We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Knife & Cleaver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Knife & Cleaver to your Saves list
The Knife & Cleaver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Grove, Houghton Conquest, Bedford MK45 3LA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cannock Staffordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were made welcome as soon as we arrived. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and welcoming. Loved it so much have booked again to go back in July. Brilliant base for visiting Bedford. Great walks near by for walking our dog. Loved Ampthill Common only 3 miles away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks so much for taking time and writing your review, so pleased that all 3 of you enjoyed yourselves.
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    40
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
58
128
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MILTON KEYNES
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband arranged a surprise birthday stay at the Knife & Cleaver on 13th March, also booking for 4 friends to join us for an evening meal. This was made a very special stay not only by the great food in a nice setting but by the warm and friendly attitude of ALL the staff, from cleaners through to owners. Find it hard to believe some of the negative reviews. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks so much for letting me know great to hear from you, i will pass on all your comments.
Thanks
Again
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were a party of 4 people here for a Saturday evening meal. We all ordered different choices, but all the meat was grey when it arrived and therefore did not look 'pan-seared'. Lamb chops were poor, venison tasted Ok but looked like a lump of raw meat had landed on my plate and was expensive at £24 for 2 small slices, fillet of pork was OK only, and duck was grey,tough and gristly (did not taste like Gressingham as listed). Vegetables were minimal and all food was cool when delivered. Staff were called but did not return to sort out the complaint.

When we arrived at the till to pay, we asked politely to speak to the manage/owner?
He was abusive, shouting at us and across the restaurant 'My food is fine, don't come back here.'

We are all mature people and have eaten out all over the world and this is the first time any of us has felt compelled to write a negative review.

We most certainly will not return!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
If this scenario had have ever happened I think I would have known about it. How come I don't???
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here last weekend and had a wonderful time from start to finish. Great selection of beer, wine, food, the accommodation was spotless and very comfortable. What really makes the difference is the warm welcome throughout your stay, Graham, Terry & all the team really can not do enough for you. Well worth the 320 mile round trip, will definately be going back in 2015.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
How wonderfull of you to come and how great that you enjoyed your selves.
Thanks so much and I will be passing on all your comments to our team.
Thanks & see you soon.
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

were my birthday and my partner booked it , we had seen it on 4 in a bed,it were a long drive from Suffolk.we got a nice room ,no complaints,staff were very good,owners were not mixing just takeing money at till,food were good ,prices high,sat dowm 7.oclock had a final meat 10.15 had to wait ages for food to come,next table sat down same time ,they were going mad did not get there starters till 9.oclock and there were 8 of them,there main meal did not come till we were going, same with another table going mad having to wait,.but drink waiter were at tablesasking if you want more drinks,nice place but will not go again

Room Tip: take plenty of money with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
How kind and thoughtfull of you to write such a report, thanks for taking such valuable time from your life.
So happy you enjoyed your visit with us and what a great experience we all had with you on such busy & week end.
Can't wait untill you come again. You must let me know when.
Thanks.
Graham & Terry and all the hard working team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have been coming here every Sunday for the past few weeks. Food is stunning I would recommend the Sunday roast beef or any of the burgers!!!!( they melt in your mouth) service is very friendly and owners are always chatty, makes you feel welcome! The bar is so stunning, we love the layout it makes u feel so relaxed and comfortable.. Worth every penny (why would you want to cook on a Sunday anyways) :) Kelly x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks, for the wonderfull review, So pleased you had a great time.
your comments have been passed on to all the team.
Thanks again
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here after a day at Woburn Safari park. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and warm. Beds comfortable and imaginatively named after different ales. A good nights sleep

The food was ok: there was a specific veggie menu but lots of meat substitutes (veggie sausages, quorn etc) which was a little disappointing. I had two starters which were the perfect size, but the ravioli came on a side salad with salad dressing rather than the bed of leaves as expected, and not enough sauce. They were however very open to feedback and passed it on to the chef who said he would change it, so I couldn't really ask for more. Lovely breakfast too!

Great location, great ales and nice staff

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for wrighting your reveiw, all feed back is constructive and everyones taste is different but we are happy to listen.
Thanks again
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Knife & Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knife & Cleaver

Address: The Grove, Houghton Conquest, Bedford MK45 3LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Houghton Conquest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton Conquest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knife & Cleaver 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly re built Knife & Cleaver is situated in the pretty village of Houghton Conquest just 5 miles from the centre of Bedford and only 1 hour by rail from London.Overlooking the magnificent grade 1 listed All Saints church and beautiful countryside. The Knife & Cleaver is a ramblers paradise, with a great selection of walks ranging from two & a half miles, three miles, four and four and a half miles. We offer 9 beautiful double or twin rooms, each en-suite & offering T.V. Tea & Coffee making facilities, hairdryer, room service open 7 days a week from 7 am until midnight.The mainline Rail station to Brighton thru London for Flitwick runs 7 days a week and there are trains almost every 20 minutes.We have disabled access & Cots available. Our four fine chefs are very proud to offer you a varied menu only using all fresh locally sourced ingredients. Special dietary requirements are offered. We are here to serve you and look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Knife & Cleaver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knife And Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver Hotel Bedford
Knife Cleaver Bedford
Knife Cleaver Hotel Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Knife & Cleaver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.