We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites

Save Saved
You added MainStay Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 44th Street SW, Fargo, ND 58103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Fargo
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Mainstay was a good place to stay for a long weekend. We were put in an accessible unit which If you can help it, I would not recommend. The bathroom is pretty bad ... the whole bathroom floor gets soaked and theres an actual drain in the floor. The vanity is just a sink with no counter so there's nowhere to put toiletries. Had some trouble sleeping as I believe we were right below a mechanical room or something, very loud. Beds were very comfortable though. The people we went with had a regular room and it was perfect. Pool was great. Food was fine. Staff was really nice. I'd return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are so thrilled that you have taken the time to write your comments. I will pass this onto the front desk staff. We will make sure next time you will not be put in the handicap room. Looking forward seeing you on your next visit to Fargo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
34
14
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel September 25th on our way home from a 10 day vacation. Holiday Inn Express quoted us $159.99 for a single queen room. Ridiculous. Our friends we were travelling with told us about Mainstay so we decided to see how much they would charge. $89 plus taxes (senior rate). We grabbed 2 rooms needless to say. Very clean & comfortable! King size suite. Appetizers and a drink downstairs between 5-7. This is the only place I will stay in Fargo from here on in. (only one thing - fresh coat of paint and new chairs around the table would make it perfect!!) I am a choice privilege member so that makes it even better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are going to be updating our hotel fall 2013. It will include a new front desk area, and all our rooms are going to be remodeled as well Yes and new paint and chairs!!! Thank you for sharing with us about your stay. Look forward seeing you on your next trip to Fargo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALUMET
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently spent a month here while spending time in Fargo for family medical reasons. Management and staff did whatever we requested to make our stay as enjoyable and affordable as possible - the monthly rate was definitely a bonus. The breakfasts were good... but predictable after a month! The "snacks" in late afternoons on Mondays through Thursdays were a bonus. Our bed was great; the flat screen TV was excellent; the amount of room was ideal; the new Keurig coffeemaker in the room was a surprise! We'll be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback from our wonderful guests and we appreciate yours. We pride ourselves in providing a place to stay at exceptional value and understand that the “little” things do matter when it comes to providing a comfortable room. Look forward seeing you on your next trip to Fargo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

When you book a hotel online, you never know just what you are going to get. Not only did the hotel live up to the byline we read before booking, but our overall experience was better than we thought. The breakfast was exactly what was promised, and when dishes were emptied it didn't take long to get new. The room was clean, comfortable and just right! We would definately come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mainstay Suites.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here with our 13 & 17 year old sons for a shopping weekend here & to Albertville. Large, spacious room - their 'one room suite' - with two excellent queen beds and a very comfortable sofa sleeper, so my 17-year old tells me. Carpet is a little dated and worn in the bedroom area, but that's to be excpected. Bathroom looked recently done and was very clean. Breakfast was excellent - plenty of choices, clean and well stocked. Pool is small & shared with Red Roof Inn hotel adjoining this one, but enough to get wet before bed. Nice touch is the full size fridge & kitchen amenities - if you were planning to stay longer than 2 nights, this would be an excellent choice to save some money on meals, particularly with breakfast thrown in - and for a very good rate of $100 per night - excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are going to be updating our hotel fall 2013. It will include a new front desk area, and all our rooms are going to be remodeled as well. Thank you for sharing with us about your stay. Look forward seeing you on your next trip to Fargo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel was very clean. The room was a good size. Fast, quick check-in. The breakfast was okay - would recommend that the hotel provide ketchup packages to have with the eggs. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so thrilled that you have taken the time to write your comments. I will pass this onto the front desk staff. Ketchup packages are coming!! Looking forward seeing you on your next visit to Fargo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was handy and provided a pleasant stay. Rooms were large, everything was clean, staff was friendly and check-in and out were easy. It was quiet. Breakfast was tasty for this type of service. Food was hot and well presented. Great selection. Will certainly consider it on future trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary S, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on your recent visit to our hotel! I have shared this with the staff and we are all happy to have warmly accommodated you. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 1901 44th Street SW, Fargo, ND 58103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — MainStay Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Fargo
Mainstay Suites Fargo
Mainstay Fargo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.