We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, better atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quaker Steak & Lube - CLOSED

Quaker Steak & Lube
1776 45th Street South, Fargo, ND
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
“Good food, better atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Food was good...nothing over the top. The atmosphere was the coolest. Motorcycles hanging from the ceiling, cool camaro parked in restaurant, excellent waitstaff!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    10
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Ickie!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We landed in this restaurant for supper on Sunday night (August 31) - looked up the menu on line and were suitably impressed with what was offered - looked like a great restaurant. Fantastic decor!! We were seated in the garage on plastic chairs - ehm, should have been an indicator I guess. Reviewed the menu, which was also impressive, and proceeded to sit back and look around and wait for our meals to arrive. We were seated with a bird's eye view into the kitchen area - WOW was that an eye opener!! All of the kitchen staff were sloppy, overweight and did not show any regard for the food they were preparing. The guy who appeared to be doing the cooking was wiping his hands on his shirt and pants (no apron); he had facial hair that was not covered (none of the kitchen staff had hair nets, etc.); he scooped something onto a spoon and it wasn't coming off when he tried to put it on a plate so he used his finger to push it off; he was microwaving (!) a package of peas (I think) and yanked that out of the microwave, threw the contents on a plate and threw the bag onto the floor - weird!; he used his bare hands to grab a serving of fries to put on a plate and then wiped his hand on his clothes; he was continually putting food into his own mouth . . . and on and on - ick!! The contamination from the plastic bag in the microwave, to his bare hands touching food, to wiping stuff on his clothes, touching the door numerous times and putting food in his mouth - all add up to a big huge "ICKIE". Not once did I see the guy wash and dry his hands and he actually came over four times and tried to close the door but each time the breeze that was coming through reopened it. By the time our food came it was more than I could do to put it in my mouth. The actual food was really common place and nothing that I couldn't have taken out of a bag from my freezer at home. One of the waitresses came into the kitchen and pulled a prepared plate of food off the line, looked at it, looked at it again, touched it twice with her finger to see if it was hot and eventually decided that she would serve it - really appeared like she did not know what was on the plate or how long it had even been sitting there. The concept, decor and atmosphere of this restaurant were fantastic - but after that it was all downhill. This restaurant won't be open much longer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOfficialQSL, Franchisor at Quaker Steak & Lube, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
ThanQ for the review of our business. We greatly appreciate all feedback from our guests. Our guests’ opinions are very important to us and we would love to hear more. Please email us at teamqsl@thelube.com. We hope to hear from you and see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good boneless wings!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We were staying at a nearby hotel and walked over to eat. We sat at our table quite a long time before a waitress came over. We had been seated in the bar area; however, this waitress was working in another area. She apologized and took our order anyway. The service after that was wonderful. I ordered the bar-b-que boneless wings. These were very good and came with carrots and ranch. My daughter ordered mac-n-cheese and said it was very good. My son had the chicken kids meal which he said was good, also. My husband ordered a chicken sandwich, but the wing sauce was a little hot for him. The Twizzlers at the end were a nice surprise. All in all, it was a fun restaurant once we got served.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We were there to have breakfast at 9am and the place was already full. We were in the waiting list but it didn't take that long for them to take our order. Based from her nameplate, it was the owner who served us. She's a customer champion! We had biscuits and gravy. It was tasty. We'll definitely visit next time we come to Fargo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOfficialQSL, Franchisor at Quaker Steak & Lube, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
ThanQ for sharing your review! We are always happy to hear from our guests. We are glad you received excellent Team Member service and enjoyed your meal. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for appetizers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stopped in for drinks and appetizers mid-afternoon while in Fargo. It was a unique atmosphere with the cars and cycles hanging from the ceiling and the "quaker state" theme---lots to look at and great conversation starters! Service was good---nice variety of drinks and appetizers. We would definitely return!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quaker Steak & Lube also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quaker Steak & Lube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.