We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room,good location but need to be careful when choosing your room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fargo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Fargo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fargo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3803 13th Avenue South, PO Box 9555, Fargo, ND 58103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 45 hotels in Fargo
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice room,good location but need to be careful when choosing your room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After I checked in, the lady at the counter showed me the floor plan and explained how to get to the elevator. This hotel was big. There was a very long corridor that seemed to have no ending, I dare say it was 100 metres (see attached photo). It would be very inconvenient for the elderly or kids. The elevator buttons were also weird. If you stay in room 6xx, you could be staying on the 5th floor actually. You need to find the right floor by checking your room number against the elevator buttons (see photo).

Anyway, the room was nice and clean. Wifi and parking were free. The hotel was located in an area with quite some shops within walking distance, including sears (opposite side of the road) and Target, with a Japanese and Italian restaurants right behind the huge premises.

The hotel serves set breakfast of $6.95 that you could pick four items (e.g. 2 eggs, sausage/bacon, toast, juice, etc) from the list. There were also other food items. The breakfast was okay.

I attended an event in the hotel. Food was pretty good. Conference facilities seemed adequate, too.

Despite some odds, this hotel would be a good choice for business travellers.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is close to the lobby, or you would need to have a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review of our hotel. I agree that our hotel is quite large with a total of 310 rooms available. We try to keep our check-in process and room locations as convenient as possible by having entry doors available throughout the building and by having our parking lot completely surround the building so our guests are able to park closest to the door that is most convenient for them. We do have a great situation for location, with West Acres Shopping Center right across the street as well as a large assortment of other stores, restaurants, bars and movie theaters within blocks of our location. We are glad you enjoyed your convention/meeting and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again, Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    53
    52
    12
    15
See reviews for
61
18
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had another meeting here. Again the staff handling the meeting function performed well. Also the meeting rooms worked fine. Also enjoyed my room. It was quiet and well maintained. They were doing some work in the pool area so there were some annoying fumes. Was worse in other rooms I was told. Again will mention that this is another hotel that posts how green it is but even though my towels were hung up, everything was changed. Also do we need to throw the plastic cups out each day? Just asking. Check-in and check-out service were quick and easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We're sorry that you had some concern about the odor from the remodeling. You must have been staying here when we re-painted the pool as part of our renovation of the pool area. We are now almost completely done with that remodeling and will be opening that newly refurbished Shipwreck Bay Water Playland on Friday, May 10th.

We continue to try to make strides in being more eco-conscious. We have made some huge changes in how we do business over the last several years and have made significant reductions in our Carbon footprint. Our staff are so concerned about cleanliness, that they are sometimes missing some of the simple "green" steps like not taking the towel that is hanging or changing the linen even when the guest hasn't requested it. We will continue to work on these things so that we do our part in protecting the world we live in. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment. We appreciate you and your business. Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Staying on business, large room, clean, with all you need. They have two densities of pillows on the bed which is nice, but they are about 18 inch square, which are small for a king bed, but otherwise comfortable.
Front desk staff on arrival were friendly and efficient on check-in.
Breakfast service was very quick! Surprised me with the omelette showing up well before expected!
Good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Your comments are very kind. We thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at and look forward to your next Fargo visit. We will share your comments with our front desk and restaurant staff. Have a great day. Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

1st time there... Mary in meeting and functions was the best this year
Fargo is a happening place very suprized ... their pool area is going through a renovation should be good for the kids
lounge has gambling including black jack ... did not participate but the patrons seamed happy

Room Tip: rooms were quiet ,,, best bet be close to the water world
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Your comments about Mary and our hotel are very appreciated. We also like Mary and think she does a great job for us. Really, we do have a very good staff at our hotel and they really do care about our guests as well as each other. Thanks again for your gracious comments and we look forward to your next visit at our hotel. Sincerely, Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Day 2 was no better than the 1st! After the nasty pizza on our room floor incident on day 1 we expected things to be much better...unfortunately that wasn't the case! 1st somebody poops in the pool shutting it down for 2 hours. I personally wouldn't swim in that water after that incident but hey, I'm not a kid. After being open for only a couple of hours somebody throws up in the pool causing everyone to evacuate AGAIN!!! I know these things can happen no matter where you stay but coupled with our gross room really has me thinking we won't be back anytime soon! This used to be such a nice place to stay, unfortunately, it has gone downhill.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Mcfettigs,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret the overall dissatisfaction of your stay especially with the room accommodations you received and the pool incident you encountered not being at par with your expectations. I would like to assure you that we take each comment seriously as it has always been our goal to deliver only the best quality services and facilities. Rest assured your concerns will be looked into.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The pool closed for an hour and a half after some kid puked in there. We have no school so I paid $140 for my kids to get out of the house and get exercise swimming... Front desk offered to compensate me by a PPV movie, are you kidding me I want them active not watching TV! Not a happy camper at all.... Was here 2 years ago and not happy but thought I would give them
Another try. WASTE of money!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear mnsherz,

Thank you for your recent stay and reviewing our property. It is good that you found our location to be of convenience. However, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit due to the service received from our staff. I will relay your comments to them so that they can continuously improve on their efforts.

Once again, many thanks for leaving a review of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our family stayed here for our Grandmother's funeral. We drove 7 hours. We looked on-line for a hotel with a pool for our 2 young children to play in. The pool was so small and packed that we were afraid for our kids to play for fear of them getting hurt. All we really wanted was a quiet room to rest in after the funeral. Instead we were put next to the "party" room. After contacting the front desk at 1:30 a.m. to complain, they sent up 3 security guards who told them they needed to close the door because it was too noisy in the hallway. What about MY room? Nothing else was said and the security guards never came back. The people next door continued to be noisy, yelling and slamming doors until 4:30 a.m. We left the next morning and never looked back - didn't even go down to the front desk. Why bother? They didn't take care of the problem the first time. For what we paid, it was a waste of money. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your Grandmother. Please accept our condolences. I also want to apologize for a less than exceptional experience. It's obvious that we fell short in making sure that your stay was a good experience. Our goal has always been to make sure our guests are happy during the course of their stay and that they leave happy as well. I assure you we will take your comments and try to improve in the areas noted. We can only hope that you give us another chance on your next visit to Fargo. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Sincerely, Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fargo

Address: 3803 13th Avenue South, PO Box 9555, Fargo, ND 58103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 hotels in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fargo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Fargo sets the standard for quality and convenience. Situated right off two major Interstates, I-29 and I-94, the Fargo Holiday Inn hotel boasts easy access to the West Acres Shopping Center, many restaurants and a variety of entertainment options. All major venues including the Fargodome, Hector International Airport, Microsoft, Scheels, Case IH, Ingersoll Rand/Bobcat, medical centers, NDSU, MSUM & Concordia are only minutes away. The Holiday Inn of Fargo was completely renovated in 2008. Offering a full service restaurant, casino/lounge with live weekend entertainment, exercise room, Shipwreck Bay Water Playland and 27,000 square feet of commercial space, we are the ideal place for vacation travelers or business travelers. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access is available in all sleeping rooms, the business center, restaurant, casino/lounge, lobby & pool area. For your convenience the Holiday Inn of Fargo offers complimentary shuttle service to the airport, retail shopping stores and area medical facilities as well as a variety of other Fargo/Moorhead locations. Call 1-877-282-2700 to book your Fargo reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fargo Hotel Fargo
Fargo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.