We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option outside Colombo, with some problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Berjaya Hotel Colombo to your Saves list
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 College Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka (Formerly Berjaya Mount Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK EARLY, SAVE MORE!
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good option outside Colombo, with some problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early August. Staff was friendly and helpful and the room was large and very clean. AC worked fine and quietly. The bed was large and comfortable. The pool was not super-clean but was OK and large enough (maybe 15 meters or so wide?) that you could do some sort of real swimming. The location is a few miles away from Colombo, so if you need to travel to the city it is not that convenient. During rush hour it may take an hour or so to reach the hotel. Wi-fi was not included in the price, but rates were reasonable (I think about 2 Euros for two hours) and speed was decent. No mosquitoes in the room, which was unexpected for these locations and certainly nice. Breakfast was good but not great, coffee awful but good fruit and several sweet and savory options.

So far so good, but there are some problems. First, the location is nice, only meters from the beach, but between the hotel and the beach (as many other reviewers have pointed out) there are... train tracks (see picture). So unless you are a VERY heavy sleeper you can only sleep soundly between about midnight and 6AM or so. Commuter trains will start in early morning and wake you up. It's not just the noise, the whole room vibrates when a train goes by. Second, the beach is very nice but (as is sadly the case with many beaches in Sri Lanka) the water is very polluted and the beach is so full of people that are after your money that if you are a westerner walking along the beach can a rather stressful experience. Third, we had dinner at the local restaurant in the hotel one evening and it was awful, really awful. I ordered a simple fried fish and it tasted like dry tuna kept in a freezer for 6 months, passed in batter out of a plastic bag and fried in poor quality oil.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunny Sri Lanka !

Thank you very much for your constructive report about our Property. Whilst noting with pleasure the very positive facts about our staff, service, rooms, equipments etc., we also thank you for your comments about the WiFi and we will create a free WiFi zone in the hotel in the near future.

Generally, on Saturdays and Sundays, there is a number of locals who patronize the beach and also the month of August being school vacation, there would have been many people on the beach. Otherwise, usually on week days the beach is quiet and peaceful.

Though generally we have received overall very good comments for our food, we were very concerned to note about the poor quality fish you had received for which please accept our sincere apologies. We immediately traced the staff responsible for preparing of this food item and have taken corrective measures to ensure that this would not happen again.

Finally, we appreciate your feed back and will correct all issues that come under our purview.

Looking forward to welcoming you again and assure you of our best service and quality food in the future.

With best wishes.

Kirthi Wickramasinghe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    62
    45
    24
    31
See reviews for
45
44
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent a few nights there and for the price I am yet to find a hotel in this range. I have been to Sri Lanka a couple of times and most of my stays have been in Colombo. I decided to stay in Mt Lavinia and it didn't disappoint. The staff is always friendly and made a couple of friends there as well. The pool is amazing and it was something nice to dip into after a long day.
There is a train that run between the beach and the hotel, but you will get used to if after a while. If you need sage deposit boxes you need to have booked the deluxe room, the standard rooms don't have any.
The WiFi you need to pay for but it is reasonable priced so as many others things in the hotel. The food is good and during the weekends they have promotions and action items on the menu that are served out near the pool.

Affordable, Friendly and good Food!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor will give you better view of the beach, but you need to walk up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mr Fernandes,

Greetings from Berjaya Hotel Colombo!

We are very happy to note that you had a very pleasant and comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the swimming pool, the cozy and comfortable room and the many F&B promotions by the Pool Side. Regarding WiFi, we have now created free WiFi zones in two of our Restaurants. Free Safe facilities are available at the Back Office for the Standard Rooms.

We do have an Elevator on the South Wing of the Hotel for the comfort of our guests and so sorry that you have missed it.

We look forward to your next visit to Berjaya Hotel Colombo.

With best regards.

Kirthi Wickramasinghe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've visited Berjaya Hotel Colombo many times and that's why I could say that the hotel is better as ever, after the renovation they made in the beginning of 2013.
This time I stayed in the months of july and august and everytime I come here it feels like home. Very friendly staff, nice food and comfortable and luxe rooms. Berjaya Hotel Colombo is a real three star hotel with a nice pool, wonderful seeview and good facilities. This combination is not common in the famous place of Mt Lavinia and even in Srilanka it's difficult to find this standard so close to the beach.
What I like about Berjaya Hotel Colombo is that the staff always accept your advice to make every stay a comfortable stay. The way how they combine Western and Srilankan style helps me to get acclimatized and that's why I always choose for this hotel to start and end my tour through Srilanka.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate very much your comments re. our product quality, facilities & the professional & courteous service extended to you all by our staff. We value same since you are one of our repeat clients who have seen the steady progress we have achieved over the years to be what we are today by striving to create memorable total experiences to our Guests.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager – Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandenong, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

At the end of three weeks backpacking around Sri Lanka, this was a lovely respite. The place was clean and tidy, reception was friendly and efficient. The service and food was excellent. One issue that quite disappointed us was the need to have to pay extra for wi fi. This is an item that has become almost essential, and where it has been available we did not have to pay even in the cheapest of guesthouse. It's not a matter of the rs 300 or so extra it is something hat should be an ordinary part of hotel business in the cities. This hotel is surprisingly local to central Colombo just short walk to the Galle road, catch a number 10 bus to Galle Face green and see one of the highlights of Colombo. Make sure it's a Saturday or Sunday night though..

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Ms Nathalie and Mr Andrew,

Greetings from Berjaya Hotel Colombo!

We are very pleased to note that you both had a very relaxed and comfortable stay in our Hotel and enjoyed our quality food, service and the friendly and efficient hospitality provided by our staff.

Considering comments from you and our other valued guests, we re pleased to inform you that we have now created free WiFi zones in two of our restaurants to cater to our guests needs.

Please do visit us again for your next holiday.

With best regards.

Kirthi Wickramasinghe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were in Sri Lanka for business and ended up staying at Berjaya Hotel on Mount Lavinia Beach. The hotel was clean, and the staff, professional and friendly. Their wifi system worked well for us and were able to communicate confidently with the outside world.

We used the hotel's car service every day. Mendes drove us all over the island and was very affordable. I do not recommend driving in Sri Lanka if you aren't an expert or local...scary.

There are obviously upgrades being made to the hotel and it's not "there" yet, but I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great but the train can be loud several times during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Hotel Colombo. Thank you for your positive comments about our property, staff & driver Mendis and we are delighted to note that you had a very good memorable stay with us. After upgrading the property, we can now give you a better service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Berjaya Hotel Colombo.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager – Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I would start the review with the reasons because of which, I would never stay here again;

1. The way to the hotel is very dimly lit and does not give a lot of confidence for one to walk to the hotel alone.
2. The hallways are also dark with most of the bulbs either switched off or not working.
3. The rooms though renovated recently, are full of ants and insects.
4. The access to the beach is through a dirty path which is best left unexplored.
5. There is no free wifi (which is there at almost all the other hotels in Sri Lanka)
6.The rooms do not even have a safe to store the valuables.
7.The breakfast is best left alone.

A few hotel staff I happened to meet during my stay were very warm and courteous but the property is so heavily weighed down by its negatives that I would never ever stay in that hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to inform you that we received many positive comments from our guests regarding our property and service after our property has recently been upgraded and re-launched on 30th May 2013, Would appreciate if you could please send us the Registration details of your stay with us, as we are unable to trace your details.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager – Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in June 2013, we were constantly told by my father who stayed at the Berjaya how wonderful and accommodating the staff are and we took the opportunity to experience the stay and it was exactly how it was told. We were so grateful how great the rooms we were given making our stay more relaxed. We would definetely return on our next holiday. Thanks for the kind hospitality you have given me and my husband it was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirthi W, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful appreciation of our services and we are delighted to hear of your pleasant stay with us during your holiday. We are really happy to welcome you both during your next holiday and will take care of you as our very special guests.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager – Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Address: 36 College Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka (Formerly Berjaya Mount Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berjaya Hotel Colombo 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrapped in blue waters and abundant greenery, the hotel is located 10km south of Colombo, in the city of Mount Lavinia. Exuding charm and beauty, its white beach is a grand marvel. The tropical richness provides non-stop fun activities for all, creating lasting memories for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Berjaya Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Mount Royal Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Berjaya Hotel Colombo Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Hotel Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.