We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day 2 no better than the 1st!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fargo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Fargo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fargo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3803 13th Avenue South, PO Box 9555, Fargo, ND 58103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Day 2 no better than the 1st!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Day 2 was no better than the 1st! After the nasty pizza on our room floor incident on day 1 we expected things to be much better...unfortunately that wasn't the case! 1st somebody poops in the pool shutting it down for 2 hours. I personally wouldn't swim in that water after that incident but hey, I'm not a kid. After being open for only a couple of hours somebody throws up in the pool causing everyone to evacuate AGAIN!!! I know these things can happen no matter where you stay but coupled with our gross room really has me thinking we won't be back anytime soon! This used to be such a nice place to stay, unfortunately, it has gone downhill.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Mcfettigs,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret the overall dissatisfaction of your stay especially with the room accommodations you received and the pool incident you encountered not being at par with your expectations. I would like to assure you that we take each comment seriously as it has always been our goal to deliver only the best quality services and facilities. Rest assured your concerns will be looked into.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    56
    17
    18
See reviews for
71
18
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The pool closed for an hour and a half after some kid puked in there. We have no school so I paid $140 for my kids to get out of the house and get exercise swimming... Front desk offered to compensate me by a PPV movie, are you kidding me I want them active not watching TV! Not a happy camper at all.... Was here 2 years ago and not happy but thought I would give them
Another try. WASTE of money!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear mnsherz,

Thank you for your recent stay and reviewing our property. It is good that you found our location to be of convenience. However, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit due to the service received from our staff. I will relay your comments to them so that they can continuously improve on their efforts.

Once again, many thanks for leaving a review of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our family stayed here for our Grandmother's funeral. We drove 7 hours. We looked on-line for a hotel with a pool for our 2 young children to play in. The pool was so small and packed that we were afraid for our kids to play for fear of them getting hurt. All we really wanted was a quiet room to rest in after the funeral. Instead we were put next to the "party" room. After contacting the front desk at 1:30 a.m. to complain, they sent up 3 security guards who told them they needed to close the door because it was too noisy in the hallway. What about MY room? Nothing else was said and the security guards never came back. The people next door continued to be noisy, yelling and slamming doors until 4:30 a.m. We left the next morning and never looked back - didn't even go down to the front desk. Why bother? They didn't take care of the problem the first time. For what we paid, it was a waste of money. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your Grandmother. Please accept our condolences. I also want to apologize for a less than exceptional experience. It's obvious that we fell short in making sure that your stay was a good experience. Our goal has always been to make sure our guests are happy during the course of their stay and that they leave happy as well. I assure you we will take your comments and try to improve in the areas noted. We can only hope that you give us another chance on your next visit to Fargo. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Sincerely, Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Fargo over Christmas. Check in personell were preoccupied and no friendly greeting. The room was poolside which we thought would be convenient for access, the room and bathroom were very cold, the bathroom was soo cold they brought us a portable heater which had broken rods in it(safety hazard), called front desk and they laughed and said theirs also had broken rods, they brought a new heater. The pool area was so cold, guests and bartenders were all wearing long sleeves and coats. I again called front desk to have the heat turned up so we could swim. They said they would notify maintenance. Next morning, still cold in pool area, called front desk again and they said the heaters dont work out in the pool area?! So they gave us a coupon for a free breakfast @ 11:00 am , which we didn't utilize as we had already ate breakfast. Big huge fail for a $135.00 a night hotel. I am very disappointed in the quality of service and amenities of this hotel and would'nt recommend to anyone. I will be spreading this far and wide.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment you had with the poor service you received and with our facilities. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived late and had a quick dinner, which was ok except for the REALLY LOUD live band playing in the lounge. Our room, while clean, was dated and the beds were hard and we could feel the springs on the sides. The hot tub was closed, as in there is a deck built over it. The option to use the hot tub in the HI Express was there, involving crossing the parking lot. Fine in July, not so much November. We froze all night, as the heater made a loud buzzing dying harmonica sound that we couldn't sleep with. We were too tired to switch rooms.

The next morning we asked to check out a day early and switch to the HI Express. The manager was very nice, and discounted our stay by a third. She ordered maintenance to the room right away, and wished us well at the other hotel. All the staff, from the restaurant to the pool to front desk, were very friendly.

The pool area is huge, with slides appropriate for kids under 10. There is an enormous common area with ping-pong, cards, games, etc. Great for families, not great for adults looking for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. I'd like to apologize that everything didn't go as you had hoped. I certainly understand that on the weekends our pool area does get busy and the noise from playing kids can be quite loud. Fortunately we are a very large hotel, so we do typically have options to get those who may not be traveling with children farther away from that area. Obviously during the week, we don't have as many travelers with children, so the noise level is greatly reduced in the hotel. We have updated just about all of our heating units in the hotel over the last two years, so it disturbs me that you had a heating issue in your room. I'm sorry for that as well as the lack of a hottub. We are in the development stages of replacing that hottub with a brand new and larger hottub that should be up and running by the Spring. We do hope you give our hotel another try soon and thanks again for letting us know about your stay. Sincerely, Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Fargo for one night. It was really good. Very very clean. The staff were nice and accommodating. I needed to take the shuttle the morning I checked out and they waited for me to finish my breakfast!!! The breakfast was delicious by the way (not free though!). I cannot comment on the value as I was invited. I thought the location was convinent but I didn't need to use any public transportation. I would stay here next time I visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are fortunate to have long term staff that understand the concepts of customer service. Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at the Holiday Inn of Fargo. Hope to see you again soon. Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Glen, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn's over the years. Lately they have mostly been Holiday Inn Express. While this hotel is an older Holidome type model, it is well maintained and service friendly. My room was very well decorated and quiet. First rate flat screen tv with ample tv choices. This hotel excels in quality of food, almost approaching gourmet. I had breakfast there every day. The company I worked with ate lunch at the buffet or off the menu. Every meal was outstanding from the sweet potato soup to prime rib, steaks, and reuben sandwiches. The soups were similiar to a rich bisque. The hotel is directly across the street from a shopping mall, and just about every restaurant type that I can find in Chicago. A treat to stay there, and kudos to the staff and security when I had a rowdy group of neighbors at 2:00 am! Thanks to all.

Room Tip: The hotel is spread out and some rooms are considerably farther away from the lobby, restaurants, et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnH22, Manager at Holiday Inn Fargo, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we look forward to your coming back to Fargo. We will continue to try to create great meal experiences in our restaurant. Thanks again, Shawn Hagen ~ Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fargo

Address: 3803 13th Avenue South, PO Box 9555, Fargo, ND 58103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fargo 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Fargo sets the standard for quality and convenience. Situated right off two major Interstates, I-29 and I-94, the Fargo Holiday Inn hotel boasts easy access to the West Acres Shopping Center, many restaurants and a variety of entertainment options. All major venues including the Fargodome, Hector International Airport, Microsoft, Scheels, Case IH, Ingersoll Rand/Bobcat, medical centers, NDSU, MSUM & Concordia are only minutes away. The Holiday Inn of Fargo was completely renovated in 2008. Offering a full service restaurant, casino/lounge with live weekend entertainment, exercise room, Shipwreck Bay Water Playland and 27,000 square feet of commercial space, we are the ideal place for vacation travelers or business travelers. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access is available in all sleeping rooms, the business center, restaurant, casino/lounge, lobby & pool area. For your convenience the Holiday Inn of Fargo offers complimentary shuttle service to the airport, retail shopping stores and area medical facilities as well as a variety of other Fargo/Moorhead locations. Call 1-877-282-2700 to book your Fargo reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fargo Hotel Fargo
Fargo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.