We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth what you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 S. Third Street, Bismarck, ND 58504-5728 (Formerly Radisson Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Lakota, North Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not worth what you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Upon check in the staff was polite. Pool area is AWESOME great for families. Rooms not worth the price, moderately clean and nice beds but mold in shower and shower knobs moves while you turn it on. We ran out of hot water each morning, so cold showers for all! The maid came in gave us new towels and that was it, nothing else done. Our thermostat didn't work we called front desk and no one ever showed up. We called down again and were told no one was there to fix it they would try to turn the switch on and off, didn't work. They did say someone would fix it in the morning, so I asked for a couple fans. I was then told they have none due to safely with fingers and all. OK. They did apologize for it not getting fixed but not friendly about this at ALL! We ended up sleeping in 76 degree room!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the pool area. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations with regards to housekeeping and maintenance. I am very sorry that we didn’t get a chance to speak while you were staying as I would have been happy to move you to a new room that was in a better condition. It looks like the room that you were originally checked in to needs some TLC. Thank you again for sharing your comments with me so that we know what areas need improvement.
Best Regards,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    111
    91
    76
    57
See reviews for
182
61
12
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We moved our Christmas Party to the Ramkota after a terrible prior year experience. The Sales & Catering Staff was so helpful and gave us confidence that we would have an enjoyable Christmas party for our small business. Things went off without a hitch. We even had last minute requests which they worked hard to complete. The food buffet was very good and cash bar well attended. Our employees were happy with their rooms. We strongly recommend using them for your meeting and convention needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you! I am so happy that your company enjoyed your Christmas Party at Ramkota! I appreciate your willingness to share this feedback with others and hope we have an
opportunity to work with you again in the future!

Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I had a big group come in the Dining Room when we stayed , i was so embarrassed that our waitress (Tiffany i believe her name was) smelled like booze, was shaky, and was clearly upset when we came in. We came in got seated and i notice the dining room filled up with 4 more tables and she was very distressed about having "so many" tables .....here i was bragging to these guys that the Ramkota had such a great dining experience and they wouldn't be discouraged to come back. Well that was a" foot in the mouth" as we had a "booze breath" waitress. I asked for a Manager to speak to but she just walked away as she was in a "overwhelmed" state of being. very concerning in a customers eyes. Food was great i must say!!! After our experience in the restaurant we went into the lounge expecting the same service. NOT AT ALL ......our service was great up at the bar THANK YOU Cindy for having GREAT service for us all. Tyler was the most polite young man i have seen in a long time and Mary with her " Knitting Sales" made us laugh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience in our restaurant. I want to assure you that we have investigated this incident and addressed these concerns with our staff as this is not acceptable service. I apologize that you were not able to speak to a manager during your meal in our restaurant so that we could have resolved any issues at that time. I am happy to hear that you received excellent service from Cindy, Tyler and Maryann in our Lounge. Thank you again for your review. If you would like to discuss your experience any further please feel free to contact me directly at 701-355-2023.
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not satisfied with our overall experience with this hotel. We payed about $135 for a night and were there to have a mini-vacay & use the water park. Our room was clean-enough but there was dust bunnies hanging from the ceiling, the door knob was broken & we had fresh cigarette smoke lofting through our non-smoking room at one point. The pool could use updates, the saunas were out of order & the water temperature was too cold for our kids (ages 5, 3,1) to swim in for longer than 20 min's at a time. Seemed like the water park would be more suitable for older kids(ages10+). No free breakfast (we did know this before hand but for price it would have been nice to have, especially since it is a "family" hotel).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback that you have provided as it helps us to know what areas of our operation need improvement. It sounds like the room that you stayed in needs some extra attention in terms of deep cleaning and preventative maintenance, and I will make sure this happens. Thank you again for your review.
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Ramkota is an older hotel. The rooms are clean and had nice bedding. There are signs of age, no doubt, such as glass sliding doors on the closet not installed in their tracks and just propped up to halfway cover the opening and the shower pipe is loose in the wall of my room, but overall I give it a passing grade. After all, you are staying in Bismarck ND, not South Beach.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. You are correct; the Ramkota has been in business in Bismarck for almost 40 years! Although we are not the newest hotel in town, we update our property each year so that we can keep offering our customers great accommodations. I am pleased that you found your room clean and the bed comfortable, and I apologize that there were a few maintenance issues that were not addressed prior to your check in. We will do our best to improve our overall service to keep you coming back! Thanks again for your review!
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Pleased with staff. Maryann was our server in the bar and did a great job. Very friendly and didn't keep us waiting. Food and drinks were also very good. Always stay here when in town and will continue too.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for your compliments to Maryann. She does an excellent job for us and we always enjoy hearing that customers notice her commitment to excellent customer service. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stay at the Ramkota quite often and it was excellent as always. Great service, clean rooms, great location. Maryann, our waitress in the bar was excellent! Very friendly and always kept our drinks full.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramkotagm, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your continued business and your willingness to share your experience with others. We truly appreciate you and hope to see you again soon!

Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Address: 800 S. Third Street, Bismarck, ND 58504-5728 (Formerly Radisson Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bismarck
Bismarck Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bismarck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.