We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Hotel Dolphin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Hotel Dolphin to your Saves list
Club Hotel Dolphin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kammala South | St. Sebastian Mawatha, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks from 8-23rd December. We initially had a superior seaview room, which was beautiful (having been refurbished). There are three floors and the top rooms, where we stayed, have a wooden high roof. Unfortunately, the pidgeons tend to get in the eaves and start billing and cooing from sun up,making a terrible racket which I didn't realise was slowly driving my husband around the bend. Also the roof had small gaps through which bugs would get through at night and drop onto the bed. We did seem to get bitten at night so had to spray ourselves with mossie spray. So my husband finally cracked a few days before coming home and asked reception to either change our room or give him a gun!!! We changed rooms the following day to a first floor room and even though it was smaller we were happier. I think other people have complained so think the hotel need to put up some netting to deter the pidgeons. The staff were very helpful and would deal with any complaint quickly and efficiently. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The food was good quality. It was my birthday the night before we came home so had a 'fine dining' meal in the Waves a la carte restaurant, which was superb, that and a bottle of wine came to £71 (you're looking at over £100 in the UK!). We had five courses, the main included lobster, scampi and jumbo prawns - and they made me a complimentary cake!! The location was not great, we were a taxi or tuck tuck ride from the town but the tuck tuck's are outside the hotel if you want them. Travelling in a tuck tuck is not for the faint hearted though. Negombo is 30 minutes away and Columbo is an hour and a half drive away. The beach was ok but you can't swim in it due to the currents (red flag up). The Asda and Harald tour boys are on the beach and although they will approach you to ask if you want to go on a trip they are alot cheaper that the rep tours. Asda have insurance too, which is important. There is a sign outside the hotel for Dolphin Tours listing the price of car journeys wherever, which gives you an idea of cost.

Tip. Wine isn't included in the AI and a bottle will set you back £20. You can buy house wine by the glass at the Aqua bar for around 370 rupees (£3).
Overall enjoyed this holiday and met people who have returned year after year.
Would go back, maybe with the grandchildren as the pool and food are safe.

Room Tip: Ground floor is good as you can have your sunbeds outside. If in a first or second floor ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    349
    121
    43
    31
See reviews for
301
668
14
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It is a nice location, great food with a fabulous variety to select from. They could do much better on their service. I am disappointed the way they treat locals. They changed the type of the room when I checked in and did not bother to tell me. The phone in the room was broken and I would have expected them to know about it before they decides to check me in. The first thing the guy in the reception had to tell me was that I have to vacate the room at 12pm on my departure date and that seems to be much more important than anything else given I was just checking in there.

If they treat people well they could achieve a lot as it is indeed a fabulous place given the reach to the sea and the view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am happy to hear that you found the hotel to be in a nice location and that the food and its variety was great.

I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not as expected. Please let me reassure you that all guests who stay with us are equally important to us.
We apologies if you were made to feel uncomfortable during your check-in to the hotel and your kind feedback have been immediately passed on to the front office manager in order to improve service and training of the staff.

We do hope that you will decide to stay with us again next time you visit Waikkal.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spend one night on end of november . Food ,rooms everything was up to standard. I loved there long and deep pool. It is the best pool I used in a Sri Lankan hotel.

One bad thing and , beware .. there staff might enter to your room with only a few bell rings .So please close your room from inside. This happened to us .

Also manager at front desk is really rude and doesn't have a single smile on face. We saw he was blaming to a foreigner in sinhala language where foreigner didn't know he was blaming . It is very unprofessional and unpleasant using unknown language in front of a customer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with. We are humbled by your remarks about our activity pool which actually is considered to be the longest pool in Sri Lanka.
We are very concerned to hear of the unpleasant experiences you had faced during your stay when our associates entered the guest room abruptly, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences caused to you. Further we have noted your comment on the unfriendly attitude of the reception desk associates.

Your comments have been very helpful to us. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.

I would very much like the opportunity to discuss the point you have raised further, therefore can I kindly request you to contact me at info.dolphin@serendibleisure.lk, I would be delighted to hear from you at your convenience.

We hope you will not let this incident deter you from visiting us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 6th to 20th December for the 2nd time and took 4 people with us and no one was disappointed. They have the best entertainment most evening with their own Animation team who are exceptionally talented and music to dance to is provided most evenings.. The Guest Relations young lady listened to what ever suggestions were made and acted upon them immediately.
The hotel has been refurbished to a top quality standard and there are daily activities to get all nationalities to mix and have fun together during the daytime..
Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and no complaints about the food.The hotel has just been refurbished to a high quality and there are soft pillows and fluffy towels in the bathrooms, we will definitely return. We had a fabulous holiday all the staff are exceptional

Room Tip: We paid the extra for a Sea view which was well worth it and went for a 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Club Hotel Dolphin for your recent stay and for recommending us to your friends.

It was a pleasure to have you with us, and we are glad to note that you and your friends had a wonderful stay.

Thank you for sharing your kind sentiments about our animation team and the reception staff who assisted you. Your comments provide great encouragement to our associates and we certainly will share your thoughts with them.

We would love to welcome you back at Club Hotel Dolphin in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We are just back from our holiday in Sri Lanka, staying in one of the sea view beach bungalows at Club Hotel Dolphin. We knew the hotel was undergoing refurbishment, and had read mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, so our expectations weren't very high - but we looked on it as a well needed break and at least it would be warm.

Well, what a fabulous surprise we had - the hotel, after a shocking approach along a pot-holed track, was just perfect. (The pot-holed road was mended in the first week before the Grand Re-Opening). Our room was just lovely - we had number 57 right next to the quiet pool - best location for peace and tranquillity. The food was faultless - never had such choice and the quality was of the highest every single day.

Swimming in the sea was possible but the red flag flies all the time - we walked up to the little cover by the village and just swam in the safety of the jetty - it was so warm! The currents were very strong and the waves too powerful to do much more.

The trips that we did made the holiday extra special, from the elephants at Pinnewala, the Elephant Orphanage, the dolphins, the safari with leopards in Yala National Park, tea plantations, Kandy, the herb gardens, turtle hatchery, stick fishermen - we just did so many firsts and ticked so many boxes - it was the holiday of a lifetime.

We did all our trips with Asda Tours who are licenced by the hotel and are just next door to the spa huts by the quiet pool. As mum and daughter, we generally would ensure we book through our tour rep, for safety, when travelling - but Asda Tours were great and we would recommend them highly. Nice air-conditioned comfy transport (tuk-tuks are nice for a short trip into Negombo), we felt completely safe and nothing was too much trouble. They made sure we got to see everything we wanted too and really took care of us. Thamel runs it and I think he setting up a Facebook page so you can check it out before you go.

The spa was fabulous too, and we had several different treatments in the little huts on the beach.

We thought Sri Lanka would have much less to offer than the Caribbean, our usual holiday destination - we couldn't have been more wrong. We will go back to this hotel and fell in love with Sri Lanka and it's people, who are beautiful.

Room Tip: Number 57!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place is amazing and the food fantastic. Unfortunately it was under going a refurb when we went so parts were closed but it was dealt with well and we could not even tell when we were there. The staff are really friendly and helpful and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLML, General Manager at Club Hotel Dolphin, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Club Hotel Dolphin, Waikkal.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we were under refurbishment till end of October 2013 and I am proud to inform you that Club Hotel Dolphin is now fully opened and operational. It is welcoming to see that our stringent measures which were taken to minimize any disturbance to our guests during the refurbishment period had been noted and your testimonial is of great value to us.

We look forward to welcome you back at Club Hotel Dolphin in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Ludwig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

we were welcomed to to the hotel in a very friendly way it set the tone for the rest of our stay. we really enjoyed the hotel room. It was comfy and right on the beach. Thyagi was extremely helpful and a credit to the hotel. Our breakfast was very good indeed and it was very varied with western and asian style foods, we really liked the fresh juice which was absolutely fabulous.hotel has a kids club and a gym are used the gym and found it more than adequate. The hotel also Has about 3 pool's and all of them were impeccably clean. we would definitely return to This h

Room Tip: don't use Asda Tours use dolphin who are right outside the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Hotel Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Dolphin

Address: Kammala South | St. Sebastian Mawatha, Waikkal 61110, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Waikkal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waikkal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Hotel Dolphin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here on Sri Lanka's golden west coast, we believe that every moment of your time spent with us is precious. . Precisely why we offer a host of facilities for your comfort and opportunities for you and your loved ones to enjoy an unforgettable stay with us in Sri Lanka. Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE you can have the best of both worlds at Club Hotel Dolphin Waikkal. Our hotel is known to be the ultimate family beach holiday destination in the region.. PAUSE... Find a place under the swaying coconut palms, and re-discover that inner peace that you've been missing for so long. Take a long walk on the golden beach. Enjoy the sensation of curling your toes in the pure sands and revel in the warmth of the sun on your skin. Lie back and listen to the soothing roar of the waves as you slip into a deep state of relaxation at the spa. PLAY... Dive into Sri Lanka's longest swimming pool and score the winning point at water polo! Hit the gym, or take a water aerobics class. Say yes to adventure! Learn to paddle a kayak and explore the mangroves, or feel the wind whistle past, as you see the world from horseback trekking along the beach. Enjoy top notch entertainment and live shows, indulge in beach-side BBQ s and delicious buffets, take time for a romantic meal for two under the moon and stars... Whether you want to PLAY or PAUSE at Club Dolphin you can enjoy the very best of both worlds... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Hotel Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Waikkal
Club Hotel Dolphin Sri Lanka
Dolphin Hotel Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Hotel Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.