We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice, but there are better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1040 40th St. S., Fargo, ND 58103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
winnipeg
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A good choice, but there are better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed a couple nights with my kids at this location. I found it to be very clean and well staffed. I had a room above the lobby/pool area and found it to be quite humid/stuffy in my room which was slightly uncomfortable.
The beds were new and comfortable, bathroom was super clean. Major drawback for the price point of this hotel to not have a fridge and microwave in the room. Ive had hotels half this price that included those features plus all the other extras like pool,hottub,wifi,breakfast.
This hotel did have a deluxe breakfast for those who like eggs or biscuits bacon...for me I dont eat that stuff so it doesnt matter. I like toast and fruits :) They had a very big selection of breakfast items and plenty of room and seating. I would say this is a plus. Other than that I dont think it was worth the price for everything else when like Ive said, other hotels were just as good for much less. So...I leave the choice to you. I cant complain about anything at this hotel, Overall I would say it was very good.

Room Tip: I recommend not staying on the second floor above the pool or lobby area... otherwise Im sure any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear smellbell,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. It is lovely to hear your kind words regarding our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    34
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
17
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Easy to find off of Interstate; great staff, very helpful. Can't beat location, walking distance to West Acres and a movie theatre. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Elevator was very slow and if we hadn't been on 4th floor we probably would have took the stairs a few times. Pool and hot tub well maintained and not too busy. Will definitely consider returning again.

Room Tip: Definitely want the 4th floor on north side for a quiet room. But, elevators are a wee bit tardy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

There are no small refrigerators in the rooms. Any other Holiday Inn express I have stayed in has a small fridge. I had medicine that had to be refrigerated. I never expected that this holiday inn express wound not have one in the room. I travel throughout the country and this is the first Holiday Inn express that does not have a small work out room. I was told I could walk across the parking lot to the Large Holiday Inn if I wanted to work out. I'm in ND and it's below zero. The price did not not reflect the lack of a amenities it is lacking. It seems to me that they could no longer build onto the original Holiday in so built this.

Room Tip: They don't have a restaurant or room services. The last 2 questions skew your review results.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear gkrein,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I found this property to be very accomodating to my needs when I travel on business...after being greeted with a smile and warm welcome, I found the rooms to be very, very clean, warm, and comfortable...very conveniently located to movie theaters, restaurants, and shopping, I enjoy staying here...it is also very quiet with a swimming pool and hot tub to enjoy

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for just one night on our long drive out west. The check in and check out process was very fast. The room was very clean and comfortable. Very comfortable beds and pillows. The breakfast had ample options for our family. The only complaint I had was how warm they keep their facility. We had to turn the heat off in the room and open a window when we first arrived as it was so warm. We noticed the one heating element in the breakfast area was set at 80 degrees. That was quite warm for us (I keep my heat set at 67 degress)! I understand it gets very cold in ND, so maybe the locals like it that warm inside.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Got into town late, had a slight misunderstanding with our reservation, ( not their fault, totally ours) the staff was so kind and understanding, helpful and cheerful! Thank goodness they were able to work things out. We had a comfortable clean room and booked our stay for the return trip through town. Thank you!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

2 female cousins in our 40's on a shopping trip during Nov 2013. No problems at all - hotel was very clean. Rooms maybe a wee bit dated but very clean - beds were VERY nice. Walking distance to the West Acres mall & several restaurants. Breakfast was included and plentiful. Wifi is included and available in the rooms - not just the common areas like some hotels. We didn't make use of the gym or the pool area. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres

Address: 1040 40th St. S., Fargo, ND 58103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express West Acres hotel! If you want to Stay Smart you definitely want to stay with us! Our newly decorated guest rooms now feature 32 inch flat screen TVs, New granite bathroom counters, and our new Simply Smart Bedding Collection. We also offer complimentary wired and wireless Internet access and a 24 hour business center to meet your business needs. As one of our guests you would also get to enjoy our new hot breakfast bar, with items such as omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and also a wide variety of healthy selections as well. If you are wondering about location, well that s just another reason for you to stay with us. We are located in the shopping and dining district of Fargo. We are directly across the street from West Acres Shopping Mall and walking distance to restaurants and bars and minutes away from Hector International Airport.Now after your hard day at work or a long day shopping, come and relax and enjoy our pool area and hot tub or watch an in-room movie with movies still in theaters! So come and visit us here at the Holiday Inn Express-West Acres we will be happy to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres Hotel Fargo
Holiday Inn Fargo
Fargo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Fargo - West Acres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.