We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience all the way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte's

Monte's
220 Broadway, Fargo, ND 58102
701-526-0149
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Monte's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 272 Restaurants in Fargo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2nd Ave.
Litchfield, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience all the way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Monte's is a wonderful restaurant. From location to decor to service, and especially for the menu, I highly recommend this place. I was there for lunch last time, and even a "hamburger" is nothing like what you would get at another place. The food is excellent and interesting. Be sure to try their desserts also.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
“Best of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had the opportunity to enjoy an evening meal at monte's which included a couple of phenomenal appetizers. The spicy red curry meatballs (my new favorite appetizer) and shrimp skewers that we're different than anything I'd ever had and I would highly recommend. The entree I was able to enjoy was also to die for! The service was exceptional and had a very friendly staff. I will definitely be back soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Option!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had an opportunity to have some out of town business guests over to Monte's for lunch. All of our party had a great lunch, with each of us having a different choice. I had the walleye - it was fantastic - even though I normally do not prefer fish. Highly recommended for a slightly upscale lunch (our entrees averaged about $11-12 each), but still very affordable (you'll spend almost as mush at Erbert's). Food was high quality too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, Rhode Island
1 review
“Soup to dessert - all fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Having lunch at Monte's on a trip to Fargo was a good choice. Rich, creamy crab bisque (I'm a soup lover) followed by the Asian Salmon - not under or overcooked - was more a dinner than a lunch. A draught beer from an interesting variety, hit the spot. My companion ordered the Po' Boy, and being from Alabama, he said it rivaled any deep South version.

Lunch was so satisfying we returned for dinner the next evening so I could have salmon again! This time the soup trio as appetizer. Nice offering - being able to sample three different soups - the one with andouille another deep South touch.

Since there were several of us that evening we were able to taste three of the desserts (I'm a sweet lover as well as soup lover). Martini Mousse - decadently good. Ice cream, handmade in the restaurant - three generous scoops. And their signature Dan's cake - a dense confection.
By the way, portions at this restaurant are not skimpy.

Service was good - a seasoned waitstaff who don't refer to diners as "you guys", and who don't ask "are you still working on that?" - two of my dining-out peeves. All in all a pleasing experience in an attractive and comfortable setting. Looking forward to Monte's on my next trip to Fargo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I went for their Valentines Day dinner. it was great! They were very accommodating when I made last minute reservation and worked us in. We have been to Monte's in the past and have always had a great experience. Will definitely be back and recommend to all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte's also viewed

 

Been to Monte's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.