We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value, Lousy Construction” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arbuckle Lodge

Save Saved
You added Arbuckle Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Arbuckle Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4325 23rd Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58103 (Formerly Settle Inn & Suites Fargo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 hotels in Fargo
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Value, Lousy Construction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Friday to Sunday. Our first impression was that the hotel was tidy and the staff was friendly. The rooms are large and clean but don't really have all that much in them. It was like they ran out of money for furnishings...we had a standard room with a king bed so I was expecting that it might have a sitting area or table but it had niether just an arm chair and desk with a very cheap desk chair. The fridge is very small but was helpful for keeping beverages cold...it wouldn't fit much more. Given that the hotel sells itself as a bit more upscale I was expected more out of the room....the high ceilings were nice but in a largely empty room all they did was provide for a nice echo.

The "deluxe" breakfast is nothing special. On the weekends the only warm items are biscuits and gravy and waffles. The gravy was pretty cold both mornings and the biscuits weren't that good even for free hotel food. The other items are your standard continental breakfast foods. I am not sure how they come up with the 30 items they claim on thier website. The so-called "fresh" coffee is not really "coffee" but a concentrated syrup type drink that is dispensed from a soda type machine that mixes it with hot water...I've tasted worse so for hotel coffee it was not bad. However one morning I witnessed the staff changing the concentrated stuff in the machine and it was dispensing decaf from both spouts!

The worst part of the stay was the noise level in the hotel. Their were kids running up and down the halls at all hours of the day. The poor construction of the hotel means that your hear everything in the hall and footsteps from the room above were very noisy. There were kids running around at 2:30 AM followed by door knocking and then a women scolding voice. Combined with the noise from the ice machine we didn't get a good nights sleep. The pool was nice but was too busy to take small children.

Finally the parking was not adequate. After leaving for diner and coming back the lot was full both nights...we were able to find parking since someone was leaving at the same time but others had to park on the street or wherever they could cram their vehicle.

Overall I would say that given the price of the rooms the value is very poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at Arbuckle Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Arbuckle Lodge and taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am so sorry to hear you had a sleepless night with us. I do hope that you brought this to our attention when you stayed and we were able to correct what we could. I appreciate your comments on our breakfast on the weekends. We have heard your comments and are looking at a couple things to add to the breakfast on weekends! I would be happy to discuss your stay with us in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    59
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
92
45
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was just OK. For the price, I would look at alternatives. I was really annoyed that the pool was closed for 5 days but was not disclosed on their website when I booked a room for that same night. The room is spacious but fan on heat/air was really loud and turned off/on every 15 minutes. Rooms have microwave and refrigerator. Fairly clean hotel. Staff was nice. Breakfast was typical free hotel food (waffles, pre-made omelets with cheese slices, sausage, muffins.) Maybe I had a bad attitude in general after being duped into booking without being able to use amenities I paid for...kids were disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at Arbuckle Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Arbuckle Lodge and taking the time to write us a review. Our pool was closed due to repairs that had to be done that week. We also tried to inform everyone by making courtesy calls to any of the reservations that had a phone number on file. I am deeply sorry that you were not informed. We will look into announcing such information on our website. As for our heat/air conditioner units, they are set on automatic, which allows the unit to adjust whenever the temperature goes below or above the set temperature. Your comments are extremely helpful and we appreciate them very much. I would be happy to discuss your stay with us in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed there over the Canadian Spring Break - March 25 to 27/13 because I couldn't get a room at the place I usually stay at. I found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating. The room was somewhat plain, but large and clean. Room ammenities included a fridge, microwave, mini coffee maker and hairdryer. Quiet time was posted in the hallway as 11:00 p.m. to 06:00 a.m. and I found the hotel to be quiet during that period. Complimentary breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausages, hard-boiled eggs, breads, juices, coffee, etc. One evening, complimentary nachos were offered. I would have no problem recommending this hotel and will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, Manager at Arbuckle Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi LorraineJ28

Thank you so much for your review. Here at the Arbuckle Lodge in Fargo we try to bring a lodge feel to the city. We offer the free hot breakfast and guest reception to give our guest a warm meal to start their day and a snack to relax when they return from their adventures in Fargo. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again from the staff at the Arbuckle Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights over the Manitoba spring break week. The hotel is easy to get to off either I-29 or I-94. It is also a very short drive to the mall and other shopping attractions. We were glad to be somewhat "off the beaten path", as the location was quieter than other busier areas.

The room and the bathroom were both very large. The decor and finishes were not exactly high end, but we weren't looking for anything fancy. While the bathroom appeared to be clean, we were wondering if the house keeping staff had ever used any "vacuum attachments". There were bits of food (including whole peanuts) scattered around the floor, and especially in "hard to reach" crevices like around the beds and around the mini-fridge. Having seen this, we doubted just how clean the room/hotel actually was. FYI: There are no "pay-per-view" channels in the room. We would have enjoyed the option of watching a movie in-room, however their tv channels are extensive, which was a bonus. Also nice: the mini-fridge and the microwave in-room.

Breakfast was fine. Good selection of hot and continental items. One complaint, and perhaps not the fault of the hotel, were the people who came down for breakfast in their pyjamas and/or barefoot. Pretty unsanitary. Maybe some kind of dresscode could be enforced.

The hotel advertised complimentary coffee in the lobby at all times. When we asked where it was one evening after returning from dinner, we were told, rather nonchalantly and is if it should've been obvious, it was in the breakfast area. Wouldn't have guessed it as all the lights were turned off. We turned on the lights ourselves and hoped the coffee hadn't been there since the morning. The floor was still sticky from any syrup/juice/miscellaneous mishaps that morning.

By far the worst part of the stay was the sleep. The pillows were the WORST we have ever experienced. Nothing but lumps. The beds were really, really soft. Felt like you were sinking into them. The heating/fan system in the room was REALLY loud and seemed to go on and off every 3 minutes. And finally, the walls in this hotel are PAPER THIN! We could hear people watching TV in the room beside us, never mind the noise from the hallway. Doors slamming, children running around, and people shouting (way beyond the "quiet time" posted of 11:00pm) made for unrestful nights.

Perhaps we paid more than normal, being it was the spring break holiday, however we don't think we got value for what we paid. Wouldn't stay again, despite good location, because there are so many other options to try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at Arbuckle Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Than you for staying with us at the Arbuckle Lodge and taking the time to write such a detailed review. I do hope that you brought this to our attention when you stayed and we were able to correct what we could. I would be happy to discuss your stay with us in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Arbuckle Lodge this past Easter weekend. Not a bad place. Just be mindful that there is not a lot of parking, the pool is smaller, OK for smaller kids. I did wish they had a comfortable chair in the room, as the room is quite spacious. Its at the junction of Interstate 29 and 94, fairly close to all amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at Arbuckle Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Arbuckle Lodge for your stay over Easter weekend and for taking the time to write a review. When the hotel is full, parking can be tricky. It will help tremendously once the large snow pile is melted at the south end of our lot, and I am so sorry that we had to take up those parking spaces. We do have a much better plan for heavy snow next year. I hope that it will not deter you from staying again. We also have it noted for extra seating when it comes time for that. People love our spacious rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just finished spending the easter weekend at the Arbuckle. The rooms are quite large, as are the bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable. The pool area is really nice, especially if your kids are 12 and under, the pool is just right for small kids. The breakfast during week days is outstanding, during Saturday and Sunday not quite as good, but it is o.k. The hotel is close to everything in Fargo. For the rate you pay, it is a real good value. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at Arbuckle Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Arbuckle Lodge. I appreciate your comments on our breakfast from weekday to weekend. We offer everything the same except 2 items on the weekend. However, we have heard your comments and are looking at a couple things to add to the breakfast on weekends! I hope that you will stay with us soon to check out what we are going to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at the Arbuckle Lodge in Fargo, ND from Mar. 22-Mar25...our first reaction was WOW! The room (and bathroom) was huge! Yes, it was a room with two double beds, but still was larger than most hotels. Very clean. Polite and attentive staff, complimentary breakfast, close to mall...what more could you ask for? I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially families and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbuckleLodge, General Manager at Arbuckle Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and sharing your experience with us! At the Arbuckle Lodge we pride our selves on providing large rooms, great service and amenities you would want for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon and remember to sign up for our new Rewards program!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arbuckle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbuckle Lodge

Also Known As:
Settle Inn & Suites Fargo Hotel
Settle Inn & Suites Fargo Hotel Fargo
Settle Inn And Suites Fargo
Settle Hotel Fargo
Address: 4325 23rd Avenue South, Fargo, ND 58103 (Formerly Settle Inn & Suites Fargo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Fargo
#16 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arbuckle Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbuckle Lodge is a hotel inspired by Western design and excellence in hospitality. Deluxe amenities and spectacular rooms and suites welcome guests to an experience that will make their stay magnificent. Complimentary daily hot breakfast, wireless & wired internet, indoor pool with waterslide, mushroom and geysers, hot tub and fitness center will have you feeling at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Arbuckle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbuckle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.