We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 42nd Street SW, I-29 & I-94, Fargo, ND 58103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
Brandon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Excellence in facility, rooms, service and staff. Exceptional stay and close to all amenities.

Room Tip: Excellent corner suite and full service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    342
    142
    42
    24
See reviews for
481
135
18
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are excellent and clean. The rooms have extremely large windows that are fabulous. It's not their fault that there is nothing to look at :).
The restaurant has very good food as well. There is a mall right across the street, and many great eating establishments nearby. The rates are also very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine B, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay! Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We were there on a girls weekend of shopping and the room was very big and staff was friendly and helpful. Check in and Check out was a breeze! Will definitely be returning next year!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stopped at Fargo on the last night of a 4-day car trip from the Southeast to Williston, helping my daughter and 4 small grandchildren make the move. It was the night before Thanksgiving Day. So staying at the Ramada in Fargo was our last night in "civilization" and what a treat it was! Our two rooms were spacious, well-appointed, clean, and very, very comfy----all for an incredibly affordable price. We were given two 2-room mini-suites for the same price a 2-bed room costs in Williston. The indoor pool was awesome for the kids, and we had our first really good night's rest in 4 days. The staff was cheerful and professional. Fargo itself is a class act, and the hotel is right in the middle of the best shopping/eating you could hope to find anywhere. I hope I get up there again some day, and spend more time.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to make reservations, tell them your needs, and they'll bend over backwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

While the hotel was clean and up to date the staff was not helpful at all. Originally we were a party of 4 checked into 2 rooms under 1 name. The person who booked the room had car trouble and did not make it to Fargo, they called ahead to advise they were unable to make it and transferred both rooms to my name. When I arrived for check-in they would not let me check-in because "no, no one called to transfer the rooms to my name", after some prodding and phone calls to the manager, they found the note that authorized the transfer to my name..... But only for 1 room. I called the person that booked and had them call the hotel again. Went for dinner and returned a couple of hours later to check in to the other room and the staff said "no, no one has called". more prodding and calling managers and finally at about 10:30pm we managed to get both rooms. In customer service the answer is never NO! Especially when they were in the wrong! And if you do say NO, and were mistaken....APOLOGIZE for the inconvenience!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine B, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
We apologize for the inconvenience with your stay. For security purposes for our guests we cannot allow someone that is not registered to the room to checkin without permission. We have followed up and retrained with each employee on making sure that they do know how to go about finding comments about a reservation. Our sincere apologies. We do hope you will come back and try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
needwarmth083
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at the Ramada for 2 nights over the Thanksgiving Holiday weekend with our 3 children. Upon our arrival into our room (Room 210), we were greeted with intense heat. The room was literally 85 degrees, if not hotter. We checked the temp controls (located in the bedroom) and the heat was set on high. Why would they leave the heat blasting on high like that??? We immediately turned the AC on high to get some relief. We left for Thanksgiving dinner and when we returned 7 hours later the room was still just as hot. I went to the front desk and asked to be moved but there were no other rooms available so they said to just leave the AC on and it would most likely cool down. Guess what? 2 days later it hadn't cooled down. Even our 2 year old was sweating. It was ridiculous! The rooms have updated furniture, but the room is still old. The small fridge gave off an oil smell and our windows faced the pool so at night there was bright light shining into our sleeping area. The curtains didn't cover the windows well enough to keep out the light. The hallways smelled of cigarette smoke even though we requested a nonsmoking room. Someone was obviously smoking somewhere, but when we called the front desk to let them know, they said it was okay because some rooms were smoking rooms. Yuck! Why would I choose a nonsmoking room only to be next to a smoking room that leaching smoke into the hallways and heat vents? Went to the breakfast buffet for the Black Friday Buffet and basically paid $40 for cold bacon and uncooked eggs. There were no plates, no waffles or french toast left and after 20 minutes we gave up and left and took our hungry kids to Perkins. Was going to go to front desk to ask for a refund, but there was a couple already there complaining and with 3 hungry kids we did not want to wait our turn to complain and get the standard "Please fill out a comment card and our general manager will get back to you" response. The waterpark was okay, but the constant blowing of the whistle by the pool staff was annoying and not necessary. Kids not wearing a bracelet does not warrant a loud whistle......get up and talk to them face to face.

So, all in all, the rooms have heat control issues, they smell like smoke, are brightly lit at night, and the food is terrible at best. Would NOT stay there again even if I was offered a free night stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I. Falls, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Our room (2 queen suite w/ wet bar)at your hotel was beautiful and very clean. The only downside if you could call it that was the sound of the mattress pad which sounded like it was plastic lined. Otherwise it was quiet and served the four of us well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1635 42nd Street SW, I-29 & I-94, Fargo, ND 58103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Fargo
#9 Business Hotel in Fargo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Presidential Award Winning Hotel, the Ramada Plaza & Suites is the perfect choice for business or leisure. From the moment you arrive, your comfort will be our pleasure. Known for its elegance, class, and genuine hospitality, the Ramada Plaza & Suites features 185 guest rooms including 117 two-room suites. Indulge in Basies restaurant – voted one of the area’s finest, serving many cuisine specialties. Enjoy a cocktail in our lounge or refresh yourself in Coconut Cove and Cabana Waterpark and experience our 150’ waterslide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Suites And Conference Center
Ramada Plaza Hotel Fargo
Ramada Fargo
Fargo Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.