We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enthusiastic Young Staff, Spotlessly Clean, Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South 42nd Street, Grand Forks, ND 58201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Grand Forks
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic Young Staff, Spotlessly Clean, Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Did our annual weekend trip to Grand Forks for hockey and Christmas shopping. As usual, even using discount internet reservations, had to take a deep breath and remember that Grand Forks
is a bustling little town with big city hotel prices on weekends when Canadians travel for shopping and hockey getaways. (If you're not a hockey parent take advantage of the mid week coupons in the Winnipeg papers).
The Sleep Inn is on the outskirts of town, just a short jaunt from the Aleris Centre....we could see
I 29 from our bedroom windows.... and perhaps 5 minutes drive from Columbia Mall. I do not recall seeing it on previous trips, and it certainly looked as if it had been built in the past year or two. Both interior and interior are spartan....but everyone from the front desk clerk to the cleaning staff was super friendly and anxious to assist in any way that would make our visit a pleasant one.
Our bedroom was quite small with a queen size bed and one large chair, the bathroom spotless
and nicely appointed. The bed was comfortable and the room was extremely quiet.. no noise from the highway.
The usual breakfast with do-it-yourself waffles, coffee, oranges, etc. was included in the room price. The seating area is not very large, so get up early to get a table.
No frills here, and no pool for families with children. However, if all you need is a bed to occupy you can count on a warm welcome, and a comfortable place to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sleep Inn and Suites, we truly appreciate your business and we are happy you found us! We have been open for two years now. The room you stayed in, I believe, had one king bed as we do not have a room type that has a single queen bed. I invite you to try our suite type room that also has a pull out sofa, our suites are a bit larger than our standard rooms. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with others! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    59
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
69
55
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend. The front desk was friendly, the hotel was very clean, and it was quiet for being so busy. It was exactly what I had expected for the price. We would stay her again.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the main floor for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
AndyKong18,
We must have left a lasting impression on you if you stayed with us over the 4th of July weekend and you felt compelled to write a review in December! Thank you, so very much, for sharing your experience with us and other guest. Its great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Grand Forks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had a great time at this hotel I checked in and it had a nice appearance right from the start the breakfast room was pretty big and they had a good selecion ...my room was clean beds were comfy and staff was friendly I would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Jose,
Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate the feedback and we are grateful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay! We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Sleep Inn & Suites in April. At that time I gave it four stars. After the last stay, we gave it Five Stars.

Originally, we were very happy with the hotel. Reception, the entire hotel and the breakfats. We were not enthusiastic over our room.

Having said that, our next visit had a great room. Well lit bathroom, very large shower ( probably enough room to put a tub in) and spacious counter room. Good, clean room.

Price was an eye popping bargain: it was the lowest of the 10 hotels that we stayed at across 10 states. even the taxes we not onerous.

All other items on my April review still apply except a very quiet third floor room makes an additional star. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Trafdlo,

We understand that reviews take time to write and we appreciate that you have taken the time to do this for us twice! Thoughtful and detailed reviews help our future guests make informed decisions on where to stay when they visit Grand Forks, and reviews like yours help them choose the Sleep Inn! So thank you, again, for sharing your experience and giving us the 5th 'star'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked one night as a stop over for shopping on our way back to Winnipeg from Duluth. The hotel was clean and the desk clerk quite helpful. Our room was good with a very comfortable king bed. We headed out in the evening to meet friends for drinks and walking down the second floor hallway my wife picked up the smell of marijuana. Upon returning the smell was still there outside a 4 room section between the elevator and our room. She is highly alergic and after that had to hold her breath going past. The front desk clerk was unable to do anything about it being unable to pinpoint which room it was. He offered to move us to a different room but it would not have been the same room type. The smell did not carry into our room luckily.

Second issue was the hot tub. It had a smell to it once the jets were running and left both of us with minor rashes. The morning clerk said she would have it looked into and did reduce our room rate by $10. Breakfast was on parr with what we expected.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Kinguni,

On behalf of our management and staff, I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced while you stayed with us. As you know, we are 100% smoke free and do not tolerate smoking of ANY kind in our building. We were able to pinpoint the problem room the next day and promptly took care of this issue. Thank you for your understanding and patience with our staff as they tried their hardest to find the person responsible. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are grateful to hear that you will be back to give us the chance to make things right! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed at the Sleep Inn for my second time and thought this was a very nice place. Clean, and run very well. The manager Jan went out of her way to accommodate me she is an definite professional.

The breakfast is also very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Ottr60,

We think Jan is pretty amazing as well! Her dedication to the Sleep Inn and to the entire staff is appreciated and admired. Jan loves her job, which makes us love our jobs! This is why we all work so hard to keep our hotel clean and our guests comfortable and happy! Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed one night while on a shopping trip about a week ago. Everything was clean & modern. Beds & pillows were comfortable. We appreciate a room where you can open the windows to let in fresh air like this. We were in the standard king & it had one easy chair for watching TV as well as the desk chair. Front desk staff were really friendly & efficient. We had a good rate from the coupons in Winnipeg Free Press.We did not have the breakfast as find that is a rush to have before 9 am. That is the only thing I would change is that I think breakfast should be until at least 930.That goes for most hotels though. It appeared everyone was rushing in the last half hour to make it there.There was hot scrambled eggs & sausage patties & a waffle machine as well as all the other standard items available .Location is good whether shopping or attending a function at the Aleurus Center. Wi fi worked perfectly. I accidently left our toothbrushes out of our case & they provided complimentary toothbrushs. Thank goodness for that. Check out is 12 so my husband was able to relax for awhile while I did shopping before leaving for home. We will definitely stay here again as the hotel we used to stay at has really deteriorated in the last couple of years & belongs to the same loyalty chain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
0Grandma3,
Thank you for writing such an amazing review! It sounds like you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will appreciate that their hard work is noticed by our guests. We do have extended breakfast hours on Saturday and Sunday. Breakfast is available until 10:00 AM those days. Perhaps we can talk about extending the hours during the week as well, thank you for the advise! We hope to see you the next time you visit Grand Forks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 1350 South 42nd Street, Grand Forks, ND 58201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Sleep Inn & Suites® is conveniently located adjacent to Alerus Center – Grand Forks’ premiere entertainment facility and home of University of North Dakota football. This Grand Forks, ND hotel is also near Splasher’s South Seas and River Cities Speedway.Guests of the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel will enjoy using the indoor heated pool and hot tub, which can be accessed year-round. Comfortable interior corridors offer safe and easy room access. Guest laundry service is available, as well as plenty of bus, car and truck parking. Business travelers will appreciate the on-site Business Center, offering a computer with Internet and access to copy and fax services. Other amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free daily newspaper •Free coffee •Deluxe continental breakfast All spacious guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, desk, alarm clock, hair dryer, pillow-top mattress, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper.This is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.