We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foreigners are charged few times more than local” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Penang Butterfly Farm

Penang Butterfly Farm
830, Jalan Teluk Bahang, Teluk Bahang, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia
60-4-8851253
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Penang Butterfly Farm has begun its transformation. It will be closed from 8 March 2015 to December 2015. Penang Butterfly Farm was set up in March 1986 as a 'living museum' to educate the public and serves as a research centre for butterfly and insect breeding, apart from just being a tourist attraction. Visitors to Penang Butterfly Farm often find themselves surrounded by a myriad of fluttering butterflies within a seemingly natural setting, and imagining themselves in an enchanted wilderness, bejeweled with colourful gems of creation. The best encounter at Penang Butterfly Farm is undoubtedly the free flying papilions in the enormous enclosure. The live exhibition of selected invertebrates, reptiles and ornamental fishes are also crowd drawers.Beyond the aviary, Penang Butterfly Farm's indoor live discovery sections provide an exciting time for families to get closer with other less explored fauna kingdoms such as tarantulas, frogs, beetles, snakes, lizards and aquatic creatures. Having traversed this complex with educational interactivity, live displays and an insect museum, visitors then walk through time in an art and artefact gallery which displays a huge range of genuine ancient relics and cultural antiquities. For the nostalgic and collectors, a souvenir outlet awakes the visitors, selling nature and butterfly related paraphernalia.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Foreigners are charged few times more than local”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place discriminate foreigners. We are charged RM 20 more than the locals. Whilst it is a good place to visit, I am disappointed that they try to ripped off the foreigners.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Penang Butterfly Farm, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back.

We are currently offering a 33% off our published rate of RM27on Adult rate and 33% off RM15 on Child rate for Malaysian Citizens (upon presentation of MYKAD/MYKID), this is in line with the government's call to promote domestic travel within the country.

Penang Butterfly Farm strives hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With its whole team of nature loving people, Penang Butterfly Farm will continue to carry its mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature.

The Penang Butterfly Farm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    255
    68
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Kids loves this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As city folks like us, we can hardly see any butterfly.
This is a wonderful place for children. They were dancing with the butterflies~

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Penang Butterfly Farm, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi!

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are glad that we had given joy to your trip to Penang. It is indeed a wonderful experience to be dancing with butterflies.

Penang Butterfly Farm strives hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With its whole team of nature loving people, Penang Butterfly Farm will continue to carry its mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature.

Hope to see you again next time!

The Penang Butterfly Farm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best butterfly park yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to the Penang Butterfly Farm on the recommendation of the driver we had hired. I wasn't so interested as I have been to 2 others in Singapore and KL. I am so glad we stopped here. It was by far the best of the 3. Heaps of butterlfies, plenty of variety and well maintained grounds. A great way to relax for an hour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Penang Butterfly Farm, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your visit.

We are glad that you decided to visit us and enjoyed a journey into the world of butterflies and insects.

Penang Butterfly Farm strives hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With its whole team of nature loving people, Penang Butterfly Farm will continue to carry its mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature.

Hope to see you again next time!

The Penang Butterfly Farm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well managed Private Sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very well maintained to an international standard. Owned privately and non by govt, hence not in tourism pages. Worth the money and time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Penang Butterfly Farm, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi!

All of us at Penang Butterfly Farm are very pleased to hear about the wonderful experience you had during your visit.

We also want to send you a big thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback.

Penang Butterfly Farm strives hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With its whole team of nature loving people, Penang Butterfly Farm will continue to carry its mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature.

Hope to see you again next time!

The Penang Butterfly Farm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mini tropical paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The beautiful landscaped indoor Butterfly farm is magical. The variety of plants is nothing compared to the innumerable species of butterflies. The colorful ones are very eye catching. It is easy to capture them on camera as there are slices of pineapples, hibiscus flowers etc laid out for them to feed nectar from. I am not a reptile fan so I did not find the other part interesting and was put off a bit. Thoroughly enjoyed the live butterflies. The souvenir shop was well stocked.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangButterflyFarm, Public Relations Manager at Penang Butterfly Farm, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi!

We are very pleased to hear about the wonderful experience you had during your visit.

We also want to send you a big thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback.

Penang Butterfly Farm strives hard to create the realization of joy by being with Nature for all our visitors. With its whole team of nature loving people, Penang Butterfly Farm will continue to carry its mission, ensuring every step is a step towards attaining harmony between Human and Mother Nature.

Hope to see you again next time!

The Penang Butterfly Farm Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penang Butterfly Farm also viewed

 
Teluk Bahang, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Penang Butterfly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penang Butterfly Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.