We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent restaurant specially dining in the eveinings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LOON TAO

LOON TAO
43/12, College Avenue,, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
(011) 2 722 723
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Shanghai, Szechuan
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
sri lanka
2 reviews
“excellent restaurant specially dining in the eveinings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent food. Service was very prompt. The location by the beach with some creative lighting creates a superb atmosphere for dining in the evenings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us. Your comments are everything we are working hard for ! Much appreciate the time and effort taken to review us.

Looking forward to serving you soon again.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    79
    19
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth atleast one visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice atmosphere, good quality food. Slightly higher on pocket. The quantity is also sumptuous, go there with a large appetite.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the visit and reviewing us.

Look forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Back Again....Better this time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Yes, I came back again after writing two bad reviews about the place. This time it was a friend's farewell party and the venue was at Loon Tao.

This time round, the food was better. I advised my friends against ordering whole fish, since I have noted on my previous visits that there is such huge discrepancies between the actual weight of the fish and the weight they charge you. Nonetheless, this is the night's experience:-

The jumbo prawns were of good size and done well.

The noodle was bland, but plentiful. Just add your own soy sauce and chilli to flavour it more.

The sliced fish soup was fresh and simple. But tasted a little too msg-ed.

The chilli garlic chicken was good.

The food has improved much and although not as good as it could be (like the more robust and authentic flavours of seafood 88 on Havelock Road), Loon Tao has a lot of potential to be so much better. With such a good location, a really good chef will increase the business by ten folds!!

We were served by very polite Filipino hostess and server. And the smiling, happy Manager was always happy to help.

All in all, not bad for a place to eat and enjoy the sunset, with sand between your feet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the visit to LOON TAO.

Noted your comments. Thank you for the compliments.

As regards whole fish we take the weight before cleaning. This is the norm.

We are pleased to say 88 Chinese Restaurant Chef Ashin is also with us now.

Looking forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two sides - back side of dirty Loon Tao”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

One side is lovely ocean view, but management are lazy and allow staff to dump rubbish at th rear of the building. It is just disgusting, the pollution , smell and I imagine very disturbing for the hotels behind. Plus there are many local families living directly beside your rubbish tip!
Don't destroy beautiful Mt Lavinia!
Give a message to your workers to consider the environment.
The food and safety regulators should fine you, should you not change this situation.......

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the valuable comments. We too are liaising hard on this matter with the local authorities. We keep the rubbish in the bins and the rubbish cleaners take the bins away thus never return & deny not returning.These are expensive to buy a few times a month. We had a meeting with the authorities even last week in this regard. Moreover, we pay 1% turnover tax to the local authorities but garbage is not collected daily despite our endless efforts. On top of it, we also pay a monthly retainer to rubbish cleaners just to make sure they do their job yet we are at the receiving end. We have also sought permission to put up a garbage pit using concrete but the request was turned down by the authorities citing various other issues. Nevertheless, we are looking at all other options to sort this matter asap as we obviously care for the environment.

Warm regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great food on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

THis is the best thing about Mount Lavinia. A really good restaurant on a nice beach with fresh seafood and a good choice of Chinese foods. The staff were very helful and friendly. We had a great diinner - a bit expensive though - but quality. Its right on the beach and has a great atmosphere. So well done to the manager and staff - you deserve your award.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Loon Tao !

Thank you for the patronage and your comments. We value them so much.

We are passionate about everything we do. There is no other reward better than your comments . We work tirelessly to achieve this goal. Thank you once again.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LOON TAO also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to LOON TAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LOON TAO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.