We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 42nd Street SW, I-29 & I-94, Fargo, ND 58103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #16 of 45 hotels in Fargo
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Always a great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Whenever I head out to Fargo I always stay at the Ramada. Suites are spacious, contemporary decor and clean. Ate at the restaurant and had no complaints. Didn't use the pool this time but I have always enjoyed the pool area. Lots of fun for families with children. Location is close to a variety of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deann D, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and this is not your first visit! Thank you for taking to the time and letting us know how great your stay was. We look forward to you visiting again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    298
    129
    39
    22
See reviews for
430
114
18
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

First time visit to this hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. Super great fast, friendly professional, "think on your feet" service at the front desk, the lounge and restaurant. Not expensive during the weekdays. Very clean and quiet. Convenient to West Acres Mall. Great mattress with mini fridge and microwave in the room. Nice pool with one fast tube ride as well as hot tub and hot sauna. It was recommended to me, I recommend it to the reader, and I will be back. Has a super great food restaurant and very reasonable prices as well. Thank you Ramada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deann D, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for kind comments about the hotel. We are delighted to hear that this was your first experience at our hotel and you enjoyed it! It looks like you were able to try some of our wonderful services and amenities from our Coconut Cove Water Park and our amazing restaurant Basies. We will will look forward to your next visit! Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stay here regularly (one or two nights per month) for business and our family stays here 3-4 times per year as well. We like the waterpark for our kids, 9 year old twins, who aren't terribly adventurous. Although the waterpark is showing it's age a bit, it's very clean and spacious with a large pool and hot tub as well as one waterslide. Our kids love the slide but the thrillseekers are not likely going to be satisfied as it's fairly tame. The waterpark also has a nice sitting area adjacent to the pool so parents can keep a watchful eye over the kids. There's also a poolside bar so you can sip on a cocktail or beer too - nice! There's no charge for waterpark admission.

The rooms are modern - we stay in a 2 room suite which is reasonably priced (I get the AAA rate which usually ranges from $79 to $95) if you book enough in advance. The suite has 2 queen beds in the BR and then a sofa bed in the separate family room which is very spacious. There are 2 flat panel tvs, a fridge, microwave, etc. so it's pretty well equipped.

Basie's is the on site restaurant and it's quite good. I always have breakfast at the hotel and it's reasonably priced, good quality and fairly large portions. Dinner is a little pricier, and I've only had dinner here a couple times but I certainly wasn't disappointed.

The Ramada is located across the street from the West Acres mall and a block away from Target so it's very convenient for short shopping excursions.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Book well in advance if possible as the hotel jacks up the rates the busier it is - it sometimes hos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deann D, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our Coconut Cove Waterpark is one of our amenities that alot of guests love to try out. We are also glad to hear that you were able to experience our wonderful food in Basies. Thanks again and we look forward to your upcoming visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It's good to back at this hotel, this property is centrally located so its very easy to reach wherever you wanted to go in fargo, the pool was great for a young family and great for adults too being said that i was a bit disappointing at how the staff treated my complain about the cleanliness of our room, the cleaning staff did not dust our room as you can write your name on the table and the heat register the floor was dirty and was nor vacuumed for the 3 days we stayed in our room.
We let the front desk know of our problem and they made us feel that they are going to do something about it but did not.However don't let a bit of dust bother you this hotel is still a good place to stay.

Room Tip: if you a bit of privacy with a child stay at 619 its a good location close to all what you need in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deann D, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear you enjoyed some of our wonderful amenities and services. We do apologize that your experience with your room being cleaned was not satisfactory we are definitely looking into who cleaned the room prior to your arrival and throughout your stay. We do appreciate you letting us know as it is not acceptable. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed five nights at this property while participating in a Sons of Norway convention. Fargo is known for its large faction of Norwegian-American descendants and boasts of a lodge with over 1300 active members. This group has a building where they serve hearty meals each day, if you are looking for a unique slice of the upper Midwest. A full bar is available. Ask for directions to the Kringen Lodge.

The hotel's lobby and business areas were bright and spacious. Staff made check-in a quick process. They assigned us a suite which had comforts of home such as a microwave, a refrigerator, single-cup coffee maker, a dining or work table, a large couch and side chair. A flat screen TV added to the amenities. Free wireless internet service is available.Lighting was adequate.

The beds were spacious and comfortable. Numerous pillows enhanced sleeping comfort. Our room faced the street, but it was very quiet.

It may be advisable for the hotel to add more elevators for the use by the convention guests. Additional trolleys for luggage would also be helpful.

The only real concern at this establishment was the ill-prepared morning waitstaff and kitchen chefs. Breakfast did not run smoothly. I would plan to arrive very early, if you are interested in completing your breakfast before an important meeting.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor, due to the packed elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deann D, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your response! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your conference and your stay at our hotel. We are excited because we are starting a new renovation of our restaurant soon. When you come back to the area you will have to come stay with us and see our exciting new changes! Thanks again and we look forward to see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

North Dakota was a state that we needed to visit so we could cross it off our bucket list. We decided to stay in Fargo before heading back home. The hotel we had originally planned to stay in was full, so we chose the Ramada Plaza Suites. We were not disappointed. The rooms are very large. Ours had a separate room for the beds, which made it nice for the college people who were studying late into the night. Refrigerator was nice for keeping drinks cold without having to worry about ice. We had a lock out room next door to family members, so we could visit. After the door was closed we couldn't hear any noise from their room, which was nice. A great night's sleep!
The indoor pool with the water slide was great for the kids and kids at heart. It provided several hours of entertainment. Snack bar next to the pool was great for ordering drinks while reading by the pool.


Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Close to the interstate, and across from the mall. WiFi was spotty, which was frustrating for an on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deann D, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We definitely agree our two room suites are the best. Our Coconut Cove Waterpark is definitely a hit for all no matter what your age is. We are glad you were able to try so many of our wonderful services and amenities. We look forward to you coming back from another visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Upon arrival in nearby Moorhead, we were appalled at the place we had placed reservations; conditions were deplorable. I called Ramada. (Months earlier I had placed reservations with them but cancelled when I learned they had pool-view, not pool-side rooms. Wish I would have kept them.) With this new extreme and immediate short notice, they found a room for us. I cancelled the Moorhead reservations and took off for Fargo. The front desk was extremely patient in giving us "on-the-go" directions as we traveled west, which was very helpful. Then the front desk found another room with a bigger bed and we were thrilled! We dined on excellent lobster and steak at their restaurant. Their establishment is beautiful, clean, friendly, and exactly what we needed for our get-away and the family members that were going to visit the next day. The pool area is fantastic with a 150-ft water slide, regular pool, kiddie pool (with waterfall mushroom), and hot tub (also sauna). It's beautifully decorated and has a beverage/food bar nearby and/or room service that serves poolside - which came in very handy. Ramada saved the day for us and we are very grateful! Rates were very reasonable too. Would definitely recommend and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Pool-view turned out to be a better choice as we had a nice view of the decorated pool area, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deann D, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are also excited you were able to try so many of our wonderful services and amenities. We do agree that our restaurant Basies is amazing! Our Coconut Cove Waterpark also can be lots of fun for any family. We look forward to you coming to visit again and please feel free to call us directly at 701-277-9000 to make a future reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1635 42nd Street SW, I-29 & I-94, Fargo, ND 58103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fargo
#6 Business Hotel in Fargo
#8 Family Hotel in Fargo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Presidential Award Winning Hotel, the Ramada Plaza & Suites is the perfect choice for business or leisure. From the moment you arrive, your comfort will be our pleasure. Known for its elegance, class, and genuine hospitality, the Ramada Plaza & Suites features 185 guest rooms including 117 two-room suites. Indulge in Basies restaurant – voted one of the area’s finest, serving many cuisine specialties. Enjoy a cocktail in our lounge or refresh yourself in Coconut Cove and Cabana Waterpark and experience our 150’ waterslide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Suites And Conference Center
Ramada Plaza Hotel Fargo
Ramada Fargo
Fargo Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.