We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best oriental buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super Buffet

Super Buffet
1000 45th St SW, Fargo, ND 58103
(701) 365-8899
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 272 Restaurants in Fargo
Cuisines: Dim Sum
Restaurant details
Moorhead, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“best oriental buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The food is fresh and there is a large variety. You can have a dish made to order at the Mongolian grill or feast on the variety of dishes on the hot buffet. There is also a salad and sushi
and dessert bar. If I had one negative is that coffee or tea is not included.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good food, wide selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Most everyone I have met working there are very nice and helpful. The older white guy is great, (host I believe) into his work. The owner and his wife are into this place deeply and wants to make everyone want to come back. The older of the children work there and are very respectful good workers. The younger ones not so much, but I am sure mom and dad will fix that. It has great food and very enjoyable place to eat. The selection is over the top, and the place is great for family and kids. I have been there with my grandchildren and wife all had a good time. I will cont. to go back often. hope you have fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, nd
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average Chinese buffet, Good Mongolian BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have loved Chinese food ever since I was a little kidlin, way back when my family would explore the numerous Chinese restaurants in the Detroit area's northwestern suburbs. As a general rule, the quality of food you'll receive at a "sit down, real Chinese restaurant" easily beats what you can get at a Chinese buffet. Chinese buffets tend to be very formulaic and predictable. They almost always fall into one of three categories with very few falling into the fourth category:

Poor (few offerings and/or done poorly)
Average without Mongolian BBQ (mediocre food, nothing special)
Average with Mongolian BBQ (mediocre food but good Mongolian BBQ)
Good (good food, some of the offerings are not formulaic)

The Super Buffet on 45th St. S just north of 13th Ave. S. (behind the Hornbachers and across 45th street from Walmart/Sams Club land) falls into the Average with good Mongolian BBQ category.

The buffet food is standard Chinese buffet food with the sushi roll offerings being average or slightly below average, not that you can expect much in the sushi roll area from a Chinese buffet. The buffet entrees are similar to what you'll find at almost every Chinese buffet--average mediocre. The desert offerings are also nothing special (par for the course).

Where this place shines is the Mongolian BBQ, which they seem to take pretty seriously. A large variety of vegetables are offered for it (along with the standard meats, of course) and they have a bunch of sauces to choose from. The food quality for the Mongolian BBQ is, of course, excellent. As with any Mongolian BBQ, your food will be steaming hot and fresh. As you can tell, the Mongolian BBQ is the main attraction for me at this buffet and at other Chinese buffets that offer it.

The one area I'm not real thrilled with is the overall price. If memory serves, it's higher on Thursday (slightly), Friday, and Saturday. (Not sure about Sunday). Also, they don't offer a "drink buffet" and you have to pay extra for drinks. (Chinese buffets need to turn a profit, somehow.)

I can't say that I've been to every Chinese buffet in the F-M area, but based on the ones I've been to, this is probably the best one to go to for Mongolian BBQ. The others that I recommend are "China Buffet" near the Cash Wise and across from the Target in Moorhead (average mediocre food, but with fountain drink buffet and reasonably priced, no Mongolian BBQ) and Snap Dragon in Moorhead near the Safari second-run movie theater (no Mongolian BBQ, but it just barely falls into the "good" category and is much less formulaic).

I'm not real impressed with the King House in downtown Fargo (only been there once) which falls into the "Average without Mongolian BBQ" category nor the Grand Buffet (on 32nd Ave. S.) which does have a Mongolian BBQ (not a great choice of veggies for it) and a "poor" level Chinese buffet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The ser vice was terrible, not helpful and the food tastes like soap or old grease and very dried out dishes. For a super buffet they did not have many choices. Oh, before I forget for anything else like sauces they charge extra. Place was not very clean and had a smell. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Buffet - worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We went to the Super Buffet on a Saturday evening. Like many other Asian Buffets, the Super Buffet offers a variety of Asian dishes, Sushi, and a Mongolian grill. One thing that stood out about the Saturday dinner at the Super Buffet was a emphasis on fish and seafood dishes, including jumbo breaded butterfly shrimp, several other varieties of shrimp, quite a few fish selections, stuffed lobster, and crab legs. Buffet also had steaks and roast duck though both were disappointing. Steak was overdone and the duck just was not good. Not sure what went wrong with the duck, but these two (duck and steak) were the exceptions to what was other wise a lot of good food. The Sushi selection and quality was very good. Mongolian Grill was excellent. Like the buffet line the Mongolian Grill has more seafood options that you usually see, including calamari rings, crab, and shrimp. The grill chef knew his stuff and had very helpful suggestions. The soups were great as were the desserts. The atmosphere was fun with an antique chandelier and booths. We enjoyed the a fun Chinese dinner.

The Super Buffet is definitely worth a trip if you are in Fargo. Additional tip - the Super Buffet has a page of coupons in the restaurant section of the current Fargo yellow pages.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.