We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautiful old hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Lavinia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Lavinia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, beautiful old hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at Mt. Lavinia Hotel for one whole week. We were impressed by the food, and the service staff. We will always remember Ranjith's kind Good Mornings, to be followed by always approaching our then almost 3 year old to help her onto a high chair. We loved our stay, and couldnt find a fault with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest thank you for the wonderful comments mentioned on tripadvisor about your recent visit to our colonial heritage hotel…we hope to see you again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    457
    179
    73
    35
See reviews for
262
497
66
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Lots of family have stayed at this beautiful hotel so we had to come. We're here for 5 nights over new year. Had direct ocean view room with canopy bed. Room small but pleasant. Bathroom has shower over bath I believe the ocean view rooms have sep shower which would have been a little more suitable but all in all we had a wonderful stay. Lovely pool with children's pool area. Real coffee is served in the poolside restaurant area Try the Cafe Latte. Dinners and breakfasts were amazing new year gala dinner and fireworks were wonderful also. We tried to book a couple of extra nights as we didn't really want to leave but they were fully booked as this hotel is so popular. Met chef Asanka who looked after us so well at the seafood Cove. Trust me book ocean view not the direct ocean view head down to seafood cove for dinner or lounge around the beach area there, you will feel so well looked after no wonder everyone talks about this place.

Room Tip: Book ocean view not direct ocean view rooms are slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Mount Lavinia Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us during the dawning of the New Year and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our festivities…hope you will return to stay with us to celebrate another wonderful holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

we stayed for one night at the end of our holiday and was a pleasure to have a bit of luxury after camping and beach hostels! Very friendly reception and room was big and clean, unfortuantely they had no other availability so we were in the room onto the train track which was fun but a bit noisy during the night.

Breakfast was superb and we also enjoyed the Theme Night - Aussie BBQ, great selection of food.

Took approximately 1.5hours to reach Colombo airport from the hotel which was fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our property…we are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you and hope that you will return to stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANDIGARH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was fabulous staying in Mt Lavinia Hotel surrounded by sea water , having private beach... Looks like colonial luxurious stay .... Regarding Staff, i say it was delight .. and hospitality was uncomaparable.. Especially front desk exec Ms Ashani, Enthusiastic, synergic and ofcourse beau with pleasant smile... She was amazing guiding me... Further security was also friendly and good guide.. I have beed regular visitor to SL, i would prefer staying in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms should be preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for the wonderful comments mentioned about our team members…your comments are highly appreciated and will be shared with our team…it was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again in your future visits to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the wing with the dated rooms and decor but with gorgeous ocean views. The bathroom and room could definitely do with a makeover but we nevertheless loved our stay. Why?probably because it is a grand old dame, the location and the hearty Sri lankan breakfast!

The staff are friendly and the breakfast is delicious-espceially the egg hoppers and curry!

The location is also excellent - by Mt Lavinia beach. It is a bit expensive for the state of the rooms/hotel but I would still include it in my list of places to stay in Colombo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your current stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel…Our entire team appreciates your generous comments regarding the location and cuisine… Hope you will patronage our property during your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folkestone
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to what must be our 2nd home We just love everything about this hotel. It holds so many happy memories as we were married here almost 5 years to the day. Nothing has changed she is still the same regal hotel we so much love. Thankyou for the cake and the flowers.Sorry we could not meet up with Thakshila but we will be back your hotel is so good !!

Room Tip: choose an upgrade to an acean view its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest we are delighted to be referred to as your second home…as always it was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to many more visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The cinnamon scented lobby on arrival had us taken immediately. Nice touch. Check in was easy and polite, the staff here are amazingly good.

Booked a direct ocean view room and was ensured it was in the new part of the hotel, which it was but not sure how new it actually is as it seemed pretty dated. However the room was great and the view superb. Bed was hard but slept very well. Bathroom was atrociously decorated back in the '80's and not up to standard, infact it just didn't match the room. Hot water was infrequent but it was very clean and fine or us.

The best feature of this hotel and the main reason for us selecting this hotel was the food. I had booked in advance for a table at Chef Publis Sri Lankan buffet for dinner. After checking in we went to look at the dining area during lunch and was greeted by name and shown our reserved table for dinner later that night. The staff knew me immediately and showed us around the dining area and explained what to expect. This was exceptional service. The buffet dinner was astounding and sadly too much choice as we wanted to try absolutely everything but there is just so much you can eat. They really do make the dining experience something to remember.

Breakfast was also a wonderful experience. So much choice and we thoroughly enjoyed the egg hoppers. You would be hard pressed to not find something to satisfy you.

The pool area was probably the downside. Great area but badly managed as guests were dragging furniture all over the place and it looked a shambles. We discovered that outsiders can buy day use and enjoy the area. This resulted in hotel guests not getting priority and having to just sit anywhere. Food at the pool area was again exceptional but as guests of the hotel we felt let down.

Hotel service was exceptional. I injured my foot while swimming at the public beach and was suppied wih ointment to sooth the swelling. Genuine care was provided.

We loved staying here and will do again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for choosing to stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel…we are glad that you enjoyed the authentic Sri Lankan hospitality and cuisine at our heritage property. Your feedback is duly noted and steps are taken for rectification and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Lavinia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.