We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly upgraded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penang Butterfly Farm

Penang Butterfly Farm
830, Jalan Teluk Bahang, Teluk Bahang, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia
60-4-8851253
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$67*
and up
Penang Butterfly Farm Half-Day Tour
Type: Gardens, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Penang Butterfly Farm was set up in March 1986 as a ‘living museum’ to educate the public and serves as a research centre for butterfly and insect breeding, apart from just being a tourist attraction. Visitors to Penang Butterfly Farm often find themselves surrounded by a myriad of fluttering butterflies within a seemingly natural setting, and imagining themselves in an enchanted wilderness, bejeweled with colourful gems of creation. The best encounter at Penang Butterfly Farm is undoubtedly the free flying papilions in the enormous enclosure. The live exhibition of selected invertebrates, reptiles and ornamental fishes are also crowd drawers.Beyond the aviary, Penang Butterfly Farm’s indoor live discovery sections provide an exciting time for families to get closer with other less explored fauna kingdoms such as tarantulas, frogs, beetles, snakes, lizards and aquatic creatures. Having traversed this complex with educational interactivity, live displays and an insect museum, visitors then walk through time in an art and artefact gallery which displays a huge range of genuine ancient relics and cultural antiquities. For the nostalgic and collectors, a souvenir outlet awakes the visitors, selling nature and butterfly related paraphernalia.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Newly upgraded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Penang Butterfly Farm has just undergone an upgrade and now sports all sorts of new interactive and multimedia displays. Shame though that the very dull, grey dead/mounted insect and butterfly display area still look as stale and outdated as ever. The artifact gallery also looks like a train smash which is a pity as there are some great items on display. Whoever decided that museum like spaces should be brown/grey/creepy/boring? I mean, it is 2011 right?

The farm was established as one of the first Tropical Butterfly Farms in the world and seems to be successful both as commercial and conservation enterprise. It is worth a visit notwithstanding the dull "dead exhibits".

Whilst you are in the are you want to either head back to the Spice Gardens for a fabulous meal, further South towards Balik Pulau or pop over to the smallest National Park in the world for a picnic (pack your own fare). Entrance to the National Park is free and about 100metres past the entrance, you will find the beach lined with numerous wooden decks sporting picnic tables and benches.

Back to the Butterfly Farm - I am personally not keen om these type of places as they seem to push their Disney-like icons and gift shop stocked with more of these right in your face, not leaving that much natural about the experience. That said, kids and adults alike still love the farm, staff are really very friendly and if you look beyond the iconic gifts, there are a few nice items to be bought from the gift shop.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    217
    51
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Amazing to see so many species”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

It was refreshing to go to the Butterfly farm, the guide was very good showing us all the different types of butterflies as well as the snake which we were able to hold.
It was very interesting to see not only butterflies but also insects that are able to camouflage themselves in the leaves. It was nice walking around and having butterflies land on you, such lovey creatures.
We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and were delighted to see how the children loved it.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Really Interesting and a Lot to See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This attraction is old and crusty in some parts, and I wouldn't go too far out of my way to see it, but we really enjoyed it. As others have said there is a lot more to see than just butterflys. Make sure you head right to the back to see the giant millipeds and other things. There were plenty of staff who showed us different things and we got to release butterflys. We took our two kids (2 &5) and they really enjoyed it as well.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

The Butterfly Farm is well worth a visit, especially if you have children. But adults will enjoy it as well. Butterflies fly freely around and may even land on you. Other animals are also on display. I have been several times and on this last visit we had a tour. The guide was very informative and allowed us to touch some of the displays. By Malaysian standards, this was on the pricey side at RM27 per adult for foreigners, but each time I've come I have enjoyed it.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“its a butterfly farm.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Its quite good, but its a long way from George Town only go it you have lots of time.

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penang Butterfly Farm also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Penang Butterfly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penang Butterfly Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.