We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel; poor WiFi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4301 James Ray Drive, Grand Forks, ND 58203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save!
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Grand Forks
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel; poor WiFi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I was in Grand Forks for two weeks on business. The hotel itself was quite comfortable, welcoming fireplace in the lobby and superb front desk staff. It's location adjacent to a large railway marshaling yard makes travel to the south impractical. The train stops on the track while they readjust the rail cars blocking the highway for up to 15 minutes. After 7 am, the wireless router becomes so slow it is nearly unusable.

Restaurant food OK, not memorable. Nice bar for an evening drink

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    74
    26
    18
    18
See reviews for
74
74
20
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010 via mobile

Great hotel if you want a business hotel without any fuss.
Rooms are clean, with separate desk and free Internet access and remote printing.
Restaurant nothing special, but good enough ( some GF hotels in similar price bracket have no restaurant and just give you a handful of takeout menus).
staff are very professional and polite - good service all round.
The downside is major - train noise. It is intrusive and will keep light sleeprs awake. I am a heavy sleeper, but the trains sound their horns all times of day and night and woke me up too. A real shame, which could be improved by better glazing of the type used by aiport hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed here with my wife to have a weekend away, room rate was about $100/night.

Maybe I’m getting critical in my old age but I'm tired of Grand Forks hotels that let people show up to the breakfast bar in their PJs and kids running up and down the hallways dribbling pancake syrup on the carpet from the free breakfast!

This is a business style hotel that is away from the bustle of the shopping malls etc. but still close enough to be only 10 minutes drive away from the stores. The desk staff are business oriented, they don’t have sweatshirts on they are in suits. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are comfy, not the wrap themselves around you comfy but certainly comfortable. Bathroom was clean and serviceable.

I liked the breakfast in the lobby, $10 for omelettes, fruit, bacon, sausages, bagels etc. You get to sit at a real dining table surrounded by people that have showered and dressed! It's very genteel.

The comments on the train noise are probably valid as every time we left the hotel a train was passing, however, our room was away from the train tracks and quite. The Hilton will be our hotel of choice in Grand Forks from now on.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The hotel is clean and nice, with friendly staff...I will certainly give them credit for that. But, the hotel is located adjacent to the main rail line. For 3 nights in a row, every time the train crosses 42st along Demers in front the hotel, the train whistles blow and blow and blow. Doesn't matter, day or night. Thus, three disturbed sleeps with the train passing by multiple times throughout the night and day.

Will not stay here again, simply because the train whistles.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This is a really beautiful hotel away from the retail with alot of green space around it and fountains in the garden. Ask for a room away from the elevators and facing the opposite of I29 if you like quiet.

The food was good and no complaints except one HUGE one... when retucking the bottom (not so fitted) sheet I checked the mattress protector and.... there was none! The thin cotton sheet was directly above the zip-on wool mattress topper which, no matter what they say, there is NO WAY they take off after each guest and wash!! The front desk brought me extra sheets so I could triple sheet the mattress and a new clean duvet cover which did not smell fresh from the laundry. YES, I am fussy and particular... but this is not asking for something unusual! I was shocked and if ever to stay there again would certainly ask if they had changed this setup!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I love the Hilton Garden Inns in general, this location is no exception. it clean and has a few more extras than most, you can get a drink and a dinner at this location. The breakfast is not free but reasonable. The location is not fantastic for shopping, but it's a short car ride away.
The rooms are clean and very nice, we love it there. The rate is super competitive with other hotels in the area, and a real deal for a Hilton chain location. The internet is great and the pool outstanding. Plan a stay there it a good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Typical HGI, if not a little larger than most - located on the campus of UND. Thus still relatively new property is in excellent condition with terrific staff. This was my second stay here. My first trip I had more of a suite, which I assumed was the standard room. On this second stay, my room was a more typical HGI sized room (which is still good) - but I'd upgrade to the larger room next time. The onsite restaurant served a very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks

Address: 4301 James Ray Drive, Grand Forks, ND 58203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Forks
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Hilton Grand Forks
Grand Forks Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.