We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamestown Motel

Jamestown Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jamestown Motel to your Saves list
Jamestown Motel
1018 4th Avenue Southwest, Jamestown, ND 58401-5211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Jamestown
Greenwood
1 review
“Nice for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I travel frequently and found this motel as good if not better than any Motel 6 or Super 8. I like the comfort without the extra price. The manager was friendly and helpful and I found the room to be very clean and comfortable. There was wifi and a nice continental breakfast and I was on my way.

Room Tip: Go see a room- good stay for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
2
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Slept in the bed for two hours at which point I noticed that I was covered in bedbugs. Extremely gross conditions. Now I have tons of bites and an expensive bedbug infestation. Owner did not care when I informed him of the problem

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth P, Owner at Jamestown Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Immediately upon realization that the room had a concern for bed bugs it was closed for renovation and professional pest control was summonsed. All room furnishings were removed and sanitized and mattress and box springs destroyed. The room was totally treated, cleaned, painted, and renovated.

Pest control confirmed no further problems and the room is rented regularly without complaint.

Please contact Kash, the General Manager for questions or concerns at (701) 252-0471.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I am not sure who is writing the rave reviews for this property, but they are big fat liars! Some friends and I had reserved two rooms during an annual city festival. We were quoted one price over the phone and guaranteed it with a credit card. Upon check in, we were charged $100 more, and the motel refused to refund the money.
Being that all the hotels in the city, at that time were booked, we were going to try to make the best of it. We had one smoking room and one non-smoking room. The smoking room was disgusting. You practically choked on stale cigarette air when you opened the door. The bed linens had holes in them as well as looked as if they had not been changed after the last occupant. The bathroom even had a large urine stain on the toilet seat.
The non-smoking room was not any better. The linens also looked as if they had not been changed and there were hairs on the sheets.
We discussed the issues with the girl working at the front desk, who then got the owner. He was uncooperative and refused to refund us our money when we told him not only about the overcharge, but also about the rooms.
Thankfully, the Holiday Inn Express opened up a couple of vacancies and we were able to get a reservation there. We ended up having to dispute the charges for the Jamestown Motel with the credit card company and the whole thing put a damper on our experience. I would NEVER recommend this motel unless you are looking for a disgusting, overpriced motel room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, spend the extra money on a better hotel/motel chain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth P, Owner at Jamestown Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Sometimes there is confusion between what the guests reserve and their actual needs upon arrival. This may have been the case in this situation, where they required multiple rooms with multiple beds.

Upon arrival the guests agreed to the price and signed the registration card. After using the rooms and amenities for an extended period of time they argued for a refund, which was denied due to extreme room usage. Generally, such a request is received shortly after the guests check in and refunds are often given; however, must be handled on a case by case basis.

We often preview rooms prior to guest check in to ensure their satisfaction prior to payment. Every year we receive excellent reviews from the North Dakota Health Department for superior cleanliness and maintenance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

We were traveling through Jamestown on business and decided to stay here based on trip advisor reviews and price. It was great! The room was the size of a studio apartment with a full kitchen and bar area so we were able to cook dinner and feel like we were at home. The decor was charmingly out of date, but the place was spotless and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

I have been coming to the Jamestown motel for two years now! Yes prices increase,just like everything else does!! The owner and employes are very friendly and the rooms are very clean!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife and I pulled in late night after driving for hours and were so pleased to find this little gem conveniently located as soon as we took the exit across from a Dairy Queen. We were quickly greeted by a gentlemen who was very friendly, given the time we pulled in, and we were given a great price for a quality room. We were initially surprised at the rooms cozy and clean appearance and it provided such a relief after hours of driving! We woke up refreshed and were treated to a complimentary breakfast available to all guests. Everything exceded our expectations, a reflection of the establishment. Jamestown Motel was definately an welcomed oasis during a long trip and we will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestown
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I would recommend this motel because it is clean..The towels are thick and of good quality! Every room has its own TV, microwave and fridge. The prices start at around 40 dollars and up depending how big your group is..there is access to Wi-fi internet. There is also a community room with coin operated Laundry machines, and u can get detergent at front desk. a full-size stove and refrigerator. Front desk staff are kind and courteous with 24 hr a day operation. Complimentary breakfast in the morning. Dairy Queen is right across the street. Each room has its own aura and feeling to it...this place is good..i enjoyed myself at this motel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamestown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamestown Motel

Address: 1018 4th Avenue Southwest, Jamestown, ND 58401-5211
Location: United States > North Dakota > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Jamestown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamestown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.