We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place for a great burger, beer, and watch a game.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JL Beers

JL Beers
518 1st Ave N, Fargo, ND 58102
(701) 492-3377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 272 Restaurants in Fargo
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Fargo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place for a great burger, beer, and watch a game.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It is a favorite place. Good burgers, homemade fries, and watch the cooks prep those potatoes. Great service, they make you feel like a regular even if it's your first visit. Beer is excellent. Don't ask for water they won't serve you a glass! They will only sell you bottled water!!! Is that legal in North Dakota?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    51
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DICKINSON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great beers, great selection. Fast service. Conveniently located in Downtown Fargo. Did not have the burgers on this stay, but the ones at their Grand Forks location were phenomenal. And I really like the "Beer Mail" schtick.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go for the Beer selection - not the burgers.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to try different beers, but not a place to go with friends or for a great burger.
The small size gives you fast service and makes it seem busy all the time.
Burgers are ok, nothing to get excited about.
This is probably Fargo's best place to experiment on new beers, but if you really want to relax with friends, have a few beers and a great burger - this is not the place to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Chips.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

They have great Collections of Beer and they always launch new kind of beer all the time. Staffs are very knowledgeable and Friendly and they have wonderful home made chips and i love it. They also have very popular Burgers but i don't eat pork and beef. I wish they have Chicken Burger or Vegetable Burger. For my beer and chips i always like to go there when i get chance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome selection of craft beers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

i go their everytime im in fargo. the burgers are so good! homemade chips with choice of dipping sauce. The humpty dumpty burger is popular, with a egg on top of the burger.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JL Beers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JL Beers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.