We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Quirimbas Archipelago, Cabo Delgado Province 0000, Mozambique (Formerly Medjumbe Private Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

A real treat and an excellent location! Thanks to the management, Yanni and his staff who at all times provided excellent service. The food is to die for!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    9
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
79
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We spent 10 days on the amazing Medjumbe with Yanni and his staff. 10 star luxury from morning to night, excellent accommodation, great food (and caipirinhas!), picture perfect sunsets and everything else you need in a vacation spot!

I really hope I get the chance to go back - soon!

Thanks to Yanni and his amazing staff for making this a fantastic holiday with amazing memories!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

If you really want to unplug from the world and relax, this gorgeous private beach is just the place to be.

If you looking for a romantic private place to go on honeymoon, this is just the place for that romantic moments.

From the moment we stepped of the aircraft we began with the most wonderful experience in our life.

The staff received us with a warm welcome and took our belongings to the cottage and made sure everything is in order


The Cottage is very spacious, comfortable and clean with lots of candles, has its own Jacuzzi and even a shower outside for that special moments. You really have to try this, it stunning.


The Staff were brilliant always smiling, friendly and pleasant and nothing is too much trouble.


Don’t even talk about food; every meal was fabulous and so much to choose from. Dinner by candle light next to the ocean or even next to the swimming pool.


I will recommend this paradise to each and everyone because I had the most wonderful experience in my life and will remember it always

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Sometimes you read other reviews and you know you can't beat them... only reinforce them. Every positive, complimentary thing that has been said about Medjumbe is true - just double it. OK, we don't want to build up false hopes, but this is not a cheap place to go so it's reassuring to know that it really does live up to what is said.

The things we liked - whole lobsters presented as "bar snacks", the ever cheerful, ever calm nature of the barman who always knew what we wanted, the best ever food ever, that the rooms weren't too posh and made us feel at home. A perfect white beach, the herons that walked onto our deck. You get the picture.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Treated like royalty from when we arrived and left 5 days later, food & service the best i've ever experienced. Great for that great escape with only your suntan lotion & the sound of the waves. All in all a great experience. Thanks Yanni & your highly competent staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from the most amazing Island resort. We went to Medjumbe to attend the wedding of friends of ours. I was a bit apprehensive about spending 7 days on a remote Island, I thought it would become boring after a few days. Well what a surprise we were in for, from the moment we landed on this unbelievably beautiful Island we never once felt bored.
As we disembarked on Medjumbe we were met by the GM Yanni and given a warm welcome. As we arrived at the lodge the barman and one of the receptionist received us with a welcoming cocktail and a ice cold refreshing towel. During check -inn, in the lounge area the GM explained everything that we could do on the Island as well as what to be on the lookout for. Imagine a tropical paradise with no mosquito's or snakes, well here is the place.
After check -inn we were escorted to our rooms by the management staff and all the amenities was explained to us. In the rooms waiting for us was a beautifully decorated fresh fruit platter and a bottle of wine with a welcome letter from the GM.
The staff on Medjumbe is just wonderful , they are all very attentive, friendly and helpful without being overbearing. No request was to much trouble for them. ( I have heard many a time that Mozambicans are untrainable well they should come to Medjumbe to see what can be done)
The GM is just the most wonderful person, any requests from the guests was always accommodated, despite having a hotel bursting at the seams with guest from all across the globe for the wedding, all with their own individual likes and dislikes. His attention to detail is incredible and he is at all times aware of what happens on the Island. He was always around to ensure that his guests was treated like royalty. My husband and I travel extensively and we stay in the best hotels all over the world and I must say I have yet to find another General Manager, like Yanni. If I ever have a hotel he will be the first person I will steal.
The bride commented that she had no stress at all with any of the arrangements, as everything was taken over by the GM and was organised to perfection. All she had to do was turn up for the ceremony.

About the food I can write volumes, it was simply the best I have ever had. I am astonished at how they do it with Medjumbe being such a remote Island. The pastry chefs, baked the most amazing chocolate wedding cake, it was almost to beautiful to eat. Their pastries are to die for and needless to say everybody suffered from expanded waistlines after the week.
Everyday at 5pm they would arrange a cocktail for all the guests on the sand-spit where we were served champagne and canapes while lounging on oriental rugs and colourful cushions, with a huge bonfire going. One afternoon they did a most impressive barbecue for the guests on the beach.
Steven the Activities Manager was wonderful with the children taking them on dives and snorkeling trips and ensuring that they had a good time as well.
All in all I must say this was one of the best vacations and definitely the best wedding I have ever attended. We definitely plan to come back to this paradise.
If the staff ever reads this, I would just like to say thank you once again for the most amazing time and keep up the good work.
Congratulations Rani, with Medjumbe you have created the benchmark for all Island resorts.
.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Just when I really needed to get away from it all... i found this beautiful island off the coast of Mozambique.

The rooms are spectacular - each with its own jaccuzzi and sea view.

The seafood is spectacular - I have never before had anything quite like it.

The service is great, the staff are friendly and the barman is one of the best in the world.

The island is tiny and it is not that easy to get to. But that is part of the charm - it is not overrun by tourists. I needed to get away - to collect my thoughts, to read, sleep and eat.

Would I return? Absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa

Address: Quirimbas Archipelago, Cabo Delgado Province 0000, Mozambique (Formerly Medjumbe Private Island)
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quirimbas Archipelago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa is a small and remote 5 star and multi award winning Island resort. It is a 50 min flight from the nearest town Pemba. The island is 1km long and 300m wide at the widest point. It has no mobile phone reception due to its remoteness. It has some of the best diving in the world with pristine corals and a wide selection of fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa Mozambique/Quirimbas Archipelago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.