We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street to your Saves list
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4325 23rd Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58104 (Formerly Arbuckle Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Bismarck, ND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Arbuckle Lodge in Fargo is a newer hotel. The pool area is great for kids and the hot tub is a nice size for adults. Breakfast was good with biscuits, gravy, omelets, sausage, fruit, cereal, and various other things. They had sloppy joes with chips at 5:30. The sloppy joes were a nice surprise after traveling and not being quite ready to go out to eat. I don't know if the evening snack is standard, but was a nice bonus the evening we arrived. The rooms are spacious (we were upgraded to a King Suite) and bed was comfy. We were there on a weekday so there were not many kids, not sure if it would be noisy on a weekend. There was a neat welcome card on the bed (preprinted), but the words went beyond what you normally see at a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to have you here. Our guest reception is usually held every Monday through Thursday at around 5:30 pm. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    89
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
137
68
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Friday to Sunday. Our first impression was that the hotel was tidy and the staff was friendly. The rooms are large and clean but don't really have all that much in them. It was like they ran out of money for furnishings...we had a standard room with a king bed so I was expecting that it might have a sitting area or table but it had niether just an arm chair and desk with a very cheap desk chair. The fridge is very small but was helpful for keeping beverages cold...it wouldn't fit much more. Given that the hotel sells itself as a bit more upscale I was expected more out of the room....the high ceilings were nice but in a largely empty room all they did was provide for a nice echo.

The "deluxe" breakfast is nothing special. On the weekends the only warm items are biscuits and gravy and waffles. The gravy was pretty cold both mornings and the biscuits weren't that good even for free hotel food. The other items are your standard continental breakfast foods. I am not sure how they come up with the 30 items they claim on thier website. The so-called "fresh" coffee is not really "coffee" but a concentrated syrup type drink that is dispensed from a soda type machine that mixes it with hot water...I've tasted worse so for hotel coffee it was not bad. However one morning I witnessed the staff changing the concentrated stuff in the machine and it was dispensing decaf from both spouts!

The worst part of the stay was the noise level in the hotel. Their were kids running up and down the halls at all hours of the day. The poor construction of the hotel means that your hear everything in the hall and footsteps from the room above were very noisy. There were kids running around at 2:30 AM followed by door knocking and then a women scolding voice. Combined with the noise from the ice machine we didn't get a good nights sleep. The pool was nice but was too busy to take small children.

Finally the parking was not adequate. After leaving for diner and coming back the lot was full both nights...we were able to find parking since someone was leaving at the same time but others had to park on the street or wherever they could cram their vehicle.

Overall I would say that given the price of the rooms the value is very poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Arbuckle Lodge and taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am so sorry to hear you had a sleepless night with us. I do hope that you brought this to our attention when you stayed and we were able to correct what we could. I appreciate your comments on our breakfast on the weekends. We have heard your comments and are looking at a couple things to add to the breakfast on weekends! I would be happy to discuss your stay with us in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was just OK. For the price, I would look at alternatives. I was really annoyed that the pool was closed for 5 days but was not disclosed on their website when I booked a room for that same night. The room is spacious but fan on heat/air was really loud and turned off/on every 15 minutes. Rooms have microwave and refrigerator. Fairly clean hotel. Staff was nice. Breakfast was typical free hotel food (waffles, pre-made omelets with cheese slices, sausage, muffins.) Maybe I had a bad attitude in general after being duped into booking without being able to use amenities I paid for...kids were disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Arbuckle Lodge and taking the time to write us a review. Our pool was closed due to repairs that had to be done that week. We also tried to inform everyone by making courtesy calls to any of the reservations that had a phone number on file. I am deeply sorry that you were not informed. We will look into announcing such information on our website. As for our heat/air conditioner units, they are set on automatic, which allows the unit to adjust whenever the temperature goes below or above the set temperature. Your comments are extremely helpful and we appreciate them very much. I would be happy to discuss your stay with us in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed there over the Canadian Spring Break - March 25 to 27/13 because I couldn't get a room at the place I usually stay at. I found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating. The room was somewhat plain, but large and clean. Room ammenities included a fridge, microwave, mini coffee maker and hairdryer. Quiet time was posted in the hallway as 11:00 p.m. to 06:00 a.m. and I found the hotel to be quiet during that period. Complimentary breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausages, hard-boiled eggs, breads, juices, coffee, etc. One evening, complimentary nachos were offered. I would have no problem recommending this hotel and will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi LorraineJ28

Thank you so much for your review. Here at the Arbuckle Lodge in Fargo we try to bring a lodge feel to the city. We offer the free hot breakfast and guest reception to give our guest a warm meal to start their day and a snack to relax when they return from their adventures in Fargo. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again from the staff at the Arbuckle Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights over the Manitoba spring break week. The hotel is easy to get to off either I-29 or I-94. It is also a very short drive to the mall and other shopping attractions. We were glad to be somewhat "off the beaten path", as the location was quieter than other busier areas.

The room and the bathroom were both very large. The decor and finishes were not exactly high end, but we weren't looking for anything fancy. While the bathroom appeared to be clean, we were wondering if the house keeping staff had ever used any "vacuum attachments". There were bits of food (including whole peanuts) scattered around the floor, and especially in "hard to reach" crevices like around the beds and around the mini-fridge. Having seen this, we doubted just how clean the room/hotel actually was. FYI: There are no "pay-per-view" channels in the room. We would have enjoyed the option of watching a movie in-room, however their tv channels are extensive, which was a bonus. Also nice: the mini-fridge and the microwave in-room.

Breakfast was fine. Good selection of hot and continental items. One complaint, and perhaps not the fault of the hotel, were the people who came down for breakfast in their pyjamas and/or barefoot. Pretty unsanitary. Maybe some kind of dresscode could be enforced.

The hotel advertised complimentary coffee in the lobby at all times. When we asked where it was one evening after returning from dinner, we were told, rather nonchalantly and is if it should've been obvious, it was in the breakfast area. Wouldn't have guessed it as all the lights were turned off. We turned on the lights ourselves and hoped the coffee hadn't been there since the morning. The floor was still sticky from any syrup/juice/miscellaneous mishaps that morning.

By far the worst part of the stay was the sleep. The pillows were the WORST we have ever experienced. Nothing but lumps. The beds were really, really soft. Felt like you were sinking into them. The heating/fan system in the room was REALLY loud and seemed to go on and off every 3 minutes. And finally, the walls in this hotel are PAPER THIN! We could hear people watching TV in the room beside us, never mind the noise from the hallway. Doors slamming, children running around, and people shouting (way beyond the "quiet time" posted of 11:00pm) made for unrestful nights.

Perhaps we paid more than normal, being it was the spring break holiday, however we don't think we got value for what we paid. Wouldn't stay again, despite good location, because there are so many other options to try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Than you for staying with us at the Arbuckle Lodge and taking the time to write such a detailed review. I do hope that you brought this to our attention when you stayed and we were able to correct what we could. I would be happy to discuss your stay with us in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Arbuckle Lodge this past Easter weekend. Not a bad place. Just be mindful that there is not a lot of parking, the pool is smaller, OK for smaller kids. I did wish they had a comfortable chair in the room, as the room is quite spacious. Its at the junction of Interstate 29 and 94, fairly close to all amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Arbuckle Lodge for your stay over Easter weekend and for taking the time to write a review. When the hotel is full, parking can be tricky. It will help tremendously once the large snow pile is melted at the south end of our lot, and I am so sorry that we had to take up those parking spaces. We do have a much better plan for heavy snow next year. I hope that it will not deter you from staying again. We also have it noted for extra seating when it comes time for that. People love our spacious rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just finished spending the easter weekend at the Arbuckle. The rooms are quite large, as are the bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable. The pool area is really nice, especially if your kids are 12 and under, the pool is just right for small kids. The breakfast during week days is outstanding, during Saturday and Sunday not quite as good, but it is o.k. The hotel is close to everything in Fargo. For the rate you pay, it is a real good value. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Arbuckle Lodge. I appreciate your comments on our breakfast from weekday to weekend. We offer everything the same except 2 items on the weekend. However, we have heard your comments and are looking at a couple things to add to the breakfast on weekends! I hope that you will stay with us soon to check out what we are going to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Fargo West Acres
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
C'mon Inn - Fargo
C'mon Inn - Fargo
#23 of 48 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fargo
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street

Address: 4325 23rd Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58104 (Formerly Arbuckle Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Fargo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fargo
#19 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge & Suites Fargo South in Fargo, ND named "BEST HOTEL IN NORTH DAKOTA" by MSN. We know there's no place like home, but with our large comfortable rooms, the AmericInn Fargo South will feel like your home away from home. A charming log canopy welcomes you to the smoke-free AmericInn. Inside, the first thing you'll notice is a three-story lobby with a stone fireplace. The colors are warm, patterned after the setting sun. Here, old-fashioned friendliness meets western charm. Our service is personal. Our attitude is welcoming. And our rooms? Let's just say we drew our inspiration from a prairie horizon. Enjoy our Splash-Bay Adventure Pool area, fitness center, free wi-fi and of course our amazing hot home-style breakfast each morning. Afternoon appetizers are available Monday through Thursday. Hot wings, pulled pork, and nachos are guest favorites. You might find us grilling brats for appetizers, and the gas grill on the patio is also available for your use. The AmericInn Fargo South hotel is conveniently located in Fargo, North Dakota and only minutes from the best restaurants and shopping. Fargo, North Dakota provides year-round fun and excitement for the whole family. Visit our Fargo hotel on your next family vacation and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, AmericInn Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settle Inn And Suites Fargo
Settle Inn & Suites Fargo Hotel Fargo
Settle Hotel Fargo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.