We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LOON TAO

LOON TAO
43/12, College Avenue,, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
(011) 2 722 723
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Shanghai, Szechuan
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great food on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

THis is the best thing about Mount Lavinia. A really good restaurant on a nice beach with fresh seafood and a good choice of Chinese foods. The staff were very helful and friendly. We had a great diinner - a bit expensive though - but quality. Its right on the beach and has a great atmosphere. So well done to the manager and staff - you deserve your award.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Loon Tao !

Thank you for the patronage and your comments. We value them so much.

We are passionate about everything we do. There is no other reward better than your comments . We work tirelessly to achieve this goal. Thank you once again.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    79
    19
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a nice beach side restaurant with friendly staff and a wide selection of authentic Chinese food and drinks. But, one drink and a meal cost me more then a week long stay in a nice hostel, so be warned.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for visiting and reviewing us . We are pleased you had an enjoyable experience as we always strive for.

As regards pricing, to serve you unmatched "fresh food" we spent a lot on Catch of the day Seafood and non frozen meats sourced daily and every other day respectively. We also source fresh vegetables and fruits daily and are organic where possible. These add up to the costs. Yet, it makes it expensive if you order lobster , lagoon crabs etc. Others priced well within normal levels.

Thank you once again for your visit and looking forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

pushy waiter/captain. food portion is small, but the price is expensive. taste is also quite bland. fried noodle and their rice are dry too. there are other better choices around.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us.

We regret to note your comments.

We do not have a policy to be pushy. As such, we have since given further instructions to our staff in this regard. We always strive to give all our customers best value in terms of price and portion sizes consistently.

Cantonese dishes are meant to be bland unlike Schezuan or Shanghai cuisine which we also serve in the menu. Noted your comments re rice and noodles being dry, the reason for this is that we are very concerned and conscious about the oil / fat content in our food hence try to avoid these for healthy reasons.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of my all-time favourite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have visited Loon Tao many times over the past 5 years. I love their food and the simplicity of the restaurant (it's basically a really nice hut on the beach). Since it's right on the beach, it's most comfortable to visit this place in flip flops (heels are definitely not recommended!) and the setting is simply lovely. It's a nice place to go for a romantic meal for two, or with friends or family.

They have a great menu with lots of options to choose from (note: they don't serve pork) and so far the food's been great every time that we've visited. I will definitely recommend this place if you like Chinese food, and if you're a fan of the ocean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow !!! We couldn't be happier to note your comments. What a reward for our passionate Team.

Thank you for patronising us over the years. We really appreciate your loyalty.

Looking forward to serving you for many more years to come.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food but need attention on Ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to Loon Tao last night. I recommend the Prawns with Orange sauce which my son loves and went with 2 more families. The Food was good but the maintenance have to be looked into. The bath room need to be cleaned and maintained and it was smelling and due to that the feeling of dining out gets tarnished. The management need to look into this point as most of their guests are foreigners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and comments. We value them immensely .

We are currently at design stage to give a new look to Loon Tao as we just completed 5 years. Toilets etc will be redone. We apologised for the inconvenience caused the other day as the fragrant deodorizer had not been replaced. It had been due for replacement but due to an oversight this had not been attended to. It has since been rectified. Thank you for the valuable comment.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LOON TAO also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to LOON TAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LOON TAO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.