We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a family stay, good - otherwise, not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fargo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Fargo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fargo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3803 13th Avenue South, PO Box 9555, Fargo, ND 58103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
North Dakota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“For a family stay, good - otherwise, not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for an evening while attending an event in Fargo. We felt the property was quite overpriced (convenient excuse to temporarily raise the price due to concert/sports event in city!) The property is a large, old convention property. It was in fairly good condition for it's age and the bed was comfortable, but the furniture shows signs of wear, the hallways are a long walk from the common areas and the hallways reek of chlorine. The pool area is definitely family-oriented, with a large pirate ship waterpark area, Ping Pong tables and a small bar to keep parents occupied. It's quite loud with shrieking children running & playing. It's probably fine for a family fun/shopping weekend (very near to a large Mall), but not a good choice for quiet relaxation!!

Room Tip: Get a room as far away as possible from the pool area if you don't want to smell chlorine all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate your choosing our hotel on your recent stay in Fargo and thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We certainly do get busy, especially on the weekends with families and children. As you stated if you choose to stay here and want to get away from the chlorine smell of the pool and the noise of the pool area, just request a room farther away from the pool area. That's one of the nice points about being a larger hotel, we are able to make more accomodations in regards to location preferences than a smaller hotel. We also look forward to your return visit as we will begin our room renovations starting soon and you should see an improvement in the furniture in our hotel rooms. Thanks again for your comments. Sincerely, Shawn ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    62
    56
    17
    18
See reviews for
71
18
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The rooms have absolutely NO ventilation for the showers - after 4 family members showering our room was super-humid and damp from this continuously happening.

Rest of hotel is average - attended a wedding and the ball rooms are very nice along with the pool area!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay. We certainly understand the concern with humidity after a whole family showers. It's nice to hear you enjoyed our pool area as well as the event in our Great Hall. We look forward to taking care of you again soon. Sincerely, Shawn ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the kids pool area. A few sizes of life jackets are provided as are towels. There are tables and chairs as well as loungers set up.

There is a shallow area with two slides that is great for toddlers/smaller kids. It is sectioned off from the other area which is good to keep the little ones in the shallow area, but the set up doesn't allow you to watch other kids in the deeper water.

The deeper water has another slide and a spraying hose the kids can use to spray into the pool from the ship. I believe the water was 2'6" to 3'6" in this area.

Unfortunately there were three "accidents" in one day where the pool had to be cleared for several hours at a time. Disappointing when you are paying a premium price for a hotel with a pool.

Hotel lobby is spacious with additional seating and coffee in the mornings. There is a touch screen tv with a map. Front desk staff were courteous and knowledgable.

There is an elevator to the second floor. The room is nicely decorated and clean. (Although the rugs were filthy) Two double beds, chair, computer desk and chair, shelf unit with microwave and fridge, dresser and large flat screen TV. Air conditioning unit was quiet and worked well. Bathroom was small, but clean with good water pressure and toiletries.

We found the hotel fairly quiet even with weddings.

Reataurant on site - review submitted under the restaurant category.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to you and your family returning to our hotel on your next visit. Sincerely, Shawn ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Ok...the price shows they're a bit proud of the place.its good if you have kids because of the pool/waterpark area.and lounge if you dont have kids! My biggest gripe is the AC which constantly turns off at 75.the little energy motion sensors are a PITA.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are glad you took some time to review our hotel. We thank you for doing so. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy yourself in our lounge as well as poolside. Our guests typically are able to have a great time in either of those two areas. I am a little concerned about your comment about our AC and hope you would be able to take the time to call me and let me know some specifics of what you experienced as I want to clarify the problem. Perhaps it was a problem just in your room and I can have it corrected so that we don't have the same concern voiced by another guest. We do care about your experience and want you to be able to enjoy a comfortable, safe and clean room at our hotel. If able, please call me directly at 701-277-7322. Thanks and have a great day. Shawn ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What's not to love when you get the chance to play Black Jack and Pig Wheel! The Dealers are really accommodating and friendly.
The hotel is your average Holiday Inn...clean rooms, pool area, decent restaurant. The price is right. What's not to like?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It's fun to hear stories about our guests and their enjoyment of the casino located in our lounge. We thank you for your nice comments and look forward to your next stay at our hotel. Thank you, Shawn ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, North Dakota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I cannot believe they get by charging $120+ a night for a room. We had a king size bed room with AAA discount. The furniture is chipped and marred, the wallpaper slapped on walls that were not sanded after being repaired, the wallpaper is shredding at the seams, there was black mold in the caulk around the tub, there were at least 2 screws missing from the curtain rod and my husband had to hook up the sink plunger so the sink could drain. The only reason we will ever come back is when our granddaughter is old enough to enjoy the pool. For $7 more a night, we have reservations at another hotel in Fargo for the end of September at a hotel where we will have a suite with a kitchen, living room, and full hot breakfast. AND the rooms are beautiful. And clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments and take your dissapointment seriously. We obviously did not live up to our side of the deal in making sure your room was comfortable and clean. We have just completed renovation on several of our rooms as well as the pool area. We will continue to renovate our rooms on a floor by floor basis so as to not affect our guests until we have completed the renovation. If able, I'd like to hear more about your experience if you would be willing to give me a call at 701-277-7322 or email me at shagen@fargohi.com. Sincerely, Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

holiday inn is a class apart. the first time we arrived at the hotel,we were checked in with a smile of welcome.when i opened my room a good scent of good housekeeping engulfed my tiredness after 19hrs of flight aboard sn brussels and united air, and a smaller chatter from chicago to fargo.in the morning after my workout in the jim i headed strieght to the restaurant for breakfast and i was served less than the time i thought it would take because it was too early for morning work to start.hot coffee at all times and fress apples to take as you move to your room.as the day gets warmer thereis always a fress cold juice at your own service waiting,oh i appriate holliday in with their ever ready to serve staff at hand.

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It's a pleasure to read your comments. We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and we hope you have the opportunity to stay with us on your next visit to Fargo. Thank you. Shawn ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fargo

Address: 3803 13th Avenue South, PO Box 9555, Fargo, ND 58103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fargo 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Fargo sets the standard for quality and convenience. Situated right off two major Interstates, I-29 and I-94, the Fargo Holiday Inn hotel boasts easy access to the West Acres Shopping Center, many restaurants and a variety of entertainment options. All major venues including the Fargodome, Hector International Airport, Microsoft, Scheels, Case IH, Ingersoll Rand/Bobcat, medical centers, NDSU, MSUM & Concordia are only minutes away. The Holiday Inn of Fargo was completely renovated in 2008. Offering a full service restaurant, casino/lounge with live weekend entertainment, exercise room, Shipwreck Bay Water Playland and 27,000 square feet of commercial space, we are the ideal place for vacation travelers or business travelers. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access is available in all sleeping rooms, the business center, restaurant, casino/lounge, lobby & pool area. For your convenience the Holiday Inn of Fargo offers complimentary shuttle service to the airport, retail shopping stores and area medical facilities as well as a variety of other Fargo/Moorhead locations. Call 1-877-282-2700 to book your Fargo reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fargo Hotel Fargo
Fargo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.