We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Town Feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garrison Motel

Garrison Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Garrison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garrison Motel
Save
You added Garrison Motel to your Saves list
Hwy. 37, P.O. Box 999, Garrison, ND 58540   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garrison
Stanley, Nd
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small Town Feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I am a single female and have been working in the construction industry within the oil field counties of North Dakota. Everything is dog eat dog with businesses owners preying on the basic needs of out of area workers, opportunist out to price gouge everyone. Not in Garrison, not at this motel. Family owned/operated and friendly staff. The motel has in room refrigerators, community microwaves in common area but no issues with that and two gas grills for guests to use. An older motel but kept clean and price is reasonable considering it's not far from the oil industry towns where rooms are over $100 a night. The owners parents/inlaws own the local laundry mat, which when you open a door, goes to a climate controlled garage storing great classic cars. While doing laundry, they had the door open and you were able to walk in and talk with whoever was there, kind of Mayberry style. Loved the motel, town and people.

Room Tip: A lot of great access points to state parks full of natural beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently stayed in Cabin #3 during the Governor's Cup Fishing Tournament. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and very cute inside! The owners of the motel (The Jefferies) are the nicest people ever. Make your reservations in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, Mn
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here as we were not aware there was another place to stay in town (brand new North Shore Inn and Suites). The room was clean, but needs TLC. The room still smells "funky" and the straight back chair had half the cover torn with the old foam showing. The "comfy" chair has a HUGE stain on it - probably from a wet swimsuit? There was a fridge, but it was older than the one I used in college (and I graduated in 1994) in my dorm. Not a terrible place to stay, but now there is a new game in town and they won't be able to compete if they don't get on the ball.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

The motel itself is OK, but the service is horrendous. The owners of this facility do not know what they are doing. They have one person making reservations and the other giving them away, double booking, and saying "first come first serve". It does not matter if you make a reservation, just show up before the other guy, you can have their room! Worst business practice ever!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garrison Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrison Motel

Address: Hwy. 37, P.O. Box 999, Garrison, ND 58540
Location: United States > North Dakota > Garrison
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garrison
Number of rooms: 56

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrison Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.