We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Fargo

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Fargo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Candlewood Suites Fargo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1831 NDSU Research Park Dr N, 19th Ave & 18th St, Fargo, ND 58102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 45 hotels in Fargo
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location - Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Initial impression was very good. Exterior and interior common areas were very clean and well maintained. The main floor lobby area has a grocery/breakfast area for their guests. The store part has a wide variety of items and beverages one can purchase and pay for at the desk or add to your room tab. Items were priced well, not the usual large hotel/motel markups. The free continental breakfast was adequate but a little lighter on the options then some other hotel brands.

Room was very clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable with great linens and pillows. There was a large flat screen tv with Direct TV and a leather recliner to relax in. The room also had a desk area and a small kitchenette area that we did not use. The room also has free WIFI with a strong signal and plenty of speed. The bathroom was well equipped and very clean. Overall the hotel accommodations and cleanliness were both very good.

The hotel is within a block or two of the Fargo Dome, NDSU, Airport and few great national chain restaurants.

Will be back on our next trip to Fargo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
7
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel staff went beyond what could be expected in being helpful with the reservations of the group and the service to the guests in my group. Staying was enjoyable and affordable. The assistance and attention was absolutely excellent. A friendly place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

What an fantastic place to stay! Check in was super smooth and both of the front desk staff that I had to speak with were very friendly and helpful. Once we got to our room we were so pleased. It was very clean and had more amenities than expected. We will definitely be staying here on our future trips to Fargo.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Checked in tonight after 9 hours in the car. Young man behind the counter did not even say "thank you for staying with us" let alone "thank you for being a priority club platinum member". I added the latter not to impress but to point out that I stay over 30 nights annually in IHG properties (or used to) and I have seen a dramatic drop in quality customer service. Between my experience 3 weeks ago at a Holiday Inn Express in McCall, and now today, maybe it's time to reconsider my 30 year loyalty to IHG as they seemed to not appreciate it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fargo, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Michael E,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The location is across from the airport and on the NDSU campus - or at least it seemed. But, you didn't get road/airport noise. Fargo is so easy to get around that we didn't have any trouble finding places to eat or shop. The closet was huge. The bathroom was a little small but has lots of storage. We had the queen bed and one side was close to the wall which made it difficult to get out. They had a waffle maker in the breakfast area as well as muffins/toast/cereal, etc...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you want to be next to NDSU this is a wonderful choice. The campus is right there. Nice hotel with large clean rooms. We stayed in a 1BR suite which has a separate LR area plus a kitchen that you could cook in if you wanted. They do have a small breakfast area for guests with basic cereal, toast, muffins and juices. Plan to take your food back to your room though. This was our second visit and both have been positive.

Room Tip: If you can try to get a room not on the side facing the street as there is a slight street noise but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay at the Candlewood. We arrived on Wednesday late afternoon and they had a complimentary wine and beer, plus soup and a meat, cheese and cracker tray. The staff is very friendly. We were visiting NDSU with our son and this place is in the ideal location for that. Close to the airport and the college. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was adequate. We would definitely stay here again, if visiting SDSU

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fargo

Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fargo Hotel Fargo
Candlewood Suites Fargo Hotel
Candlewood Fargo
Fargo Candlewood
Fargo Candlewood Suites
Address: 1831 NDSU Research Park Dr N, 19th Ave & 18th St, Fargo, ND 58102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Fargo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Fargo @ NDSUDesigned for the business traveler, each of our spacious suites include a fully equipped kitchen, workspace with two phone lines, high speed wired and wireless internet , over stuffed recliner and Direct TV/DVD. You'll also enjoy our many free amenities, including free DVD lending library, free fitness center, free laundry facility, free business center, free shuttle van , the Candlewood Cupboard, Gazebo Grill and patio and our free Wednesday social with entree and drinks. Whether you re with us one night or one hundred nights our friendly and accommodating staff strives to make you feel at home while you're away from yours!Located on the NDSU campus, we are conveniently nearby the following businesses and attractions:Hector International AirportNDSU Research and Technology ParkFargodomeSkills and Technology CenterPhoenix InternationalIngersoll Rand BobcatMeritCare HospitalVA HospitalNorth Dakota Air GuardZee MedicalFargo Air MuseumFargo Jet CenterNorthern Crops InstituteNorth Dakota State UniversityDMI IndustriesDMS Health GroupMicrosoftAlien TechnologiesAppareo SystemsIntelligent InsitesInnovis HealthNorth Dakota Horse ParkNoridian ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Fargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.