We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South 42nd Street, Grand Forks, ND 58201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

4 of us ladies stayed here for 1 night on our way to Minneapolis from Canada after booking online. We got a very good price and was pleasantly surprised with how nice it was. It is new, the beds are great, bathroom was nice and the shower was great. The walls are thin, and you could hear coughing next door. No fan in the bathroom, and traffic noise is a bit loud. Breakfast was great with a great selection of food, but the is only one door going into the htl, so I can see getting a cold blast from people entering and leaving the hotel on cold days. We're Canadians, and got a warm reception. The gym and pool looked nice, but we didn't use it. Everyone I was with said they would stay again. The coffee maker was a single cup in the room however.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    61
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
57
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I booked through Hotwire and got a great rate! Close to Alerus Center and less than 5 minute drive to shopping/dining. Yummy warm cookies at check in and breakfast was decent. Pool area and pool was small but we didnt use it anyway. Took the kids next door and they went to the warerpark for $12 each. (Sleep Inn discount). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Service was friendly and helpful and overall, this hotel felt fresh and new. Room cleanliness was not immaculate...poorly vacuumed...but generally was satisfactory. For my fellow Canadian shoppers this hotel is a bit too much of a drive from Columbia Mall, but is literally right next to Alerus if that's what brought you into town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Would stay here again. Can walk to the Alerus center quick trip to shopping and dining. Gorgeous rooms, clean and very well kept. Can be noisy from the interstate but the price is very reasonable for the accommodations. Nice breakfast with several hot items and waffles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Sleep Inn in Grand Forks last weekend while visiting family in the area. We booked the room on Priceline hoping to save a few dollars and we did quite well. I recommend giving it a try as long as there are no major events in town. The hotel is newly built and very clean. I beleive it was rated 2 stars on Priceline, but because it was new it seemed like it deserves a higher star rating than that. It is adjacent to the Alerus Center and Canadinn which has lots of amentites as well. The room had clean room, clean public areas and very confortable beds. I liked that the room had a microwave and refrigerator as well. A continental breakfast was also included and had eggs, bacon and sausages as well as waffles, cereal, juices and coffee. It was a god variety eally, but nothing all that great tasting. It wa all passable anyway. Complimentary newspapers are available at the front desk daily too. The pool area was small, but very clean and also had a nice jacuzzi. All of the employees were polite and friendly as well. We would certainly consider staying here again, even if we paid full price since it was in a good location and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently returned from a 3 day stay at the Sleep Inn in GFK. Overall, this is a nice place, although I personally would not give it a 5 stars. Simply, because it is somewhat basic. The front lobby is pleasant, the hotel itself is on the smaller side. We really liked the smaller size, it was easy to pop to the pool, find our friends and so on. The rooms seemed average size to me, very nice beds and bedding. The pictures on the walls, the carpet, and the furnishings were contemporary and gave the hotel and our room a modern kind of upscale feeling. Great flat screen TV and a good little fridge. The most "spectacular" feature in the room was the shower stall, which was generous with amazing water pressure and an elaborate shower head. Some of the minor negatives include what I can only describe as cheap touches; tiny bottles of lame shampoo, no glass cups, no toiletries, and a thermostat locked on a temperature, and no plants or chaises around the pool. We were quite hot the first night, although the next day I thought to ask the desk to change the temp and this improved. I don't mean to sound fussy, but this room was not inexpensive, so some of these touches seemed a little low end. The pool was pleasant, the hot tub was hot, and we certainly had a great time on our holiday. I think partly I am always surprised by the cost of GFK hotels. Anyways, we did like this hotel and with a few touches in could be even better.

Room Tip: Walls are thin, stay on the second floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I booked a last minute getaway to Grand Forks for some fall shopping and stayed at the Sleep Inn. Here are some thoughts:

Check-in/First Impression:
The hotel is only a year old, and it looks and feels new. It is spotless. The decor and finishings are modern and comfortable. All of the staff we met were very friendly, and we were greeted with a newspaper and an efficient check-in.

The room:
The hotel is completely smoke-free. We were booked into a double queen room, which was a good size and included a small fridge and microwave. The beds are very comfortable here, with wonderful, down-filled pillows. The bathroom was also a very good size…Lots of room to move around. There is complimentary Wolfgang Puck coffee in the room as well.

Amenities:
Amenities include free wireless, a 24 hour fitness room, which consists of a few machines, and a small pool and hot tub area, which are available until midnight. FYI - Other hotels offer better pool areas for families…This is very basic, and there is no shower area before entering the pool. This was a downside for me, but not enough to prevent enjoying a nice soak after an afternoon of shopping!

Breakfast:
The breakfast was included in the price of the stay, and was by far the most outstanding complimentary breakfast I have had to date. The selection of hot and cold food was varied and the attendant kept everything in good supply.

Location:
The hotel is right beside the Alerus Centre, and a two-minute drive from 32nd, where all of the main shopping is. You will need a car to access other parts of Grand Forks. The hotel has ample free parking.

Accessibility
This hotel has been designed with consideration to the visually impaired (braille on all wall placards), hearing impaired and "mobility challenged" (roll-in showers in some rooms)

Hotwire had the name of the hotel concealed and it was listed as a 2.5 star. Consequently, we booked it for an outstanding rate. The hotel is basic in some ways, but leagues beyond a 2.5 star in others. I hope they upkeep this property, as the cleanliness, decor and breakfast made it, in my opinion, really stand out from most hotels in its category. We would definitely stay there again, also provided the rate remained affordable.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility, the hotel offers rooms with walk-in/roll-in showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 1350 South 42nd Street, Grand Forks, ND 58201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Sleep Inn & Suites® is conveniently located adjacent to Alerus Center – Grand Forks’ premiere entertainment facility and home of University of North Dakota football. This Grand Forks, ND hotel is also near Splasher’s South Seas and River Cities Speedway.Guests of the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel will enjoy using the indoor heated pool and hot tub, which can be accessed year-round. Comfortable interior corridors offer safe and easy room access. Guest laundry service is available, as well as plenty of bus, car and truck parking. Business travelers will appreciate the on-site Business Center, offering a computer with Internet and access to copy and fax services. Other amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free daily newspaper •Free coffee •Deluxe continental breakfast All spacious guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, desk, alarm clock, hair dryer, pillow-top mattress, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper.This is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.