We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Inn Fargo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Inn Fargo to your Saves list
Grand Inn Fargo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3402 14th Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have seen many reviews that really degrade to the place to nothing. However, they have upgraded the amenities. Now they have the flat screen TV newly installed there. Many features in the room have been renovated. The recent staying there has brought many surprises about their new changes. Plus, the customer service is as friendly as usual. The price is a bargain for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInnFargo, Manager at Grand Inn Fargo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you Tracy. We have been working hard to redecorate the rooms and we appreciate the kind words.


Lori - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    8
    8
    29
See reviews for
13
14
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rothschild, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room had a dirty, stale odor, and the bedding was stained. The decor is outdated and dingy. There are no hairdryers in the rooms, so be sure to bring your own. The breakfast items were poorly stocked.

Room Tip: Don't forget your hairdryer as the rooms do not have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInnFargo, Manager at Grand Inn Fargo, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We will be 100% smoke free as of December 6th. We are painting the rooms, cleaning the carpets, dry cleaning the drapes and replacing the furniture and box springs and mattresses in the smoking rooms. We will no longer have the stale smoke smell in the halls or rooms. We have hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, shampoo and other hygiene items at the front desk. We do not put these items in the rooms because we are trying to keep the cost of the rooms down so we can pass the savings onto you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place does not like to honour aaa or caa membership discounts. Check your bill as they like to get away with giving a discount. As well,when you book a room far in advance ,when you show up they say that their is nothing available so your forced to take whatever they give you !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInnFargo, Manager at Grand Inn Fargo, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We give discounts all the time. As a matter of fact, 95% of our guests have discounts. The only way you wouldn't get a discount is if you book the room in advance and prepay online through a website such as Expedia, Hotels.com etc. We do not have any control over the price once the room is paid for online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This is the perfect place to stay for the value if you're stopping in for a weekend. The front desk staff Lori is awesome. One of the major reasons I keep going back to the place. Always accommodating if need towels etc. room size is average for two people, fridge and micro too. Thank you!! Also close to all shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Terrible. Upon walking in the hotel the smell of cigarettes greet you and our non smoking room had a light smell of it. The bathroom sink was outside of the bathroom, the room is terribly designed. bed sheets were disgusting and had stains. If you really do need to stay here, do what I did and invest in some Lysol spray for the room. Spend a little more money on something decent. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInnFargo, Manager at Grand Inn Fargo, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
This is Lori, the manager. We are a smoking motel and sometimes the smell is stronger in some areas than in others. I'm sorry you didn't like the design of the rooms. If you had an issue with your sheets or the smell, you should have called the front desk and given us the opportunity to make your stay more pleasant. We try to make all of your guests as comfortable as possible and if we have made an error or missed something, we try to correct things right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

When travelling through Fargo on a limited budget, we chose this hotel because it was cheap. We soon realised, however, that this hotel was not even worth it's low price. Upon entering this hotel, things immediately looked unpromising as were we greeted with an informal "SUP!" from the person behind the front desk. We then went to our room where the rooms were outdated and very poorly lit. Then, to our shock, we discovered what appeared to be bed bugs on our bed. To the hotel's credit, they offered us a new room right away which was significantly bigger. The breakfast was free, but there was limited selection and we ended up going elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInnFargo, Manager at Grand Inn Fargo, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
This is Lori and I am the manager. I am sorry you had a bad experience. I had the exterminator here the same day and what he found was not bed bugs but they were what he called German Crickets. He said it was the second call he had gotten that day from a hotel that had the crickets. We have had one case of bed bugs a year ago and we took care of it right away, the same day. We have not had any outbreaks since then. Unfortunately Fargo has a variety of bugs and insects that are confused with bed bugs.

We have replaced almost all of the rooms with brand new serta box springs and mattresses, new carpets and comforters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We read the previous reviews stating there were bed bugs before going on holidays. It was too late to cancel our reservations so we thought we'd go and hope for the best. BAD MISTAKE! We checked in at 1:00 a.m. after arriving at the airport. The first thing we did was check the bed before we brought any of our luggage in and thank goodness!! There were bug feces on the box spring and a bed bug crawling at the bases and sides of the mattress. Needless to say we checked out and found a nice little place to stay in Grand Forks after driving an hour in the fog at 1 a.m.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Inn Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Inn Fargo

Address: 3402 14th Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58103
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Inn Fargo 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Location Close to The Interstate, Shopping Center, Quiet Two Story Building, Continental Breakfast, 24 hour Coffee In The Lobby. 24 Hour Front Desk. Wireless Highspeed Internet. Childern Under 18 Stay Free With Their Parents. Guest Loundry In The Building. Smoking And Non Smoking Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Inn Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Inn Fargo Hotel Fargo
Grand Hotel Fargo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Inn Fargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.