We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal in Colombo - definitely worth a trip to Mt Lavinia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LOON TAO

LOON TAO
43/12, College Avenue,, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
(011) 2 722 723
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Shanghai, Szechuan
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Colombo - definitely worth a trip to Mt Lavinia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We loved the Loon Tao. As an open air restaurant on the beach at Mount Lavinia, you shouldn't go expecting plush surroundings and white linen. This place carries off a genuine, relaxed beach bar/restaurant style really well. The service was exceptional and the staff very friendly and attentive.

The food was all lovely and the portions were huge. We ordered the small portions of the starters and can't imagine what the large ones would have been like. Everything looked and tasted as it it was prepared on site - something you rarely see in the UK.

I accept this is not the cheapest place to eat but we felt it was worth the money. The food was fresh, tasted great and was filling. We genuinely contemplated coming back for dinner.

I'm not sure why Mt Lavinia restaurants are not included on the main TA listings for Colombo. The Loon Tao was better than any of the places we ate at in Town and with Mount Lavinia only being a 15/20 minute ride by Tuk Tuk it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued patronage at Loon Tao ! Thank you for the compliments.

We work passionately hard to give the BEST Dining Experience to all our Guests ! Your comments are the Best Reward for the Team's untiring efforts ! We always offer our Guests a warm welcome, firendly efficent service and excellent food each time.

We source our Seafood, Vegetables, Fruits DAILY. Vegetables and Fruits are Organic where possible. We source our Meats every other day and are "non froze" for taste,freshness and quality. Every signle dish we serve including starters are MADE TO ORDER to all our Guests (yes we mean it). There are 6 Chef's working alongside each other which forms a Team of 22 staff in the kitchen to achieve this feat ! This is unmatched to any other restaurant other than our sister restaurant TSING TAO which also serves Chinese Seafood. www.tsingtao.lk . This restaurant is located in the heart of Colombo 07, the most affluent location in the city.

TripAdvisor has listed Loon Tao under Mount Lavinia becuase we are just about 2km outside Colombo city limits.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    79
    19
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Humiliating experience twice visiting this Restaurant .Pathetic customer service .Insulting staff nature”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

As I meant in subject line ,it was a memorable humiliating experience I had with any Restaurant ever.I have been to Loon Tao -Lavinia beach twice to take my lunch however they denied to serve food.When I gave order for a fried rice ,staff asked me to order any drink.When I gave order for drink ,then they asked me to order side dish.I couldn't understand their approach to my need,I was very hungry and wanted take some food but they were keep trying ensure the bill should be high.I least bother about spending money for food but finally the hotel staff said if you don't order we will not serve food.When I spoke to the manager of the hotel (He himself introduced him as a hotel manager) ,he explained me the same stuff as hotel policy.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.They will really take you for toss if you are solo traveller .They really want you to spent money but they least bothered About customer service.

Apart from the above teeth problem ,the hotel is located in a good location and well priced .I heard from many they serve good and tasty food .

However I'm not going to keep quiet ,second time I have recorded all conversation and video .I will certainly put it across to Srilankan embassy and Singapore embassy .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, General Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting LOON TAO.

Noted your comments. There would have been a communication error in this regard. Firstly, we don't force any food or drinks to Customers who walk in our Restaurant. However, we would always ask "would you like to drink something?" . This is normal anywhere. Secondly, dry fried rice need to accompany a side dish. This may not have been communicated properly. Our apologies.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A waste of money... and bad customer experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

A total waste of time.. customer service is poor. I had an bad experience
........ it isnt a place to chilll... and the price is high. ..............

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Noted your comments. However, you have not been specific as to what was wrong.

In any case, our apologies if the experience was not what you expected.

Best regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
male
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“perfect chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Everything was perfect at loon tao except the prices :) it was little over priced.. place was nicely maintained too... hope its the same now :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We focus and invest a lot on maintaining the high standards we have set. We under no circumstances compromise on food or quality of service we offer. We also offer added value to all our Guests with soothing Live Acoustic Music daily from 7pm onwards by some of Colombo's Best Loved Musicians. Place is maintained absolutely the same we we did before. Furthermore, very soon we are starting our refurbishment. Everything is set for this purpose and awaiting Authority approval to proceed.

You will happy to witness all this on your next visit.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sri lanka
2 reviews
“excellent restaurant specially dining in the eveinings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent food. Service was very prompt. The location by the beach with some creative lighting creates a superb atmosphere for dining in the evenings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us. Your comments are everything we are working hard for ! Much appreciate the time and effort taken to review us.

Looking forward to serving you soon again.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LOON TAO also viewed

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to LOON TAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LOON TAO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.