We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool setting and room, but pity the rest!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 de Saram Road | Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Trincomalee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice pool setting and room, but pity the rest!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We, 2 older guys, stayed 4 nights at the Palm Beach Hotel coming to Colombo mainly to renew our tourist visas. The good points first. The hotel has a very pleasant large swimming pool in a nice garden setting. The hotel from the pool has the appearance of the old British colonial era, and is cool and shady with wide verandahs and comfy sofas to lounge about in. The room we occupied was large and airy with a separate dining area and a fridge.and a small private balcony at the back great for drying clothes. Now the bad. The hotel seemed to be not very well run. Re the staff at reception, we were often left wondering if they knew what they were doing, whether their English was of a high enough standard to properly comprehend our questions. The usual response was 'Don't worry, it will be all right Sir', or 'I'll fix it for you'. Most often, our requests were forgotten. There was also a problem with connecting to the internet, and no one seemed to be able to find a solution. The restaurant was another problem. Unfortunately the kitchen was at the far side of the property to where the restaurant was, and that plus errors in communication meant trouble. We saw diners get up and leave in disgust. Finally, I got viral diahorrea while staying here which lasted 2 days. I can't be sure how I got it but I only ate at the hotel premises that day. I suspect that it was probably one of the waiters serving tap water which was the only thing my friend had which was different from me.

Room Tip: The rooms all appear to be of a good standard, but the lighting of steps to walk up to the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    22
    7
    13
See reviews for
10
28
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at Palm Beach in the first week of April 2013. Had booked 2 suites but one of them was in such poor condition that I had to take up a regular room in exchange. The room was extremely musty with dirty carpets. Also the approach to that particular suite was in a corner of the resort and one needs to take the stairs that pass through a service area. Totally pathetic!
Anyway the hotel assured me that they will refund the difference in amount as I was taking up a regular room in exchange for the suite that I had already payed for in advance. I even have a mail to that effect from the Palm Beach front office manager. As I had booked via Agoda, the hotel said that when they finally invoice Agoda , they will make a note of the difference in amount and bill accordingly. Agoda will then reimburse me. Well the next nightmare was following up with Agoda. It has now been 3 months and after maybe more than a dozen mails with numerous deadlines broken by Agoda , they finally tell me that they cannot reimburse me and will instead offer me a 5% discount on my next booking. This is ridiculous as far from addressing my issues Agoda is trying to solicit further business from me!
Palm beach is also the only hotel I have been to that charges a fine of about 1000 Srilankan if you happen to consume your own alcohol in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from the 29th of March 2012 till the 31st of March 2012. First when we arrived, I noticed that the entrance of the reception was "resort-like" however it was very unimpressive. The only good thing about the reception area was that wifi was free. The couches on the reception was old and worn out.

The room was very basic, with a bed and TV. There is no coffee making facilities. The room was pretty spacious however and there was a balcony for the guest to sit out and enjoy a drink.The worst part of the room is the bathroom, was quite dirty and it smelled quite bad too. It stunk of urine most of the time.

Now moving on to the facilities provided by the hotel. The rooms came with breakfast. I would say that the breakfast was adequate. Do not expect too much from this place. They do have a large selection of bread, if you love bread alot!!!

The swimming pool area was ok. Nothing really to shout about. The size of the pool is sizable enough for a good swim. I supposed the great thing about this hotel is the location. Its not very close to the railway tracks as there are some hotels built next to the tracks and the trains will go by the hotels in the vicinity every half an hour. And the beach is really close by. 3 mins walk and you will be at the beach.

Overall, barely ok experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Been there few times, but all on day use..the hotel seems to be going down... there was no phone in the room on one occasion and there was no TV one occasion - The staff did inform me that there is no tv in the room. Decent swimming pool. The service and the staff are quite average.

Room Tip: Go for an up stair room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent the last night of a two week holiday here. We first went to the Mount Lavinia but they were fully booked (it was a Friday night) and they sent us here. The room was about US$70. It was okay – the room itself was very big, but the bathroom stall door didn't close properly and leaked water all over the floor, and the TV had very bad reception (making it basically unwatchable). The decor was gloomy and tired but the a/c worked okay. The pool has a life guard. They let us check out at 12 instead of 10 as we had a late flight. The breakfast staff were very friendly but reception was so-so. I wouldn't pre-plan to stay here but it's ok if you're stuck!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night, at the end of our trip in Sri Lanka, and we liked the place. The hotel room was spacious and clean, although it smelled if someone smoked in the room (which wasn't the case, according to the staff). We arrived at 10 'o clock, however we could enter our room directly. We spend some hours at the pool, and had a lunch at the restaurant. There was not a huge choice on the menu, but the food we got was very tasty.
Since we wanted to explore Colombo we asked the lady at the reception if she had some suggestions for us, but the only thing she suggested was to go to the beach or a shopping mall. Therefore: bring your own guide book. After our visit in Colombo, only 15-20 min by three-wheelers to the center, we went for another dive in to the pool.
In the evening we enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. I wanted to eat some Sri lankan food, since it was our last evening, and although it was not on the original menu (the choice was fish or meat), it was no problem at all to adjust it. I'd liked also the fact that they didn't made it very spicy! After our meal we ordered a cocktail, but this took a while (approx 30 min) to make it.
The next morning we left very early to be on time at the airport, which is a little more than 1hr drive, so I can't comment on the breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The hotel reception area is quite pleasant but we were subjected to a lecture by the man in charge who apparently assumed that we had never stayed in a hotel before and got quite upset when some members of our small group stopped listening to his insane and pointless ranting. We were given a good sized room that was a bit tired looking. When I saw that the bathroom had not been properly cleaned and that there was rubbish behind the bathroom door I went back to reception and was told rudely to " just wait a minute" when I said there was a problem with the room. The receptionist then gave a key to a busboy who took us to another room in a dark out of the way part of the hotel. On the way we passed a pile of broken furniture outside our new room. The new room was a bit cleaner but still quite tired looking and was smaller than the first room and actually missing half its furniture. I went back to reception and started to complain that they have given us two poor rooms and had not even had the decency to apologise for messing us about.. The receptionist said they had no more rooms available. A lie. The night manager who was the guy who gave us the lecture then stepped in and took us to a third room that was cleaner and seemed to have all the furniture more or less intact. He made out that he was doing us some special favour by giving us this room. Utter nonsense. It was the same type of room as the first one it just happened to be a bit cleaner and not in a dark corner next to the hotel's pile of dead furniture. Next came the worst meal experienced in Sri Lanka. I think it was supposed to be Western food but it was a failure from start to finish and totally inedible. Breakfast was haphazard to say the least but they did have some nice asian food available. I ate out the next afternoon so that I could avoid the evening meal. To the hotel's credit they did do a curry the second night which I am told was pretty good. Food service staff on this evening were also good and very friendly. The receptionist also did apologise for the problems on arrival when he saw me the next night. One weird thing I found in the room was an insane set of rules regarding bringing in food or booze from outside to consume in the room - there was a threat that they would charge $10 or $15 for any outside booze found in the rooms. They would also charge for any outside food consumed in the rooms. Were they planning on going through my rubbish? This was made even more weird by that fact that the room had a fridge (not turned on) and did not have a minibar or any obvious way of getting room service. I don't know why its called Palm Beach as its not on the beach. You have to walk down a laneway with nasty dogs and then cross the railway tracks and then walk along the railway tracks and through a restaurant to get to the beach. Out of 8 hotels used in Sri Lanka this was the worst by far.

Room Tip: Avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hotel

Address: 52 de Saram Road | Mount Lavinia, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Hotel is a boutique hotel with large rooms and a nice pool side garden. Hotel is situated in the popular Mount Lavinia area known for restaurants and hotels for tourists and locals with many attractions. Hotel operates a beach cabana 500M away and reachable by a walkway. There are plenty of options for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Palm Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.