We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn
3333 13th Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58103-3404   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Fargo
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

As a couple with 2 dogs we were at the Doublewood in Fargo Oct. 14-16,2011. Since we booked so late we got a room that was handicap friendly which is fine but the shower was a 2 out of 10 for usability as the faucet was continually sticking. The lighting was horrible over the sink so to avoid looking like a clown I brought the sidetable lamp to put over the sink to put on my makeup. Also, one of my dogs retrieved a dirty dusty sock from under the bed! The deciding factor about not going back is the dingyness of the common areas and the fact that there were 2 weddings and one with a live band occurring on Saturday evening. We FINALLY fell asleep just after 2 a.m. When we brought it up with the front desk there was no apology, no effort to compensate there was NOTHING. For $260 for 2 nights I will shop around and not go back to the Doublewood location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We take our customer satisfaction very serious. We are all about taking care of our customers and make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    40
    35
    23
See reviews for
75
36
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at the Doublewood on Oct. 7,2011 7 and Oct 8 2011, which is always the place that we stay in Fargo,ND. We go there several times a year to see relatives & friends. It's located close to shopping and Interstate Highways, customer service is always wonderful and always with smiles. The spacious rooms are affordable yet they have every convenience for us right there at the Hotel. The food is so yummy in their restaurant. Try the popovers with honey butter! Jan& Tom Z.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for stay ing with us. You are so right the popovers are yummy. Come back and see the new changes to the menu and enjoy one of Chef's signatures dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

Hotel was large and spread out. The room was not exceptionally big but were clean with decent television and Internet access. The restaurant served good food.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. Our staff looks forward to seeing you again. We are constantly upgrading our hotel. New wall paper in the sleeping rooms. 32" flat screen tv's. Our Chef is always keeping our menus fresh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

May I recommend the Doublewood Inn if you are traveling to the Fargo-Moorehead area. It is conveniently located to all major attractions -- right off Interstate 29. I stayed two nights. I really enjoyed dinner in the dining room and highly recommend the seafood bisque-- its excellent. Nice bar on location with fantastic patio. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Doublewood was a great value all the way around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to taking care of you on your next visit. We pride ourselves on our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The room was so smelly, bugs in the room, there was rotten food in the fridge. I told the staff the morning at check out and they could of cared less about the condition of the room. Very dated, the room must have been a smoking room at one time because the ceiling was so yellowed and very dirty. Will never ever stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed here in May of 2011 for a weekday business trip. I had previously stayed at this property 16 years ago for other business, but it had been that long since I had been back. Not a lot has changed at this hotel. It looks like they had done some remodeling inside the hotel, but the rooms looked practically the same. It is your typical Best Western with conference facilities and a restaurant on site. The front desk was attentive to our needs. The hotel has a pool and the front desk will give you a guest pass to the fitness facility which is around the loop in the back of the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located next to Hooters, which shut down the bar at 11:00pm on us. The hotel also has its own bar which we found to be nice but expensive. The hotel is across the interstate from the West Acres mall, so any shopping you want to do would have to be done by car. There are also restaurants within walking distance of the hotel like Arby’s and the Green Mill. I would revisit this location again, but would consider a hotel closer to the Mall if pricing were not a factor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I hate to write a bad report on this Fargo hotel, as it's my hometown and I want to support them, but I feel I must write this review. I just returned from a weekend stay at the Doublewood Inn in Fargo, ND. The room was quite musty and unfortunately, right by an external door to the east parking lot (Room # 176), so I could hear everyone coming and going. This room is also right across from their banquet rooms, so if there's a wedding dance going on, you might as well attend the dance as the music is nearly as loud in the room as it would be in the dance. I finally had to go to my car to get earplugs as I could not sleep between the wedding dance and the external door. I did ask at the front desk if they had another room but I was told that the hotel was "fully booked."

The room was also in some disrepair and it was not clean. The door knob (handle) came off the door when I first arrived so I had to go to the front desk to report this. A maintenance man came and rigged the door so I could get in, but told me that he didn't have a wrench to fix the door. It never did get fixed. The phone didn't work and the room was not as clean as I would expect.

When I checked out today, the front desk staff didn't even ask, "How was your stay?" They didn't even greet me when I approached the desk. All they wondered is if I needed a receipt and that was it. I did tell them again of the issues and they said, "We're sorry..." They certainly didn't try to "make it right."

If you have a family and want to take the kids swimming and don't care a whole lot about a great hotel, this place would work. If you want a decent experience, go elsewhere. I will not be returning!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn

Address: 3333 13th Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58103-3404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Fargo Doublewood Situated 5 miles from downtown. A total of 14,700 square feet of flexible meeting space is all conveniently located on one level and is able to accommodate groups of five to 1,200. The hotel is a few minutes away from both North Dakota State University and Moorhead State University, making it ideal for guests visiting students. Located just minutes from West Acres Mall as well. Families with children will especially enjoy spending the day at the Children's Museum or visiting Yunker Farm or Bonanzaville. Browse through the Archies West Gallery and Heritage Hjemkomst and then spend the evening at the Fargo Symphony. Other nearby attractions include the Plains Art Museum and Trollwood Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fargo Doublewood Hotel Fargo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fargo Doublewood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.