We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradiso

Paradiso
801 38th St. S., Fargo, ND 58103
701.282.5747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 273 Restaurants in Fargo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
North Dakota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have always had great food here. Love the burritios, love the enchaladas, love the chips. Always great sevice.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“busy and over crowded but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We arrived just before main dinner rush but it was a 20 minute wait.
When seated they broke up 2 adjoining tables and seated us.
It felt like we were so close to the next people they could listen to our entire conversation and us theirs.
Server was pleasant and we had no complaints, food was good.
Perhaps during the week it would be better but it wasn't enjoyable as we were placed.
We had the option to eat in bar, probably a better choice.
It is scenic but when you are so squished in you cant enjoy it and i was glad to leave.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Watered down Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The service is good and the drink are very good but the food is very bland. As my wife would say, it's Norwegian Mexican food. It's not authentic Mexican. I guess all the Norwegians except for me, really like it because they always seem busy. I'd rather eat at a couple other authentic Mexican restaurants in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Paradiso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We live within walking distance of Paradiso, so we go there for lunch or dinner fairly often. Their Mexican food is tastier than the bland food in other chain restaurants in Fargo. Their patio is a good place to meet friends for drinks or a meal. The patio is screened from the sun and the parking lot by trellises and leafy plants in the summer. The restaurant is centrally located just north of the very popular West Acres Mall and next door to Century 10 Cinema. Note: Your dinner is free on your birthday!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Three reviews in one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was my third trip to the Fargo Paradiso and as usual, it was great. The menu is full of options; for the picky eaters who don't like veggies, there are many options to avoid getting your greens. For the vegetarian or vegetable enthusiast (like myself), there is an entire page of the menu for you!

Pros:
-Great food
-Good value; margarita pitchers are the way to go if in a group, and don't forget free food on your birthday!
-Good service, everyone is very friendly

Cons: (very specific, isolated events)
-Don't order the "home-style chile rellenos" It's a heart-attack on a plate... (only thing I've ordered that hasn't been good)
-Sometimes they can't get your reservation in on time (1 out of 3 trips). We had a group of 12 that was delayed by a half hour from our reserved time because of a slow group before us. (We'd called ahead that morning)

I still highly recommend this restaurant regardless of the two above cons.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.