We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Villa on Vamizi...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vamizi Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quirimbas Archipelago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vamizi Island Lodge
Save
You added Vamizi Island Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Vamizi Private Island, Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Stone Town, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“My Villa on Vamizi...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Vamizi Island Lodge is one of the most spectacular places I have ever had the pleasure of traveling to, so much so that the day I arrived I was speechless. A 3 nights stay in paradise (Villa number 1), with my own private beach, warm-wooden sun deck, Africology-sented power showers, luxurious linens, sun, sea, sand & complete tranquility – I was truly in paradise. THE FOOD: I opted to enjoy my morning breakfast spread of nutritious goodness in the comfort of my secluded beach house with an ocean breeze – Highly recommended! The menu for each day was so creative (eg. Gin & Tonic sorbet for dessert one evening). THINGS TO DO: While at Vamizi I went scuba diving at the Vamizi dive center and discovered an untouched underwater world, which I would recommend a dive or at least a snorkel to have a peek at the thriving coral & fish life below. My day trip to the light house at the very tip of the island was divine! Endless spreads of pristine beach and a fresh lobster for lunch. Vamizi Island was a dream….

Room Tip: Villa No. 1 has its own private beach and nothing but sand and ocean to the right....fabulous for lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We took a week off recently to go to Vamizi for some relaxed, tropical time and it was heaven. Pictures of the place speak for themselves in terms of beauty and disconnect from our hectic lives, yet with service readily available with tremendous standards. The staff on the island were a delight, really genuine locals and very interested (and interesting) managers and specialist members of staff. The place is kept tidy and in excellent condition throughout the day (both rooms/villas and common areas.) The food was excellent; I was really surprised by the standards (something are hard to get right in the tropics.) I would totally recommend this place to anyone wanting a escape from their hectic lives and yet with the comforts of modern life (service-wise... internet is only available in one common area but then again, what's the point?!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Having traveled to many great beaches, including the Caribbean and the South Pacific, nothing is like Vamizi Island.

From touch down on the island airstrip to takeoff six days later our family had a great stay. It felt like every associate on the island was working 24 hours a day to ensure we had a great visit.

Facilities: The bar and dining areas are spectacular. Each night for dinner the tables were moved from the dining pavilion and onto the sand for a shoes off, toes in the sand, star lit meal. The villas are incredibly spacious, perfectly designed and very well appointed with enormous outdoor living rooms and bathrooms.

Beaches and water: Like no others we have visited. The sand is fabulous with some of the sand like pure white talc. The waters around the island are teaming with amazing coral and fish.

Food and drink: Everything is including at Vamizi and they spare no expense. An abundance of great food served with every meal. All to order, no buffets. A solid selections of wine with each meal. Heading off to one of the remote beaches for a day of fun, be ready for the Vamizi staff to prepare a white table cloth “picnic” at a table in the sand. Wander up to the bar before dinner and you are greeted with the freshest sushi (caught by guests) and well made drinks.

Activities: Great fishing, snorkeling diving, sea kayaking and sailing.

Service: The Vamizi staff works very hard to make sure all needs are met. When we had a problem with our villa, from the manager on down, the staff worked hard to resolve the issue.

Our teenage boys loved every minute of their stay. Enoyed meeting the very high-profile LA based movie stars we met. We shall return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

There is simply no other word to describe Vamizi but heaven! We spent 8 nights here at the start of our honeymoon and everything about it was perfect. Right from the time you arrive you are made to feel like part of the Vamizi family and every effort is made to make your Vamizi experience a special one.

The lodge itself is orientated on an east-west stretch of beach so you are bathed in glorious sunshine all day long. The beautiful sandy beaches stretch for as far as your eyes can see and the shimmering, turquoise waters are georgeous.

There are 16 stilted huts that are as spacious as a small house that blend beautifully into the surrounds. The decor in the rooms is fit for a king but be warned, if you need (or want) to stay connected to civilisation (TV & internet) then forget it. Personally I loved this aspect of our stay - when we were in our room it felt like it was just my wife and I stranded on a beautiful, desserted island. So peaceful and relaxing.

At meal times you make your way to a central lodge that includes a separate bar area and dining area. This is where you come to realise that you are not alone and have to share this slice of paradise. There's plenty of staff on hand and they are all so friendly and willing to help in any way possible.

As for the food it was amazing! Not much else to say in that regard...

And there's plenty of activities on the island too but the top three to highlight are the snorkelling, picnic lunches and massages. Wow!

My guess is the only thing you'll be disappointed about is having to leave, especially if you only stay for a few nights.

Thank you to Russell, Rob & Meg for making our honeymoon a trip we will truly never forget! We travelled a long way from Australia to experience Vamizi but it was worth it.

See you again one day hopefully...
Jack

Room Tip: Room 1 and Room 16 are the most private rooms and are usually reserved for honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Vamizi Island was a highlight of our honeymoon. It is an absolutely stunning luxury lodge on a beautiful coral island off the northern coast of Mozambique, accessible only by small plane. What makes Vamizi so special is that you are all alone, the island has one area of local inhabitants about 45 minutes away over a bumpy road, and then 70% of the island is reserved for a significant conservation project spearheaded by the lodge and the WWF. As a result, the lodge is the only tourist location and itself only has a few large villas strung out (spaciously) along a beautiful white sand beach. Therefore, you have whole kilometres of beach, clear turquoise sea and coral reef to explore all to yourself, often without seeing anyone else for hours. Every single minute of your day can be completely tailored to your wishes, from breakfast in your villa to candlelit suppers on the beach just for you. The snorkelling is incredible, as the coral reef lies just off the island and is unbleached and teeming with colourful fish. Although we don't dive, and the lodge doesn't market itself as a diving centre, it is said to have one of the top 10 dive sites in the world and from first hand descriptions it sounds incredible. Sunset dhow trips (private) and trips to see the local villages the other side of the island are a must. There are three picnic sites on the island, which you can be driven to and spend lunch and the afternoon at, and you will be the only people there for miles around. When you arrive a table is laid out with exquisite food (lobster and fresh seafood, and rare beef cuts are typical of the standard) and wine as well as beach beds and towels, and you have your own private paradise. Each of the three sites is stunning in its own right. The villas are very large and comfortable, and given the resorts eco credentials and remote location it is very luxurious. All of the staff are friendly and the senior team of Russell, Rob and Meg are simply outstanding. It was my wife's birthday whilst we were out there and they took care of everything and devised a very special plan for the whole day including champagne, cakes, private meals, massages and a beach BBQ just for the two of us by our villa. I cannot recommend Vamizi highly enough if you want a stunning and luxurious beach holiday without any other tourists nearby.

Room Tip: Villa 1 is round a small curve in the beach and totally secluded and without views of any other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The island as other people have already said demands that you relax. If you want to be active the diving is clearly world class and the fishing is brilliant. The staff go out of their way to tend to your every need without being intrusive. It should be remembered that this is 'bare foot luxury' so if you want TV and air conditionig this is not the place for you. If you go, do ask to have a lunchtime picnic at The Lighthouse, you will love it. The food is excellent with a strong emphasis on seafood.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 if you want privacy and don't mins a walk or go for 3 it has a great view and mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

After quite a long trip with many jumps with little planes coming from Ngorongoro we arrived at the island in the early evening. It takes about 45 minutes from the landing strip to the lodge in a somewhat battered Land Rover through forest and the occasional monkey. When you arrive the first thing that hit me is the relaxed, unwinding atmosphere. You sit at a very pleasant reception/bar area feet away from the beach with the magnificent sea just a few meters away. Once the ''do's and don'ts'' are explained you walk on the beach to your room. These are extremely comfortable on stilts with an open sitting room and a roomy bedroom and great bathroom (with shower). Once we settled in we made our way with torches on the beach back to the reception area for drinks and to plan the next day. A very relaxed, friendly atmosphere with the various lodge monitors (diving, fishing, snorkeling, picnicking,....) talking with the guests to plan activities. Very pleasantly surprised being served tuna sashimi freshly fished by a guest that afternoon!!! Then we moved to the restaurant were the maitre d' Adamo made us very welcome. Food is very good with very fresh fish and other succulent local dishes. Service overall is attentive and friendly. Special celebrations are truly special...my birthday with dinner under the stars!!.
Activities are also fantastic. Diving is superb with some of the most pristine coral reefs I have seen anywhere.
It was a pity to leave after 4 days. Hopefully the island will not get too spoiled with the villa building project.

Room Tip: Go for the ones nearer the reception area unless you really want to be on your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vamizi Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vamizi Island Lodge

Address: Vamizi Private Island, Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Quirimbas Archipelago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vamizi Island Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A slender coral island just off Mozambique's remote northern coast, Vamizi Island is part of the Quirimbas Archipelago, sometimes called the new Maldives. Immersed as it is in the Indian Ocean, Vamizi is easier to reach than you might think, considering how castaway it is - and with miles of deserted coastline and a tropical ocean to cross, it's all part of the adventure. Of all Vamizi's attractions, its beaches are undeniably one of its greatest, especially as the Lodge and Private Villas are strung loosely along them. At times the sea can be so mirror calm that the silence of a beachcombing walk is not even punctuated by the sound of waves. Stay on Vamizi Private Island and choose your accommodation either in the Lodge or one of our Private Villas: The Lodge: Crusoe invented castaway chic, but Vamizi Island Lodge defines it, with ten impossibly romantic timber villas (known locally as kitalas) strung loosely along one of the world's most beautiful beaches. Simply grand or grandly simple, this lodge is about the more rarefied pleasures of exclusive island life. The Villas: Vamizi's collection of luxury villas has been designed by award-winning South African architects, renowned for their commitment to creative design, sustainable development and responsible tourism, creating a unique style of architecture that draws on the multi-cultural influences of Mozambique. Each villa is uniquely designed in its own elegant style with en-suite bedrooms, spectacular drawing and dining rooms, and peaceful lounging spaces around private pools or the beach. The private chef and personal hospitality team will ensure all needs are met, from tailor-made menus to organising fishing and diving, spa treatments or dhow sailing trips ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vamizi Island Hotel Quirimbas Archipelago
Vamizi Island Lodge Mozambique/Quirimbas Archipelago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vamizi Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.