We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Declining -- currently average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly Inn Bismarck

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kelly Inn Bismarck to your Saves list
Kelly Inn Bismarck
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 12th Street North, Bismarck, ND 58501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Bismarck
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Declining -- currently average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

There was a time when Kelly Inn Bismarck was a place that everyone wanted to stay, and when you told someone that that was your hotel, their comment was always, "Nice."

Not so much anymore. From the minute you walk into the hotel to check in, the place feels old, outdated, and unwelcoming. The physical facilities are adequate but very, very rough around the edges. There are scuffs and scratches and dents and dings everywhere. It's the kind of place you feel like -- and know -- that hasn't been cleaned very well. You just know that the corners are full of dust balls, lint, etc. The cleanliness of my room was ok, but it's shabby and, again, rough around the edges. The bed, however, was comfortable. The bathroom is disastrous with a toilet that is crooked, a toilet lid that doesn't fit, and a less than pristine shower. Human hair is prevalent in the bathroom, and unless I have long hair (I don't), it's not mine.

The door to my room doesn't work well. My electronic key unlocks the door, but the door won't open. When I find a maid to help me, she informs me that I must push down on the door handle as well, as the the door sticks. This was especially annoying when I returned to my room with my hands full and had to drop all the stuff on the floor to be able to open the door. I do not understand why, if this is a known problem with this door, this has not been fixed.

Everyone is friendly -- a bonus. But more attention should be paid to the uniforms. The employees are wearing ill-fitting, messy smocks and shirts. From the front desk manager to the guy vacuuming the lobby, they all look like they slept in their clothes.

All of this might be acceptable, but for the price. I paid what seemed like a lot of money. I paid a price that indicated to me that I was going to find the Kelly Inn Bismarck of yesteryear. Alas, no.

I think you could find an equal or better room for less money at another hotel where the light is left on or at a very close hotel that is "super."

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Corporate Trainer at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us here in Bismarck. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Thank for the information you gave in regards to the condition in which you found your room and bathroom. I am very sorry for this, I will make sure to be speaking with our Executive Housekeeper about these items. I am glad that the staff was friendly. I will have a discussion with them about the condition of their uniforms. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    19
    7
    11
See reviews for
17
15
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
eugene
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Super friendly staff. Rooms could use some updating but the bed was very comfortable. Did not eat in the restaurant because it was closed for 4th of July. Very quiet room and air conditioner worked great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Corporate Trainer at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for the review about our hotel. I am glad to read that the room was quiet and the air conditioner worked great. Thank you for the kind words about our staff I will make sure to pass them along. We do appreciate all comments and suggestions that we get from our guests so we can improve our hotel. We all look forward to the next time you stop in Bismarck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Rooms are outdated and in need of repair/updating. Handicap room was roomy enough, however all the fixtures (sink and shower) leaked. Other than the outlets in the bathroom, there are only two electrical outlets in the entire room, and the light fixtures are plugged into half of the available outlets. While the extra deep mattresses may be desired by some, they make transfers into bed from a wheelchair much more difficult (height differences). The hallways in this hotel are the biggest problem. They added ramps in the interior hallways to eliminate steps to be somewhat ADA compliant. However, those ramps are so short and steep that it was nearly impossible to go from a wheelchair accessible room to the front desk! To top it off, the heater/air conditioner unit was partially broken (falling off the wall, and the adjustment knob was missing). Front desk staff was less than sympathetic when informed of the problems and concerns.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel if you are in a wheelchair
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Corporate Trainer at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us here at the Kelly Inn Bismarck. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Thank you for letting us know about the leaking shower and sink fixtures, I will verify with our maintenance department that these items have been addressed. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our mattress and found it difficult to get into. We do get a lot of compliments on our beds but I can appreciate why you did not enjoy it. I am very sorry that our desk staff was not sympathetic when you let us know about the condition of the air conditioner and others problems you had during your stay. I will be spending some time with them on how to handle guest concerns. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I booked a room and not pleased. Moisture due to humidity and the fan would not shut off. Coll came moved my room after inspection and all.was great. The bar staff was awesome, I'm sorry not to tell you who it was, but very good. Coll couldn't be a better employee! THE FOOD GOOD! GREAT STOP FOR STAY AND FOOD FOR YELLOWSTONE!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Corporate Trainer at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at one of our Kelly Inns. I am sorry that you were not pleased with the first room you had been assigned but I am glad that Cole was able to rectify the situation. Thank you for the kind words about him, I will make sure to pass them along. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the restaurant and bar. We look forward to the next time you stay with one of our Kelly Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here over the weekend of March 15th...what a mistake. I booked our room through their website for three persons. We are a family of three - my wife and I, along with our 12 year old son. The options presented at booking were a one king room or a one queen room. Since I was being honest and upfront as to how many persons I was putting into the room, I ASSUMED that the rooms offered would accommodate that number. It seemed fair to me to assume that if they offer the room for three, their must also be a sofa or something in the room...big mistake. Upon check in we were given our keys and proceeded to our assigned room. Upon entry, I ASSUMED that we had been assigned an incorrect room as the cracker box didn't have space for a third person. Honestly, this room was the smallest motel room I have ever seen. I went back to the desk where the young man informed me that the room assigned was correct. I was then informed that the room is NOT for three persons. My next thought was that maybe I did make a mistake and book for two persons. I revisited their website and was still offered this room for three. I was then told that it was an error with their website then and that they'd make sure it was fixed. Ok, so what would the solution be? A roll-away?...a different room?...an additional room? No - a blanket and pillow for the floor. Oh, they did offer a second room - AT A RATE HIGHER THAN I PAID FOR THE FIRST ROOM! (This was supposedly the managers solution by phone.) What a joke! I can forgive an issue here and there...they happen - but make some effort to remedy to the best of your ability...and if it is a problem that can be easily remedied for the future, by all means get it taken care of. Although I was not a happy camper I decided I would give them a chance to remedy the booking issue and not add to the poor reviews. But as of today, over a month later, their website is offering the same king or queen rooms for FOUR ADULTS! SHAME ON YOU!

Room Tip: Stay at a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Corporate Trainer at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us here at the Kelly Inn Bismarck. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I am sorry for the confusion in what would exactly be in your room and that it did not accommodate three people and that we could not offer a better solution. I will review these items with our staff. I will also be looking into the website to verify and rectify how many guests are allowed in the rooms. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was placed here by the business I was working for. I asked for a quiet room and got one facing the busy street! First, ask for a room far from the very busy street. You will hear every bad car muffler as you are trying to sleep. The room is nice enough. Wifi works well. Lighting is dim and awkward. I hope I can get back to sleep! Also, I got here in the mid-afternoon hoping to swim and soak, but the pool and hot tub are out of order.

Room Tip: Away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Regional Director at Kelly Inn Bismarck, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review and feedback on our property. We always take our guest's concerns seriously and try to learn from them. We have recently taken down the wall vinyl in all of our first floor rooms and painted, which should help with some of the lighting issues. We have also done some renovating and repairs to our pool area and I am sorry the pool and hot tub were closed during your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and enjoy some of the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

walls are paper thin, doors do not open and stick, drunk party in hall for 1/2 hour due to door, progressed into next room and drove us out by 1:30
No help from front desk or security, lame excuse that they were not aware of the noise. Odd that they did admit to helping the group with the stuck door.

Management contacted next day promised compensation on the room, yet billed us full price.
Never stay here the service and noise are terrible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelly Inn Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn Bismarck

Address: 1800 12th Street North, Bismarck, ND 58501
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn Bismarck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kelly Inn Bismarck North Dakota, your ideal choice for Bismarck North Dakota hotels. The Kelly Inn Bismarck provides lodging in Bismarck adjacent to the North Dakota State Capitol and the North Dakota Heritage Center, which includes the ND Historical Society. The Kelly Inn Bismarck is the closest hotel to all of the following: VFW Sports Center, home of Bismarck's Bobcat Hockey team and many other hockey games. Bismarck State College, Job Service of North Dakota, Lewis and Clark Riverboat, Steamboat Park, and Tom O'Leary Golf course. We are also just minutes from the Kirkwood Mall Shopping center, Gateway Mall, Bismarck Civic Center, home of the CBA Dakota Wizards, Raging Rivers Waterpark and Speed world Golf and Games, Hawktree Golf course, St. Alexius Medical Center, and Medcenter One. When visiting Bismarck North Dakota, make the Kelly Inn Bismarck your first choice for Bismarck North Dakota hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Kelly Inn Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn Bismark Hotel Bismarck
Kelly Hotel Bismarck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly Inn Bismarck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.