We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place with very warm n welcoming people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chamenka Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chamenka Guest House to your Saves list
Chamenka Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Pallidora Road 44C, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Kottayam, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice place with very warm n welcoming people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

didnt expect much when me n my wife got to sri lanka for course related need ...but have to say we really enjoyed our stay for 5 days ...and it was all thanks to mr. chandima and family !!! totally away from the commotion of the city ...with no safety issues ...and very warm and helpful hosts !!!we were welcomed with a nice sumptous breakfast and a neat and private room !!! Mr. chandima was more than helpful in finding n getting to places ...in fact he actually dropped us a couple of times to our destination !!! All thanx to mr.chandima we could see a very good part of colombo in a very short time through mr. fazal !!! all in all a very pleasant trip ... i highly recommend this place to anyone who plans to have a safe n pleasant trip to colombo !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The owner and mum-in-law are excellent hosts and I am touched by the warmth and hospitanilty for the 4 nights I have stayed there. This is a family runned business and it is located away from the hustle and bustle of central Colombo. A nice and quiet place to stay and affordable compared to the other star rated hotels. The stay has offered me an opportunity to know more about the place and its people thru the personal touch of the hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

just outside of colombo in dehiwala, this guesthouse is in a wonderful location and the owners were lovely, offering us advice on where to go and the best way to get there! it was a great experience staying here, a unique experience staying in a sri lankan home, but the rooms were still private, with a separate door away from the main entrance. Also, importantly the owners where not over bearing, offering us space when we needed it, but also eager for a chat whenever we felt like it, offering insightful knowledge.
A great place to stay, close to Mount Levina beach, and alot nicer than down town colombo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The walls have never been repainted since the house was built! The furnishings such as curtains, were made from cardboard and scraps of cloth. And to say that it takes very little to make a welcoming home! Especially when the floors, as in this case, are really very clean and the mother of the landlord is a very kind woman.The breakfast was good.
The location is another sore point, this guesthouse is far from everything.
The price was high, considering the services offered and location.Rs 3300.00

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels

Been to Chamenka Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamenka Guest House

Address: Pallidora Road 44C, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chamenka Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chamenka guest house has fully furnished 06 bed rooms with tiled floor,hot water,cable tv,free wifi,free breakfast,24 hour reception,self catering facility,free parking,travel desk,no curfew,transport arrange ments with reliable english speaking drivers,SPA facilities can be arranged,ayurvedic treatments by a world famous doctor at affordable price at Dehiwala,Tuk tuk service to Mount lavinia beach,and to any part of Colombo,tours to Sinharaja rain forest,visits to puppert musium-Dehiwala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Chamenka Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamenka Guest House Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamenka Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.