We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Knife & Cleaver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Knife & Cleaver to your Saves list
The Knife & Cleaver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Grove, Houghton Conquest, Bedford MK45 3LA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of February as we needed to 'get away' from our busy lives and stresses and it was also my birthday. We had seen the chaps on tv and thought it all looked lovely. We were not dissapointed. We arrived around 4pm, unpacked and headed to the lovely cosy bar. We sat in a quiet booth overlooking the beautiful church and enjoyed a couple of relaxing drinks - my husband is a lover of 'real' ale so was happy to try them all !! We then headed back to our nice spacious room (no.9) which had everything we needed & relaxed for an hour or 2 before dinner. We had booked a table earlier in the day and were seated in the bar area near the open fire - lovely & cosy. There was a little bit of a wait for the food but it was well worth it as it was delicious. After dinner we moved into the main bar area had a few more drinks and chatted to 'Crumbs' (the parrot).! We slept really well, the bed was extremely comfy. We did hear the church bells on a couple of occasions but it wasn't enough to disturb our sleep. Breakfast next morning was one of the best we've ever experienced and kept us going all day. The only downside we experienced during our visit was a slight problem with the shower as the pressure was a bit hit & miss in the morning - you just have be patient ! However this would not put us off returning - in fact we can't wait & look forward to coming again later in the year, hopefully when the weather is warmer and we can take advantage of the patio area which looked very inviting. Well done Terry and Graham, you're doing a great job.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hey you are great thanks, So happy that you enjoyed yourselves. Your right its a great place to relax & chill out.
Thanks for the wonderful comments & taking time to write the report.
I just wish that the weather had been a bit warmer for you.
Please come again
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    40
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
58
128
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a lovely bed and breakfast! We had such a lovely stay and would deffinately go back! Rooms were emaculatly clean, very stylish decor. You can tell alot of thaught went into these rooms. Breakfast... Couldnt go wrong. Wonderfully cooked and just the right portion size. The owners were very attentive and exeedingly friendly. Good luck for future. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time and giving us feedback, your lives are very busy and it is very important to us to receive feedback, and when guests like you stay it make our jobs worth while.
thanks
again
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had the bonus of a Groupon voucher to enjoy our three course lunch with wine , but will definitely come back and happily pay full price . good choice , lovely and hot meals , and the decor modern but not in your face . Also this nice place to just come for a drink in the bar area .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
How kind you are to say, our chefs send their thanks & are very happy when they received thanks and recognition.
There are too many establishments serving per made/per prepared food chef are getting to be a thing of the past.
We thank you again and trust that you will be returning soon.
Thanks
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A beautifully renovated country pub, in a quaint setting opposite the village church with stylish seating outside for Summer dining. A lovely atmosphere and helpful staff. The food was nicely presented ans portion sizes were reasonable.There were a coulpe of vegetarian choices on the lunch time menu but there were non on the evening menu or the evening specials, however the waiter advised us that there are usually at least two choices.
The lunch time menu was very reasonabley priced but the evening menu prices rose quite considerabley.
Well worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments and so pleased that you wrote your review. as you saw our lunchtime menu is designed more for the light, travel, lunchtime meal where as the fined dining menu in the evening is more for the diner with time to spare and enjoy the atmosphere & ambiance,
Every thing we serve is made on the premises and hence the staff costs for real chefs is far higher than in meals were bought in pre prepared.
There is always the option to select a meal dish from the alternative menu with is normally served in the front bar around the cosy fire and of course there is the children's menu for the little ones.
Thanks again

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

After a very friendly telephone reception it was all downhill. Not sure where to start. Food... Gritty scallops, overbooked sea bass, undercooked potatoes and mediocre icecream that turned out to cost £6. The bed was nice and comfy but the room was chilly and the bathroom icy. Showering was difficult as it was a bath with a hand-held shower. Arrived for breakfast at 9:05 to be told I was too late - service finished at 9 & I should have read the small print. No refund offered although I was offered a cup of tea. After the shock of the £6 icecream on the bill I couldn't leave fast enough. At half the price I'd have been more than satisfied but £130 for a mediocre meal and a cold room with no breakfast leaves me feeling very ripped off.
Not one to go back to

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I don't know who you are if you had mad your self known to me then I would be the wiser and surely of the allegations were true and they are definitely not you would have asked to see one of the owners or a duty manager as any normal sensible human being would have done.
Regarding the food comments we check. check & double check all our customers and if there is a problem we deal with it straight away, certainly not in a back handed childish manner like seems to be the case here.
If you would like to justify your comments to me please contact me, I live on site.. never leave the site, always available to be contacted.
Why do I and all of our staff know nothing of what you are alleging?? Seems a bit strange??
Graham & Terry who can be contacted at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just left from our two night stay at the knife and cleaver. What a lovely time we had. We needed a relaxing weekend and this was the perfect place. We wanted to do a long walk during our stay and were delighted that on the bar when we arrived, there were three leaflets on local walks! We were shown to our room, number 7, which was spotless! And cosy. Exellent bed and shower!....food was exellent and we could see why you were best to book a table! Fabulous american combo and a fabulous full english. Compliments to the chef - we enjoyed the happy whistling from the kitchen! Thankyou for a lovely service. Ps, its lovely to hear the little dogs and the bells chime!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
How nice of you to say thank you so much we enjoyed having you stay.
Both Terry & I thank you and so do all the team.
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a two night weekend away staying in the B&B and eat at lunchtime and had an evening meal. I was made to feel like a second class citizen - because we were using a Groupon voucher. I have stayed at many hotels 4-5 star all over the world and was made to feel like a scrounger at an average B&B - they really do not understand customer service.

I asked for another cup of coffee at breakfast and I quote " you will have to pay more as you are on a Groupon deal and we have to make our money somehow". I didn't know that breakfast rationed you to one cup only! We also had to pay an extra £5 to upgrade to a full english breakfast. If you wanted more coffee or tea in your room you also had to pay extra. All this should be made very clear before you book the Groupon deal - as infact it is not a deal at all and defeats the entire object of a deal!! Also heard another guest ask for a poached egg, to be told that they don't do poached eggs on Saturday because the kitchen is too busy - there were only 4 people at breakfast and we had already eaten! Continent breakfast was poor, and the full english not all that special. Lunch was nice and fishcakes were lovely, pork tenderloins were average.

Church bells rang every hour both days from 4am - 7am and the dogs yapped alot - so we were woken at 4am on both days and didn't get the rest and relaxation we wanted. Left early because we wanted to get home to get some peace and quiet!!

Would I stay again a most definite - never.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Some people think that they are special, some people live on another planet, some people .........
have a nice life
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Knife & Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knife & Cleaver

Address: The Grove, Houghton Conquest, Bedford MK45 3LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Houghton Conquest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton Conquest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knife & Cleaver 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly re built Knife & Cleaver is situated in the pretty village of Houghton Conquest just 5 miles from the centre of Bedford and only 1 hour by rail from London.Overlooking the magnificent grade 1 listed All Saints church and beautiful countryside. The Knife & Cleaver is a ramblers paradise, with a great selection of walks ranging from two & a half miles, three miles, four and four and a half miles. We offer 9 beautiful double or twin rooms, each en-suite & offering T.V. Tea & Coffee making facilities, hairdryer, room service open 7 days a week from 7 am until midnight.The mainline Rail station to Brighton thru London for Flitwick runs 7 days a week and there are trains almost every 20 minutes.We have disabled access & Cots available. Our four fine chefs are very proud to offer you a varied menu only using all fresh locally sourced ingredients. Special dietary requirements are offered. We are here to serve you and look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Knife & Cleaver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knife And Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver Hotel Bedford
Knife Cleaver Bedford
Knife Cleaver Hotel Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Knife & Cleaver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.