We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Lavinia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Lavinia Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Lavinia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed our last 2 nights (mid December 2011) in Sri Lanka at this lovely hotel. Great location, fantastic food in the restaurant, the lovely terrace swimming pool with the views to Colombo, the private beach. A fantastic place to finish our holiday. Only possible downside is that the hotel hosts weddings and exhibitions, which we really enjoyed. You can sometimes hear the bass notes if they have a disco after the weddings. For us it was a delight to see all the beautifully dressed brides, grooms and bridesmaids. Highly recommended. Free wifi in the lobby area would be an improvement.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    508
    202
    83
    38
See reviews for
299
569
73
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable rooms and good food on the buffet. Great views of the beach from the rooms and a relaxing pool area.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Mount Lavinia hotel is a fun place to stay. It really plays on its colonial heritage, and whilst the execution isn't always the best, it is a nice place to stay. The not so great bits - slightly haphazard service, tired ocean view rooms. The great bits - fantastic location on a headland not far from Colombo, accessible beach swimming (unlike much of the south coast), lovely for an evening drink, reasonable food, and a good stopover point for those just arrived or wanting one last relaxing night in Sri Lanka before heading home.

Room Tip: Not quite sure. Our Ocean view room was ok, but I suspect there are better rooms. The aircon was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was staying in the Ocean View room (not direct). The whole night (till 9AM) I could hear some bass noises coming out of some club or something similar. Some might struggle to fall asleep.

Service was ok except took forever to check out.

Rooms are quite modern and clean.

Restaurant at the beach was amazing. Really fresh seafood and great choice as well (about 10-15 types of fish and other seafood and probably 40 sauces you can have it with). All made fresh - they cut the fish right in front of you.

Would recommend to my friends!

Room Tip: Get Direct Ocean view if you can. Best view, not much more expensive, probably save you some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

A high class hotel , with lovely rooms, good food, and a delightful bar/restaurant terrace area with wonderful views of the coastline. Unfortunately we had bad experiences with noise. We used the hotel as base between trips and the first time we had building repairs outside our room. Complained to duty manager who gave us a free buffet as compensation. Second visit we specifically requested a quiet room, as we had to get up at 4.30 am to travel to the airport. We settled in and went to the bar planning an early dinner and bed by 9.00pm. We then discovered from the waiter that there was to be a band playing on the terrace right opposite our room until midnight! We complained and had to move to another room, but this totally disrupted and spoiled our last night in Sri Lanka. Why did they put us next door to a live band when we asked for quiet and they knew we were leaving so early? What use is the best room available if you can't sleep for the noise!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Bottom line up front: a high quality colonial style hotel with lots of charm and a prestigious reputation in the local area. Would not recommend it as an overnight starting point for the Cultural Tour however. See below for reasons why.
We stayed here for one night before starting our Cultural Triangle Tour. The hotel itself was fabulous although it took two and half hours to get there through Colombo rush hour traffic (apparently it takes about 2 hours even in normal traffic so don't believe it if your travel information says it is only one hour away, as ours did!). Having read other reviews, we had requested a room on a high floor, overlooking the beach away from the railway line and were delighted that they had managed to do this for us given how busy the hotel was (lots of corporate Christmas functions and weddings). We decided to eat in the seafood restaurant on the beach which was exceptionally good value and delicious. Wine was expensive but no worse than any central London restaurant. Our fellow travellers ate in the buffet and said that it was absolutely amazing and having had breakfast there next morning, I would agree. The view itself is just something to behold and the chipmunks provided plenty of entertainment! The room was very comfortable if a little old fashioned but it was all in keeping with the 'colonial' style of the hotel. We wished that we had arrived a little earlier as it would have been nice to spend some time walking along the beach and relaxing in the hotel pool and grounds. Would stay there again without doubt even though the journey from the airport was a bit of a nightmare and had to be done again next morning to get us back on the road for Dambullah/Habanara/Kandy.

Room Tip: High floor ( we were on 5th), overlooking beach if possible.azS
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Mount Lavinia Hotel is one of the colonial era hotels in Colombo. Its aged look gives it a sense of romance that will not be found elsewhere. The hotel gives some wonderful views of the Indian Ocean and its private beach is a treat. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable. Meals are great as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Lavinia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.