We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over price rip off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grafton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grafton to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grafton
1015 12th Street West, Grafton, ND 58237   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grafton
DeBary, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Over price rip off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Too expensive and obviously charging the highest rate possible for a place way out in the middle of E. BFE (look it up in urban dictionary,) where the nearest option in Grand Forks is 43 miles away. I prefer Hilton properties. At Hampton Inns which are about the same level as Americinn I have regularly rented two room suites $40-$60 less per night all around the country, and recently stayed at HILTON GARDEN INN and DOUBLETREE BY HILTON for less than $90 per night and less than $105 per night, respectively, in the last too months. Your rates are greed at its best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
6
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A great choice whether biz or family travel to Grafton. Staff is very helpful. This place has a big pool/hot tub area, cozy [& remodeled] rooms and a great "get going" breakfast. Convenient and reasonably priced (never had a charge over $100). I like upstairs away from the parking lot -- there seems to be many working guests leaving very early -- so don't forget to put up your "Do not disturb" sign on the door. I keep coming back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Let's face it, lodging choices in Grafton are pretty limited. For many years it was just assumed that if my family and I were visiting Grafton we'd be staying with AmericInn. It was a nice, clean place to stay and prices were on par with similar motels across the region. I'm not sure what happened, but this place seems to have come to the realization that they have you over a barrel and are taking gouging to a new level! Not only are the rates exorbitant ($144.00+ for a two-bed room) but the quality of customer service has taken a huge plummet compared to even a couple years ago. The addition of a bar next to the pool area seems to indicate that the management are looking to attract a new sort of client; they are no longer family-friendly in my estimation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

For $85/night in an area with few accommodations, we were grateful to find this hotel. Looking back, we would certainly stay again.

PROS:
Accommodating staff, friendly, great value, comfortable, clean, nice lobby, convenient location, fridge, bar in lobby, good coffee.

CONS:
Mgr could not renew room reservation for an impromptu, additional night until 11a but she ended up fulfilling request 60m early. Room was a little tight for 3 woman.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our 1st rest stop on our way to Alaska. Made reservations here in late Feb. or March. After driving 4 days we arrived. Front desk service and she went out of her way to help. Room location was perfect as I can't walk very far. Room is very nice, clean, updated, Flat screen TV with great cable. Haven't left our room since we got here but will venture out later today.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This location has been newly remodeled and you can definitely tell they did it with pride. There was not an area that smelled of smoke and our room was fresh smelling. The breakfast was the normal with the waffle, cereal, yogurts, bagels, toast, coffee, juices, hard boiled eggs, and also scrambled eggs and sausage. The new addition of the bar area was nice to have within the building. They have added a small menu with pizza, burger, chicken strips, nachos and fries that can be delivered to your room around the clock. Wi-Fi kicked in with my smartphone and they have a computer in the Lobby area for adults if needed. The lobby area was cozy for visiting instead of in the room. The staff was very friendly and courteous. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel in Grafton to anyone needing a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Not many places to stay up here and this is the second time in a year that I have been here. Since my last visit, they have added a bar/resturant, where that breakfast area usually is. Wow what a nice surprise. The FIRST for me in all the AmericInns that I stay at that has a place to meet new ppl and grab a bit to eat without leaving the hotel ! Even tho it is limited to beer and wine dont worry, great prices! Even the menu was great for me! I just wanted a quick bite without leaving or haveing to order in and I had a buger and fries that was very good and just filling enough. I hope more AmericInns take on this philosophy of keeping there guests in the hotel and talking to other travelers. "thats what makes traveling fun".... even for buisness, LOL

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grafton

Address: 1015 12th Street West, Grafton, ND 58237
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grafton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels and Expedia so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Grafton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.