no longer cutting edge nor trying very hard anymore.

Room Tip: we had 170 was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in Ranweli for last 4 nights of our 2 weeks holiday in Sri Lanka and the place was amazing, with good modern bungalow, lovely surroundings and stuff. Very good place to stay with small kids with plenty of space to run around and play.
Good food in the restaurant, we mostly ordered dinner in the room though and i think 20% surcharge for room service is a bit excessive, i would prefer a flat delivery fee :) Even then we mostly like the food and prices were reasonable.
It was highlight of our stay in Sri Lanka despite beach being worse then in the south, but excellent amenities and service more then make up for it.

Room Tip: See view bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Schaffhausen, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Ranweli Eco Lodge was pure Heaven. Most bungalows look out at the sea with a beautifull Palm Grove seperated your Bungalow from the beach. The staff where not only sensational but they really made you feel at Home and always had a huge smile on their face. If you need to relax and recharge your batteries this is the place to go. I have been accross the whole world, but Sri Lanka was amazingly beautifull and has just become my number one Holiday destination

Room Tip: Chose the Sea Side Bungalow or Deluxe not the River Side Bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ranweli Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranweli Holiday Village

Address: Ranweli Hotel Road, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranweli Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranweli Holiday Village is an eco-friendly resort located on a 22-acre peninsula where mangrove forests and winding rivers converge to meet the sea. Located only 18 kms from Colombo's International Airport, Ranweli is the perfect base to explore the fascinating history, culture and nature of Sri Lanka. The hotel is on Waikkal Beach & provides bungalows & rooms with a private bathroom. The resort has an outdoor pool and its own restaurant & bar. Each bungalow / room is air-conditioned, has a safe, sitting area and telephone. The attached bathroom includes a hot/cold shower. Guests can enjoy a beach volleyball, billiards or table tennis at Ranweli. Water activities such as paddle boating, canoeing and kayaking are available. Ranweli is able to organize boat rides and bird watching tours. You can experience multi-cuisine dishes at the buffets of the resort's restaurant & a variety of liquor is served at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ranweli Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranweli Holiday Village Waikkal
Ranweli Holiday Village Hotel Waikkal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranweli Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.