We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value- good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Grand Forks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Grand Forks to your Saves list
Super 8 Grand Forks
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1122 N. 43rd St., Grand Forks, ND 58203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Value- good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Sayed at Super 8 for a couple of nights in July. You usually know what you are getting, and this was no exception. CLean rooms, good continental breakfast- nothing fancy. The building looks old from the front but rooms are good. A 5 minute drive to all of the shopping places. Not too much around the hotel, just a couple of other hotels, but the area seems pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperEightGF, Manager at Super 8 Grand Forks, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your response! We hope you'll come down from Manitoba and see us again soon. We pack as much as we possibly can into our breakfast space, and it seems the new Simply Super cinnamon rolls are highly addictive (in the best way possible, of course!) Thanks again and we'll see you soon.

All the very best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    62
    26
    15
See reviews for
55
49
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were looking for a cheap place to stay in Grand Forks and we knew we would be giving up a lot of amenities by staying at the Super 8. We were fine with that, but the air freshener odor in the hallways and the guest room was OVERWHELMING. It hits you as soon as you walk in the door and we never got used to it. In our room, there was a distinct mold/mildew odor coming from the air conditioner and again a sickening air freshener odor, which I'm guessing is sprayed to cover up the mold smell and any lingering smoke odors. We were supposed to stay here for another two nights on our return trip through Grand Forks but we ended up canceling and staying at the Guesthouse Inn (downtown Grand Forks) instead. Comparable price and a MUCH better facility, but it is a short drive off the interstate.

The room itself was fine, the bed/bedding/linen could certainly use an update (but it's the Super 8, so we kind of expected that), and the bathroom was actually quite nice. However, we just could not get over the odor and we couldn't stay there another night.

NOT recommended!

Room Tip: If you have any allergy issues, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperEightGF, Manager at Super 8 Grand Forks, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Sorry to hear that you happened to have an issue in regards to smell at our hotel. We do our best--being a hotel that has just a few smoking rooms--to strike that balance in taking care of any and all unpleasant odors. We hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town!

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REMER
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

my wife and i spend the weekend of 6-13-12 here while visiting with a band we followed from east central minnesota. the room was nice except for the strong odor of cigarette smoke. the gentleman at the front desk was on top of things and was very helpful. next time i'll get a room on the lower level. maybe the smoke smell won't be so bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperEightGF, Manager at Super 8 Grand Forks, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your response! I'm glad to hear that the front desk agent took good care of you. We strive to make customer service one of our strongest assets here at the Super 8. I'm sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with the smell of smoke, as we do our best to deodorize and minimize, if not negate, the smell of smoke by those in our few smoking rooms. We hope that you'll come back to see us, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I travelled to Grand Forks from Winnipeg for two days of shopping and dining. We were looking for basic accommodation, no pool or hot tub, just a comfy place to lay our heads. Last time we were in Grand Forks we had a good stay at the Econolodge next door to the Super 8 and had planned to stay there again until reading recent negative reviews. Based on what we read on TripAdvisor we chose the Super 8 and were not disappointed. We booked through Hotel.com and the cost for a two nights stay, mid-week, for a non-smoking room with two queen size beds was only $60 per night. It would have been around $53 per night with one bed. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The motel is close to most major attractions including several excellent restaurants. We feasted on ribs at the Speedway Restaurant just a short walk from the motel. The room was quiet with the exception of the air conditioner which we left on most of the night because of the hot weather. The motel is also pet friendly which is great for people with pets but not so great for people like us who suffer from allergies. Even though the room had been thoroughly cleaned the allergens tend to linger and we both experienced some mild symptoms. It would be great if the motel would designate certain rooms, or even a whole floor, as a pet free zone. The morning breakfast was acceptable but the coffee urn was empty and no one seemed to be in a hurry to fill it. Fortunately, there are coffee makers in all the rooms so caffeine addicts can "top up" when they get back to the room. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay and a great price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperEightGF, General Manager at Super 8 Grand Forks, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. A Guest's smile is what makes our jobs truly worthwhile and I'll be sure to let the staff know of a job well done. We do have pet specific rooms assigned, and if you do have allergies, we recommend asking for a room that has not had pets. Additionally, I'll be sure to personally address your issues with the morning coffee pot. We do our best to keep up with the morning demand of coffee and I'll make sure they are pay closer attention to the levels. Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to address these issues. We look very forward to your next visit with us.

Summer smiles,
Rylie Stovall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice clean room hotel that was pet friendly! The gentlemen at teh desk when we checked in was very helpfull and steered me towards Dekes pizza which was some of the best pizza I've every had at a reasonable price. Room, halls, lobby was very clean. ONly drawback was the breakfast being cleared up at 9:40 when the in room info said available to 10:00. Close to many restaurants and highway 2 on "hotel" row.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperEightGF, General Manager at Super 8 Grand Forks, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. We take great pride in our jobs, and a Guest's smile is what makes our jobs worthwhile. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Super Start Breakfast is from 6am-9am as posted in the lobby, but we often leave our breakfast out until 10am on the weekends. We offer many Grab-n-Go items such as cinnamon rolls, or yogurt cups to take with you if you come down past breakfast hours, simply ask the front desk. We definitely look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Grand Forks!

Warm regards,
Rylie Stovall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Grand Forks Super 8 a number of times, and usually stay there when I am in Grand Forks area. The staff are great! They have a smile a conversation for you on check in and out, and they are always helpful. I spend 120 nights a year on the road at hotels from budget to the top end variety and I always enjoy coming back to the Super 8. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The internet works very well! You won't be able to beat the value! I highly recommend the property and will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperEightGF, General Manager at Super 8 Grand Forks, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words! A Guest's smile is what makes our job worthwhile and I'll be sure to let our staff know of another job well done. Are you apart of our 11th Night Free Program? If you do make repeat trips to the area, let our desk staff know so they can get you started on a punch card if you are not! We look forward to being of service to you in the future!

Warm regards,
Rylie Stovall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

When you pull up to this hotel it is unsure what you are going to get. The rooms are really nice, and really clean, really nice furnishings, flat screen tv, fridge, nice bathroom. We were impressed for a budget hotel. But WHOA! the smoking rooms (which I think all hotels should be non-smoking) are right next to the non-smoking rooms and the smell was so overpowering you can hardly walk down the hallways without choking. The Front desk clerk was very nice and did try to spray, open windows, and asked a smoker to close their door (it was cracked open making the hallway smell). It did not smell it in our room though (our room had a strong room spray smell to it). I would have switched hotels but our room is clean and very nice and the rate is great. Overall I think this hotel is great if you stay in your room.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the smokers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperEightGF, General Manager at Super 8 Grand Forks, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback! We definitely understand how important it is as a non-smoker to enjoy a smoke-free stay. Our local professional steam cleaners have provided us with a few non-invasive solutions for our smoking rooms and hallways so that smell is not an issue. We are glad you enjoyed your stay besides that! We take pride in our award winning cleanliness and customer service. We look forward to showing you our hallway improvement on your next visit! :)

Summer smiles,
Rylie Stovall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grand Forks

Address: 1122 N. 43rd St., Grand Forks, ND 58203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grand Forks 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, EasyToBook, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Forks Super 8 Hotel Grand Forks
Super Eight Grand Forks
Grand Forks Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Grand Forks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.