We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 de Saram Road | Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Came for late checkin, long drive from airport to colombo. Hopefully this is solved with the expressway opened in Sep 13. On BB 2 days, reasonably priced. Actual rates were lower than what is published on sites. Worth calling the hotel and making reservation for a better deal.

Hotel staff helped on faxes/email. I thought the business centre can do better if more business traffic is coming.

Large room, great poolside with action and scenery! Tried Sri Lankan food and English breakfast. Overall good stay.

Room Tip: Get pool sire rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    28
    7
    12
See reviews for
12
29
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newport beach CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have stayed 3 nights from 7th august. Beautiful atmosphere.Friendly staff.convenient for all Colombo locations .I have found an excellent hotel for my future accommodation in Colombo,Sri Lanka.Best of luck for all staff.

Room Tip: ground floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Visited Colombo after 3 years and changed my booking to Palm Beach because the place I stayed was not good. There are lot of hotels in the area but most of the places are not clean and the staff are not trained. they are houses or very old hotels. Mount hotels are too close to the railway and you cannot sleep in the night with trains going every 45 minutes.

Palm beach is a nice boutique type hotel with personal attention by staff, rooms are big and very private. Good chef. Very clean. Very nice garden to relax and walking distance to the beach. Seems they have gone through a refurbishment and a new management since our last stay. The Gym could be better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We did not expect anything from this hotel, they gave us a spacious room, which is tidy but not clean, toilet is old and group of dead big ants (around 100) died at a corner (horrible!), anyway the price is low and you can't get such room in colombo, so if you are going to party at night and just need a place for shower, this is the choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Palm garden hotel on june 23,2013. We arrived at the hotel around 8 pm after a very long day. Check-in was very smooth and the room was comfortable. In the morning I wanted to use a computer and front office manager let me use his office computer. He was in middle of some work but as soon as he heard my request he stopped his work and let me use his computer. I was pleasantly surprised with the excellent level of customer services I got from all levels of staff at the hotel.....overall our short stay @ Pal beach was very nice.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Three of us traveled to Sri Lanka and an acquaintance arranged this hotel for us, due to the hotel's proximity to his house.

Upon seeing the Reception/Lobby area of the hotel, I was already a bit uneasy when I was told it costs USD 130 per night (including breakfast) to stay at this place. It was dark and dirty, and looked at best a one or two-star motel.

We were given a ground floor room near the pool. Upon entering the room I almost wanted to turn back and leave. It was dark, smelly, and our feet turned charcoal black after walking around in the room. There was no kettle and no slippers provided. We have to call and ask for blankets.

There is a so-called private garden connected to the room but it is just a patch of untreated grass. The TV was the size of a monitor screen. The toilet malfunctioned after few flushes. The wifi was useless. One of us was bitten by ticks overnight (due to unclean bedsheets probably).

The breakfast was 'a la carte' and contains a basket of bread, eggs, fruits, tea & coffee. Edible.

The only saving grace was that the staff were responsible and tried their best to serve us despite the horrible property they have to work with. In short, give it a miss!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our flight was delayed so we missed our train and ended up just walking in and trying for a room. The staff were freindly but honestly didn't have a clue. Asked for a double and got a twin. Asked how late we could use the pool and they told us up to 8p.m. but when we got in a 7p.m. the little pool guy told us he had already put 'the chemical' in the pool but he didn't mind if we still wanted to swim!!! There weren't too many people so I guess he wasn't expecting anyone. We needed an early breakfast so they opened their kitchen early for us which was very kind and the food was fine. They did try hard, just weren't very well trained. Room was old and very basic but clean.

Room Tip: Wi only works on the top floor - go high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hotel

Address: 52 de Saram Road | Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Hotel is a boutique hotel with large rooms and a nice pool side garden. Hotel is situated in the popular Mount Lavinia area known for restaurants and hotels for tourists and locals with many attractions. Hotel operates a beach cabana 500M away and reachable by a walkway. There are plenty of options for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Palm Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.