We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Fargo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Fargo to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Fargo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   301 Third Avenue North, Fargo, ND 58102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    121
    138
    83
    55
See reviews for
194
79
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

checked in.. the lady was very efficient, got the room. The rooms are very outdated, from the t.v., to the carpet. The beds where clean, very small bathroom. They have a nice lounge, you can order food. The interior of the hotel needs updating. Noisy on the bottom floor with the workers. Overall for the price and its location, its a good place to stay. walking distance to downtown.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Fargo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Since your stay at our hotel, we have installed flat screen televsions in all of our guest rooms. New carpet will be placed in our guest rooms in the coming weeks. We are very excited for these updates and the others planned for 2013.

The Sidestreet Grille and Pub has wonderul food and drinks; a nice place to relax while traveling.

We hope to see you again while visiting Fargo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINNIPEG
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This propery had some mixed issues, the young girls that checked us in on Thurs evening was fine the older and very grumpy lady that maned the desk the rest of the weekend was pretty miserable to everyone. People were constantly at the desk to get their keys reprogrammed. Which she did without ever asking for ID!. Althou my room phone didnt work it rang randomly through out the night!. The room door didnt close properly and the light over the extra mirror didnt work !The halls were so cold you couldnt be out in them without a coat on. The Pool area however was very nice. Well lit, big pool, and clean. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Fargo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your concerns regarding your stay at our property. Our goal is to exceed all of our guests expectations when they stay with us and unfortunately we did not accomplish this goal during your stay. We did share your concerns with the appropriate departments in order to prevent the same issues from reoccuring in the future. We do take our guests security very seriously. All employees are trained to check ids before giving keys out. The only time this may not be done is if we already know the guests and what room they belong to. Thank you again for your helpful feedback. We value your business and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown Co.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I used Priceline.com to reserve this room and that was a first for me and it worked well. By bidding I received a nice discount to the regular rate. However there is a reason for the discount as the motel is tired and worn. The entry areas and some of the halls are rather unkept. The room itself was clean and satisfactory but it too was due for an upgrade. The bed itself was comfortable. The desk staff was frienldy and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Fargo, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor. We are very proud of the rich history of our downtown Fargo hotel and acknowledge that some areas of the property require upgrades. 2013 is an exciting year at our hotel, as we have some changes planned that will provide for a more enjoyable stay for our guests. We thank you for your stay and hope you spend time with us on your next visit to Fargo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Fargo

Address: 301 Third Avenue North, Fargo, ND 58102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Fargo 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fargo Hotel Fargo
Howard Johnson Fargo
Fargo Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Fargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.