We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street to your Saves list
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4325 23rd Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58104 (Formerly Arbuckle Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have not had bad experiences with any hotel in Fargo. This last trip was with girlfriends and I booked the room at hotels.com, although I have never heard of Arbuckle Lodge it was a great price so I took it! The room was large as was the bathroom, the halls are clean lots of luggage carts, the front desk staff was pleasant and when we needed a new lamp for the desk (the room was dark and the lamp had no switch, it was broken off) two staff members came and we had a new lamp within 10 minutes. The hot tub was great. I would stay here again! Very clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed the rooms and the attentive service of our staff. We hope that you will consider us for you next trip to the area and be sure to sign up for our new rewards program. Thanks again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    76
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
116
57
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This week while in Fargo - room rates seemed high even for Fargo, and my usual place was booked... so I booked using a blind booking service to save some money. I'm trying to decide how to evaluate this place. The Arbuckle used to be a Settle Inn, which closed and reopened under this non-branded name.

There are some definite positives here... the rooms are a good size, above average. Bedding is comfortable. Bathrooms are large. The hotel is off the Interstate far enough that you don't get that noise. There is a decent breakfast (included) in the morning, and a managers reception at night with light appetizers and soda. The pool looks good for a family. Lots of parking. Also close to restaurants, gas stations, other amenities, and the Interstate.

Some downsides... you won't get much from the staff in terms of service, but they are friendly enough. If you are a business traveler and need Internet (like myself), this is one of the worst properties I have ever been in for Internet speeds... I had to stop working. Also, my air conditioning unit in two rooms has been poor, and that is noticeable when daytime temps are into the 80's and you have a western facing room.

Overall, I'd rate this good to above average for the price I paid. I have not idea what the rack is, or a discounted rate on their website... I would suspect it is too much. I also think the blind bid service I used has this property a 1/2 a star higher than it should be... but that is typical for this service.

If you get good rate, book it. I'm just surprised by the glowing reviews. I have gushed over properties, as well as been more generous than maybe deserved... This property is no more than "average" to "very good," in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a zoo facing room - it will be more quiet and cooler in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks, jra3 from Michigan, for taking time to give a detailed review. The ownership of this hotel hasn't changed since we opened in 2009. We did part ways, by mutual agreement, with the Settle Inn franchise, and changed our name to Arbuckle Lodge. We are glad that you had a favorable impression of the rooms, complimentary breakfast, afternoon appetizers, the pool, parking, and convenient location with no interstate noise. I am sorry to hear that you didn't feel you got much service from staff. It's unusual for our guests to feel that way. I would certainly like to discuss with you the items you had issues with so that we are able to get more information and fix any items not working properly. I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future and give us the opportunity to provide the excellent service you so much deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had never heard of the Arbuckle Lodge until it was what we were given through Priceline. We were certainly surprised! We were greeted with wings, chili, and fresh veggies upon check-in. Our room was huge, comfortable, clean, and very attractive. The bed and linens were wonderful. Breadmakers provided fresh bread with breakfast, which was another bonus not usually offered.

Room Tip: I couldn't offer any advice on choosing a room unless you want to see the sun rise or set. I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Arbuckle Lodge in Fargo. We are so glad you enjoyed our guest reception and fresh bread with breakfast. We strive to make your stay feel like your home away from home. Please consider us on your next visit to Fargo. The whole staff here at the Arbuckle Lodge would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked our room via Priceline "name your own price" so we didn't really know what we were going to get. With some persistence we were able to get the inexperienced front desk clerk to change the reservation from a 2 queen to a single king room. The room was large, separated into a sitting and sleeping area by the washroom and bar area and extremely pleasing in virtually every way. There were 2 flat screen TVs, a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and bar sink. The hot tub was okay though the pool with waterslide was more appropriate for children. Breakfast was typical continental plus a waffle maker, scrambled eggs and sausage, and fresh from the breadmaker bread. Internet was easy to connect to, reasonably fast and required us to connect only once for our entire stay (a pleasant deviation from the hotels we stayed at the 10 previous nights).

It's unlikely our budget would allow us to stay here at regular rates, but looking at the other room options, this could be an excellent choice for families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Arbuckle Lodge in Fargo. We appreciate that you have shared your great experience at our hotel and we look forward to your return. Please call us directly as we maybe able to provide you with specials or promotions we are running at the hotel. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms are large, clean and nice bed linens!!! However, we were looking forward to a nice big country style breakfast, but what we got was instant eggs, overcooked sausages, no potatoes; only white bread with margarine (no real butter), instant oatmeal, brown bananas (no fresh melon) but worst of all was they use "cancer causing" styrofoam cups, plates and bowls!!! They should be using paper products!!! I highly recommend the Hampton Inn over the Arbuckle Lodge!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We review items on our breakfast often and welcome all guest suggestions so that we can improve upon the experience we want to give our guests. I hope that you were able to try the other hot items on our breakfast. It sounds like you enjoyed your room and your stay otherwise. I would be happy to discuss your suggestions further if you would like. Please feel free to give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A nice standard hotel with decent size rooms, which was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Just don't mention the film Fargo which the locals don't seem to take to. Pool was good and breakfast was fine with a reasonable selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Arbuckle Lodge in Fargo! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you come back and stay with us again. Sorry you found someone sensitive to Fargo the movie, we do actually send people over to the Visitors Center where they can see the famous "woodchipper" - something to think about the next time your are in the area. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayuta Lake
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Busy well equipped pool. Great staff. Outstanding room. Exceptionally clean. Comfortable bed. One of the best places I have ever stayed. Bvreakfast was decent with homemade bread. They were setting up the bread machines while we were checking in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank for taking the time review our hotel! Here at the Arbuckle Lodge in Fargo we strive to provide a clean and comfortable environment for all of our guests and give them a hot breakfast to start their day. We offer amenities such as our pool, hot tub, hot breakfast with fresh baked bread, business center, fitness center and more to ensure we meet our guests' needs. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and remember to sign up for our rewards program the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street

Address: 4325 23rd Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58104 (Formerly Arbuckle Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fargo
#14 Family Hotel in Fargo
#19 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge & Suites Fargo South in Fargo, ND. We know there's no place like home, but with our large comfortable rooms, the AmericInn Fargo South will feel like your home away from home. A charming log canopy welcomes you to the smoke-free AmericInn. Inside, the first thing you'll notice is a three-story lobby with a stone fireplace. The colors are warm, patterned after the setting sun. Here, old-fashioned friendliness meets western charm. Our service is personal. Our attitude is welcoming. And our rooms? Let's just say we drew our inspiration from a prairie horizon. Enjoy our Splash-Bay Adventure Pool area, fitness center, free wi-fi and of course our amazing hot home-style breakfast each morning. Afternoon appetizers are available Monday through Thursday. Hot wings, pulled pork, and nachos are guest favorites. You might find us grilling brats for appetizers, and the gas grill on the patio is also available for your use. The AmericInn Fargo South hotel is conveniently located in Fargo, North Dakota and only minutes from the best restaurants and shopping. Fargo, North Dakota provides year-round fun and excitement for the whole family. Visit our Fargo hotel on your next family vacation and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settle Inn & Suites Fargo Hotel Fargo
Settle Inn And Suites Fargo
Settle Hotel Fargo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.